We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Aiken

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aiken
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2014

I have been fortunate to stay twice at the Hotel Aiken. I love the historic charm of the hotel and the convenient proximity to delightful shops, wonderful entertainment and exceptional dining in the downtown, historic district of Aiken. Perhaps most important to my overall satisfaction is the devotion of the hotel staff to ensuring your comfort and enjoyment of your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer S
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Aiken and all that Aiken SC has to offer. Our staff is very pleased to have been able to serve you and that you noticed and appreciated the qualities our Hotel and Tavern has to offer. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Reviewed 24 November 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights just before thanks giving . The location is perfect for this beautiful town . The hotel itself is very charming and I cannot speak highly enough about the service and amenities . There is a nice popular bar on property with a great character called moose being the main guy . He was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark S
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Mark, and behalf of all our staff we would like to thank you for your review. We each try very hard to bring Southern Hospitality alive at our hotel. I have shared your review with the hotel and bar staff and we feel very motivated that you see our efforts and hard work in progress. We hope to see you...

Fort Salonga, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2014

What a shame. This once beautiful hotel has been left to slide into such a poor state. To be fair, the rates are cheap and the rooms are clean and the bar is good.As a historical note- they have the first elevator that was installed in South Carolina. They should put a marker on it. That's it. I did have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Polocowboy
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We appreciate the time and concern you took giving your direct review of our hotel. I am sorry that you did not have the same experience you had in the 90's. Many changes are taking place at Hotel Aiken to improve the property. We take all of our guests concerns and needs into consideration when planning for change. I would...

Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

Hotel Aiken is one amazing and historical hotel. But the heart is in the story of the bar and the stories within the bar walls from the long time regulars to the new college students coming every year. No matter what u will find a story that will keep you laughing and keep you wanting more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica E
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Monica. The city of Aiken has a diverse history with tons of memories to share, and in an ever changing world new and fresh memories and stories everyday. The bartenders and staff of Hotel Aiken love to here positive feedback. You review puts a smile on their faces to share with the next...

Reviewed 15 September 2014

Very comfortable and beautiful place for eminiscing the 50's-60's, wonderful staff especially friendly & efficient. Best southern fried chicken ever with amazing live music by Pretty Petty band. We rocked all night! Thanks again for a memorable stay! Nancy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancy d
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay. We want to give every guest of Hotel Aiken a successful stay. Thank you so much for taking time to review us. Best Regards

Reviewed 9 September 2014

We always stay at Hotel Aiken when visiting beautiful Downtown Aiken. Staff are great, including Brittany and Chrissy at the front desk and Nikki in the lounge . You won't regret spending your weekend at this charming hotel! Nancy and Joe

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy154
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Nancy and Joe we would like to thank you for always staying at Hotel Aiken. We know that their are other options you could have chosen and are honored you continue to stay with us. Honest reviews keep us motivated and working hard and we always appreciate our guests taking time to write a review. Hope to see you soon!...

Gilbert
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My first impression of the Hotel was it was older and somewhat out dated. But rationally, having been built in 1898 I think it is very impressive. The staff has an outstanding charm of genuine southern hospitality. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable but could use some slight modern changes. For the price I could never complain about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunner2Go
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The rooms are small and shabby. Nothing is very clean and the furnishings are all in need of serious cleaning. The worst part was the inept reservation system. We set up a block of rooms for a special family weekend. The reservations were in terrible disarray when we arrived and every day there were more problems, including double and triple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine B
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Catherine we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have had at Hotel Aiken. We always strive to keep every guest happy. It is with regret we were unable to rectify your concerns and meet your expectations. I had hope that we would have regained your trust after comping your room for the weekend and I am very sorry you...

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everyone was so nice and helpful, and my room was easy walking distance to the library, museum, and Hitchcock Woods, as well as to the brewery and all the recommended local restaurants. Plus, the food at the Pool Hall across the street was awesome! Nightlife in house and at the Tiki Bar was altogether entertaining, and the bartender was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabella R
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Catherine we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have had at Hotel Aiken. We always strive to keep every guest happy. It is with regret we were unable to rectify your concerns and meet your expectations. I had hope that we would have regained your trust after comping your room for the weekend and I am very sorry you...

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The room was filthy, the chairs were so stained we would not sit on them. The toilet had pee on it, there was some kind of sticky stuff on the carpet, some of the wall paper was missing, the bathroom floor had black crud on it, the lobby smelled of mildew. The bathroom was partially being re painted. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pattiesdolls

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
8.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
110 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
4.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 20 in Aiken
30 reviews
6.1 km away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: $81 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aiken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Annex rooms face a noisy bar.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulie59, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 201 is away from the bar noise and has a great view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles MartyY221, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for what you want - they will do everything they can to accommodate!”
 of 5 bubbles bamafoody, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
  • Peeling wallpaper near the ceiling
  • Peeling wallpaper and mold
 of 5 bubbles 483alvind, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no way ..were told they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles V8707PIanneh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5