We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Younce Rd, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Avon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
32Reviews3Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mary wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
My son and I spent the week at Avon Cottages and we had a wonderful time! The location is awesome for many reasons. Located in downtown Avon you have many walkable choices for food, fun, and shopping! But the best part is the beach! It was a short walk from the cottage and the dune was easily navigable! The beach had only a spattering of people on it and you had the feeling that you had your own private beach! I very much would recommend Avon Cottages for your OBX vacation! I know we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
restless0ne wrote a review Jul 2017
Nags Head, North Carolina8 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed there last week and had a blast. Best view on Hatteras island right out of our window. Shopping located across the street and 2 great restaurants as well. Highly recommended this for families and couples. We made a reservation for September when the prices drop. Don't miss the island formed off cape point it has tons of shells!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay on the ocean front
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HungryCurmudgeon wrote a review Jun 2017
Poquoson, Virginia115 contributions42 helpful votes
Nice places so close to the beach and nearby eateries. Hey when I discovered a bed bug they put up a front told me it was not a bes bug....I have my doctoral degree in entomology so a bit miffed about the denial. Took my specimen and said if an exterminator determines bed bug then they will see. Do not go if you get bed bugs hard as hell to get rid of them
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Earl Y, Owner at Avon Cottages
Responded 16 Apr 2018
We have the entire property routinely inspected every few months by the local Island Pest Control. We are happy to say that we do not have any bed bugs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KTNashTN wrote a review Jun 2017
Atlanta, Georgia38 contributions16 helpful votes
Visited with my family in June. They selected the place and mostly due to price. I'll say that it is an extreme value price for beach front. Another positive is the AC worked great. The pluses stop there. The house is run down, outdated and poorly equipped. The faucets are all so cheap it's takes a team to figure out water temperature! We had to wash all the dishes and utensils before using. I was afraid something was going to fall out of the bathroom ceiling. This place is not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Earl Y, Owner at Avon Cottages
Responded 16 Apr 2018
Cottage 92 has been since renovated. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay but as things have been totally redone, hope that you will give us another try.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott-fan wrote a review May 2017
Pitman, New Jersey73 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
I tried to ignore other posts and be positive. Even called before arrival and told Bea about my fears staying here after reading others reviews. Was "upgraded" to 96N. Myriad of stuff I couldn't even complain about as it could not be fixed anytime soon. Broken shades. Exposed outlets. No light on deck, exposed wiring there. Dumb stuff like no toilet paper holder. Rusty entry door. Gross stuff on outer fridge. See my pics to follow. On the upside, you can walk to 4 restaurants. And beach is just over a dune or two. We however went to Canadian Hole which was awesome. On the Sound
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Earl Y, Owner at Avon Cottages
Responded 16 Apr 2018
Cottage 92 has since been renovated. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but hope that you will give us another try.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet B wrote a review May 2017
Baton Rouge, Louisiana11 contributions6 helpful votes
This place is very outdated, unclean, stale, roach infested, unkempt, rustic, and unprepared for guests. The door to our unit was blocked by the kitchen fridge in the way. There was very poor lighting, tge range good wasn't even placed over the stovetop! There wasn't a telephone, alarm clock, or blow dryer. The television offered only one channel, and roaches were crawling around. GROSS!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Earl Y, Owner at Avon Cottages
Responded 16 Apr 2018
Janet, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have recently renovated our property. With respect to the bugs, we are routinely inspected by the Island Pest Control. We pay a lot of money for this service in hopes that our guests will not have issues such as you did. I hope that you are willing to give us another try. Kind regards, Avon Cottages
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah M wrote a review Apr 2017
3 contributions5 helpful votes
this place was great. I don't know why these other morons gave this place a bad rating. If anything is wrong the owner Earl will take care or it ASAP. He was great. This is not the waldorf but is was clean and nice. A place like these would be twice the price up north. The guy from Mass. should stay up there. why would you drive 12 hours, When you have beaches up there? Get a life.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: every cottage is nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caribislandseeker wrote a review Aug 2016
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts69 contributions17 helpful votes
We were supposed to stay for the weekend after renting a house for a week. We wanted to extend our vacation but when we looked at the condition of the room we decided not to stay. We began our 12 hour ride home instead. Furniture looked like it was falling a part. The shower walls looked like you could put your finger through the entire wall. Don't even consider this place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cori wrote a review Jul 2016
La Fayette39 contributions25 helpful votes
This place had such great reviews and so for the price and location I had to book. We booked house #88. When I walked in it was rustic, worn, looked clean, needed updates for sure, but I had no issues with any of that. However after a few hours of getting settled: Ceiling fan in loft didn't work. The beds were so hard that all 9 of us had sore backs in the morning (I had to fold comforters and put them under me after that 1st night). The house advertises 3 bathrooms, yet you can't run more than one shower at a time and obviously could not run the washing machine or dishwasher at that time either. The top floor only got a trickle of water and flashed from hot to cold without warning. 3 kitchen chairs were broken, so you couldn't sit in them yet they hadn't been replaced? Microwave above stove didn't work and instead of replacing it, another microwave was placed on the counter. When I read "fully stocked" kitchen I thought being able to house 9 people it would have more than 10 plates, 15 forks, a couple of knives, a couple of bowls and glasses that had cracks in the bottom (we threw them out). Bunk bed had to be repaired as it wasn't sturdy for another person to get into it. Shower outside didn't have a latch to keep it closed when you were in it? really? It had a rusty nail shutting from the outside. Oven didn't work properly, so cooking was really frustrating. The A/C unit quit on a 90 degree day (heat wave that week). I understand things happen, not their fault and it was fixed the next day, but that night when we tried to open windows to put fans in them, there were no screens. Some windows wouldn't open and others were latched together so the upper panes wouldn't fall (found that out the hard way). On top of all of this, on the 2nd day the biggest cockroach I ever saw ran across the kitchen floor! My sister had to buy Raid and office sent someone over to spray as well...that didn't do much because when my daughter went to take a shower, she closed the curtain and one fell out of it and into the tub. ugh! Ok, the upside is that the beach was right over the dune, not a lot of people, shops were close by along w/ restaurants and a grocery store 2 miles away. The hot tub was a hit with the family and sidewalks for some great walks and taking a few runs as well. Beach vacations are all about being outside, so there wasn't a bunch of time spent in the house, but when you are in it you expect a comfy bed, water to take a shower and no bugs. The owners should charge a bit more and update the major issues (the water issue was unacceptable!). Honestly, I'm a country girl so the bugs became a joke, but they really need to take a look at each unit and make some changes.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
WC W wrote a review Mar 2016
Ottawa, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
Avon outer banks has beautiful beaches...both sides. We stayed in a cottage on the surf side and enjoyed the peace and the view. It was September. We saw lighthouses, big waves and surfers, wildlife and fishermen. We went into the ocean on both sides and enjoys our visit to OBX.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$202 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksHatteras IslandAvon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Avon Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Avon Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Avon Fishing Pier (0.7 km), Kinnakeet Clay Studio & Showroom (0.7 km), and Studio 12 (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avon Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and newspaper.
Which room amenities are available at Avon Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Avon Cottages?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avon Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burger Burger Avon, LLC, Pangea Tavern, and The Mad Crabber.
Are there any historical sites close to Avon Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cape Hatteras Lighthouse (11.6 km).