We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oceanana Family Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Oceanana Family Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oceanana Family Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Best family value hotel! Vacationed here as a child. This is the 3rd year we have brought our daughter. My husband loves to fish and we love pool and the beach so it's a double win for us. The pier is right beside the hotel. Rooms are clean the staff is awesome. When calling to book a room ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great time at our motel this year! We'll make sure Miss Angela and Miss Abby know how much you appreciate their services. You and your family are always welcome here. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This was perfect for our quick two night stay. We stayed in room #235 (July 19 and 20) and it was just fine for our time there. Yes, this is an older motel. If you our looking for the Ritz this is probably not for you. Our beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean. Very nice breakfast area with several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary L A
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us this summer. Our staff works hard to ensure our guests have a fun, relaxing vacation, so we always appreciate when our guests take the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next stay!

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed at Oceanana from June 19-23.We stayed in a down east room and it was very clean and had plenty of space.The first fridge in the room didn't seem to be cooling well and I called the office and they brought a new one that cooled well for a dorm size refrigerator.The play area and pool are great for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra F
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a positive review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the incident. Guest safety is a huge priority for all of us at the Oceanana. We look forward to your future stay. Happy summer!

Xenia, Ohio
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

I have been going to the Oceana for the past 12 years. I had always had a great experience even though the motel is older. The staff was great! My most recent visit was anything but great. I first walked in without shoes and my feet turned black because the carpet was dirty. It was also sticky. I then was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristin_woolard
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're very sorry about the state of the room. After you vacated the room, we took all of the necessary steps and called in a 3rd party professional to treat and inspect the room. It has since been cleared, and we're keeping our staff trained on pest detection. You should not have been charged to change your room, please give...

Martinsville,Va
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We reserved an East End room and they told me it would face the ocean. I'm pretty sure they switched our room at check-in. Is room 266 an East end room? The microwave is full of rust, the couch is falling apart. The refrigerator was off, the room smelled of such strong air freshener, it gagged us. There are 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulad59
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're very sorry you are unsatisfied with your stay, I truly wish you had come to the office to let us know so we could help you sooner. According to your records, this room was the only Down East room available when you reserved and you have not been moved. The ocean view Down East room was not available at...

Elm City, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Motel is an older motel. They are in process of renovating rooms at this time but I had older room. Nice rooms for age of motel. They have a nice playground for children and basketball net for older ones. Staff will set up lounge chairs and umbrellas as long as available for pool and beach area. They have an area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wwall1197
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return in the off season to try the free pier fishing and cooler beach weather.

Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We stayed with oceanna 20 years ago alot and rooms were old but we new that but they were clean. they are advertising newly renovated rooms now so we went down to stay this past week and this hotel needs a lot of work. they advertised newly renovated rooms. we stayed in a newly renovated premier suite which was extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bem61755
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're sorry your experience was less than satisfactory. We are aware of the state of the carpets and are doing our best to keep them in shape between guests until we can replace them. New carpets of better quality have already been ordered. As for the mattresses, we...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Family atmosphere with wonderful service. Lots of things to do for everyone. Friendly people. The free breakfast, grills, watermelon and ice cream are just some of the extras. No need to bring chairs or umbrellas as they are provided also.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review! We hope you'll return in the off season for the free pier fishing.

Smithfield, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We keep coming back over and over again. Excellent staff who go out of their way to meet your needs. Free continental breakfast. Free umbrella and chair service where they will take to the beach and set up for you. There are also chairs set up that are close to the pool with an ocean view. The playground is close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy C
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're just delighted that you enjoyed your vacation with us again this year. Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 June 2016

If you like a Mom and Pop motel close to the boardwalk and like having no view of the ocean from your room, then stay here. There is a trailer park next to this place and if you stay on the front side of the motel you will feel like you're at a fair. The owner of this motel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GGSTOYS
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Despite the lack of an ocean view, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Ours is an older motel, built back in '59 when there was nothing much else on either side of us besides sand dunes and shoreline. Times have changed, but the fact that we've changed very little...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
1.3 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
255 reviews
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
179 reviews
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
572 reviews
10.8 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Address: 700 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5424
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $79 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oceanana Family Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Oceanana Family Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premier suite”
Janestevens, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Back side of motel is quieter.”
laughterwithbob, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Some have ocean view. It is a two story building with stairs only.”
tlstanley99, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“First floor for easy access to the parking lot, the family area and the beach”
Albrin1914, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room that offers a queen size bed or bigger.”
keithw180, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5