We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 448: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
 Click to rate
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed just one night in April. Firstly let me say apparently the hotel is going through refurbishment so things may improve !. Arrived at 2pm to be told no rooms ready until 3 pm, ok I can live with that as its what it says on the website , although as an IHG gold member thought things may have moved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spoff2016
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Town in Alexandria for spring break. We had a group of 8 girls and 4 adults. Dixie the Manager took great care of us! The accommodations and breakfast were great! Our shuttle driver David was very pleasant and gave us tips and advice on how to further enjoy our trip. Thanks Dixie for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjoden
Alex L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

tjoden, We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Dixie was a part of that. We are also glad that you found your accommodations and breakfast to exceed your expectations. We strive to make sure our guest feel...

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

At a little less than $300 a night I expected much more comfort. (2-night stay) To start the room was less than comfortable for a "just renovated" room. Pros: Hotel & room appeared clean and most staff was friendly. Cons: The heat did not work and the loud fan ran constantly. The overwhelming stench of cheap new carpet made me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllUSAGrl
Alex L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

AllUSAGrl, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our goal is to consistently provide exceptional service and we are sorry that we did not do this during your stay. We apologize for the various issue you had during your stay but want you to know that we take your comment seriously and will make sure that it...

darien
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleasant service. However, the hotel is supposedly having a renovation, and it needs one. I wouldn't step foot in the bath tub. There was no bathroom fan, and the faucet in the sink leaked. Breakfast was okay one morning and poor the next. I did have a good Caesar's Salad with shrimp. I hope it is upgraded soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 29dora
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

As a Spire Elite member, there is always the hope of a room upgrade, however on this occasion I was put in the worst room in the hotel rm103. Aside that the carpet is stained, as is the wall by the bed, the bath is cracked, there is only one very small window that overlooks the corner of a courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Griffmil
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Hi Griffmil, Thanks for sharing feedback, we're glad to have hosted one of our IHG Rewards Club Spire Elite members. I regret to learn that that this particular stay fell below your expectations of a quality Holiday Inn property as you were let down by the condition of your assigned room and the quality of food items offered at breakfast....

Mount Vernon, Texas
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I like staying at Holiday Inns because the service is always good; their rooms are clean; and the food is good. The staff is always friendly and courteous. I can usually find a Holiday Inn in the area that I need to stay. I had a wonderful 4-night stay here. This property is convenient to Reagan-National Airport, minutes to Old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebel142
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We were traveling for a quick getaway to the Old Town/DC area. We have 4 kids and wanted a suite with a kitchen. Everything we saw online showed a kitchen, cabinets, etc. So we booked a sweet with 2 double beds, a sofa bed, and what we thought was a kitchen. While the "family room" area was expansive, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding our room amenities. We also regret...

Reviewed 4 February 2017

This property is convenient to Reagan airport (DCA) and has flight crews that stay here. It's minutes to Old Town in alexandria and offers shuttle service to King street and the Airport. The rooms are clean the breakfast is good and the bar is quiet and well stocked. a good way to end the day. The rooms need updating but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronbcheshire
Alex L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Ronbcheshire, Thank you for sharing your experience of the Holiday Inn and Suites Old Town in Alexandria, VA. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My Sister and I had a wonderful 6 night stay at The Holiday Inn hotel in Alexandria Va. The hotel staff was super accommodating and friendly. We each had very comfortable beds and our room size was good too. While we were there we made good use of the free hotel shuttle service from and to the airport and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyn c
Alex L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear carolyn c, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear we were able to provide with an excellent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Old Town area and our shuttle was good service. We're happy to hear our staff exceeded your expectations. It's our pleasure to serve...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Clean, but dated. Staff was courteous, efficient, helpful. Prompt airport shuttle. Restaurant on site. Good food, fair prices. Would use hotel again. Workout room was very limited, probably wouldn't use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell M
Alex L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review

Dear Darrel M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Holiday Inn and Suites Old Town, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and shuttle. The hotel will go through a renovation in that will improve our guest stay. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $172 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get a true suite with kitchen if that's what you're looking for!”
paulbR5766MM, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had one of the few first floor rooms and it was nice not having to wait on an elevator.”
N4685CKjohns, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Place is really quiet. Fitness Center and pool are on second floor.”
CPerez820, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the courtyard with a balcony”
yellowrider221, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please ask for everything you need before you arrive - fridge, microwave, etc.”
Gjm1949, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5