We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Antelope Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Antelope Lodge
 Click to rate
Midlothian, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This destination did not live up to the hype on their web site. We had 3 rooms reserved in the court and were disappointed in all 3. On the plus side, the outside area was wonderful - great place to sit outside, smoke a cigar and enjoy an adult beverage. We found a horny toad which was a really cool...

Thank Nicki S
Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Lodge was booked by friends on our motorcycle trip based upon the 1950 style. We arrived and checked in...real old school, pen and paper. The place is small individual cabins with maybe 2 rooms each. Be prepared, the rate was very high in my opinion. The rooms are clean and very old school and comfortable but our room was...

1Thank Dan M
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Alpine has several newer chain lodging properties. We didn't want that. On the Web, the Antelope looked quaint and well kept. But you never know. Well, it was nice. Yep, it's a throwback to an earlier age of lodging. There is an office with a large courtyard behind it. Surrounding the courtyard and along a drive around the property are...

Thank MikeB1952
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We stayed here for two nights. This is an older place but hospitality makes up for a lot. I did not miss a thing. We went on digs with the owner Teri Smith and had a great time. Nice to come back here to relax. Beautiful scenery around the area. I did have internet and the tv worked fine. If...

Thank Lou Ann N
Willow Park, Texas
Reviewed 7 April 2017

It is what it is ... and we knew what to expect. It's a throw-back, no question, but its funk and old time cool made it enjoyable for us. They are not effusive with services, but you could go get whatever you wanted at the "front desk". Stayed 3 days, and if we come back will probably stay here. We...

Thank phillipfrazier
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Went through a time warp as we approached Alpine Texas. We checked into the Antelope Lodge. It is basically a motor lodge from the 1950s. Not much has changed since it was built in 1950 - a courtyard with bungalows surrounding it. Our bungalow was one room - a bedroom and kitchen combined. Sort of a studio apartment setup. A...

1Thank albzaz
Teri S, Owner at Antelope Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your encouraging words. That's exactly how we see the Antelope Lodge - updated where it needs to be, but still with the feeling of a 1940s - 1950s motor court.

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Let me start with I had read previous reviews, and still wanted to try this older property. I knew it was older and some rooms were kept in the 50s fashion but unfortunately some things just weren't acceptable. The beds need to be replaced. We had rooms 17,18,19. All the rooms had severe water pressure problems where we had to...

Thank Sheryl B
Teri S, Owner at Antelope Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at the Antelope Lodge. I've looked into your complaints and concerns, and they will be handled. I've been trying to recreate the water pressure problem, and when I do, I'll figure out what caused it and we'll get it fixed. I've also looked at the mattresses and put them on the replacement list,...

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Cabins are old and the price too high. The closet had a hole in the ceiling into the attic. Cobwebs were in the closet. The plumbing pipes in the bathroom ran up the wall through and open hole in the ceiling. Any kitchen items needed in the kitchenette have to be obtained from the office... cups, glasses, silverware. Had an...

Thank mariciam
Teri S, Owner at Antelope Lodge, responded to this review

Hi! I’m sorry you had an unpleasant experience at the Antelope Lodge. It appears that you have three different kinds of complaints: first, about the age and size of the Lodge, second, about our policies, and third, about housekeeping. The Antelope Lodge is a restored motor court, not a new motel. That information is in all our advertising, and we...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We chose to stay here to go on an outing with the owner to find agates on private ranches. Our trip was part of a long trip through out the south west. I love the small town of Alpine and we enjoyed our stay at the Antelope Lodge. The ability to visit a local health food store and prepare a...

Thank CatskillMountains1
Reviewed 22 December 2016

An vintage motor-court and charming in its own way. As others have said it needs some upgrades, but it was freezing cold and we just wanted a warm room, hot shower, and good nights sleep. Functioning kitchenette, clean towels and linens, shower, sundries, friendly staff, and a real key! If you're looking for luxury keep moving. I'd stay again without...

1Thank Daddy B

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (41)
Room/Suite (17)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
View from Room (2)
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alpine hotels
3.6 km away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
380 reviews
2.4 km away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
457 reviews
4.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
527 reviews
1.2 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
53 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Antelope Lodge

Address: 2310 W Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830-4106
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Price Range: $62 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antelope Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Antelope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antelope Hotel Alpine
Antelope Motel Alpine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Antelope Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a court yard room.”
601danm, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a cottage in back that was perfect for our little dog!”
36DebE, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be back from the road a bit”
11jenniferv, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here until you see some positive reviews.”
sharonhB4196OE, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you really have to stay here, ask for a bungalow toward the back, away from the highway.”
sydneylynch, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates