We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Aiken

Booking.comUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$70*
US$65*
US$68*
US$70*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aiken
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Gilbert
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My first impression of the Hotel was it was older and somewhat out dated. But rationally, having been built in 1898 I think it is very impressive. The staff has an outstanding charm of genuine southern hospitality. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable but could use some slight modern changes. For the price I could never complain about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunner2Go
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The rooms are small and shabby. Nothing is very clean and the furnishings are all in need of serious cleaning. The worst part was the inept reservation system. We set up a block of rooms for a special family weekend. The reservations were in terrible disarray when we arrived and every day there were more problems, including double and triple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine B
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Catherine we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have had at Hotel Aiken. We always strive to keep every guest happy. It is with regret we were unable to rectify your concerns and meet your expectations. I had hope that we would have regained your trust after comping your room for the weekend and I am very sorry you...

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everyone was so nice and helpful, and my room was easy walking distance to the library, museum, and Hitchcock Woods, as well as to the brewery and all the recommended local restaurants. Plus, the food at the Pool Hall across the street was awesome! Nightlife in house and at the Tiki Bar was altogether entertaining, and the bartender was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabella R
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Catherine we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have had at Hotel Aiken. We always strive to keep every guest happy. It is with regret we were unable to rectify your concerns and meet your expectations. I had hope that we would have regained your trust after comping your room for the weekend and I am very sorry you...

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The room was filthy, the chairs were so stained we would not sit on them. The toilet had pee on it, there was some kind of sticky stuff on the carpet, some of the wall paper was missing, the bathroom floor had black crud on it, the lobby smelled of mildew. The bathroom was partially being re painted. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pattiesdolls
York County
Reviewed 31 July 2014

How do I count the ways? Oh yeah, I was put in a motel type building across the parking lot from the main hotel. The stairwell was filthy and there was what appeared to be a used surgical glove on the floor at the top of the landing. The TV was an old tube type, but functional. The blanket on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank waynetad
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am appalled and embarrassed that I recommended the Hotel Aiken to friends of ours from out of town, and I will NEVER do so again. The Willcox, while lovely, was a little rich for their blood. When I told them about the Hotel Aiken - historic property, convenient downtown location, and half the price of the Willcox - they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank craftyguise
Townville, SC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location for the Beachfest in June. Prices were good. Rooms were very clean. Staff was polite. All in all a pretty good place to stay. The main hotel was very old but historical. I would definitely stay again and probably will next June.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My first trip to Aiken this past weekend was for a wedding. The wedding party was offered two choices for lodging; Hotel Aiken and The Wilcox. The latter was a bit out of my price range. Hotel Aiken's price and location were right but the buildings are in need of some updates/renovations. The 3 restaurants/bars on premises were convenient in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vertindigo
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for the weekend while visiting family members. The staff is wonderful, the young lady at the front desk-Brittany was very helpful and went out of her way to accommodate my daughter and I and point us in the direction of child friendly eating establishments in the area. Anything I had an...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kitsunefire
Hampton
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Once again, my frineds and I visited the beautiful town of Aiken and stayed at the Hotel Aiken. The staff is the best. This one of a kind hotel was built over 100 years ago and still has the oldest elevator in SC, and the only one in the building. The staff has to operate it for you so if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deerrivers

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
8.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
111 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
4.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 20 in Aiken
33 reviews
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC 29801-3865
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: $89 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aiken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dirty, but outside is better than inside”
, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Annex rooms face a noisy bar.”
Paulie59, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 201 is away from the bar noise and has a great view of the city.”
MartyY221, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for what you want - they will do everything they can to accommodate!”
bamafoody, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
  • Peeling wallpaper and mold
  • Peeling wallpaper near the ceiling
483alvind, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$65* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$68
TripAdvisorUS$65
getaroom.comUS$70
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates