We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 560: English reviews
Start your review of Old Colony Inn Alexandria
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I made a reservation on their website and when I showed up a couple weeks later they told me they are booked and they can't honor my reservation. At that time, the entire City was booked, it took hours and a lot of extras money to find another place 10 miles away. So, beware of this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retlaw101
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello Retlaw101, I’m very sorry for the inconvenience you encountered with regards to your reservation not being in our system. We’ve corrected the issue and assure you and all future gusts the problem has been corrected. On a more positive note, I sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay at the property we relocated you to. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This facility leaves much to be desired. The outlets didn't work, the shower water was cold, the faucets leaked, it was noisy, and could be cleaner. Do you only redeeming factor was the person at the counter who was friendly and professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello Ms. Tina C, I’m very sorry your experience at the Inn was not up to your standard. We know we’re not the newest hotel in the area but pride ourselves in the service we offer and how well we maintain our property. I’m disappointed we did not exceed your expectations. At your earliest convenience, please feel free to contact...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked with hotel.com, never again! The hotel smelled of mold and I felt uncomfortable there and did not stay the night. The hotel does not have an elevator, you carry your own bags... The staff was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HERhody
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello HERhody, First and foremost, I sincerely apologize we did not meet your overall expectations. We put great effort into ensuring our Inn is cleaned thoroughly. I’m sorry you felt we did not live up to those standards. While we do not have an elevator, we’re more than happy to assist our guests up the flight of stairs leading to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a recent spring break trip. Even though our flight was cancelled due to weather and it was less than 24 hours notice, the hotel let us change our reservation without a fee. We were greeted warmly at the front desk and our room was clean and comfortable. We took the free shuttle to and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Greeting Ms. Mandy K, Thank you for staying with us! We’re thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us and took advantage of all our complimentary amenities we offer to our guests. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you are in the Old Town Alexandria/Washington DC area. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Reviewed 1 March 2017

I expected to find just another adequate Best Western when I made my reservation, but when I arrived, I realized the name, "Old Colony Inn," actually suited this delightful place. The hotel is all red brick, nicely designed...simple, Early American lines. I felt like I'd made a happy mistake! The staff was helpful, parking was free (don't you get irritated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello John B, We’re delighted you were a pleasantly surprised with our overall hotel appearance when you first arrived. While we’re not one of the newest hotels in the area, we take great pride in our unique, classic look and approach to our Inn, I’m happy you appreciated it. We look forward welcoming you back during your next trip to...

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 18 February 2017

My husband and I stayed during the presidential inauguration and were very pleased with the whole atmosphere and accommodations. The free breakfast was plentiful and the free shuttle was very prompt, with helpful and courteous drivers. With all the area traffic, we parked our car and used their shuttle the entire time we were there. The hotel was only three...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DCB273
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Greeting DCB273, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We’re happy you had a wonderful time with us and found our location perfect while exploring both Old Town Alexandria and Washington DC. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you’re in the area, we promise your experience will only get...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

I can't fault the hotel for charm and front of house personality. However the room was really struggling with faulty lights and taps that could not turn off. Food and hot water good and location spot on ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello Jonathan C, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. I apologize for the malfunctioning lights and bathroom tap, we put a lot of effort to ensure everything is working perfectly at the hotel for our guests, I’m sorry the items mentioned slipped through the cracks. On a more positive not, I’m very happy...

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We have stayed twice at the Old Colony Inn while visiting relatives in the area and have no complaints. Very comfortable beds. Generally quiet. Nice rooms and friendly, attentive service. Free parking. Reliable wifi. OK breakfast. Nothing fancy but fine for our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickSpil
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello Rickspil, Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when visiting your relatives in the area. We know we’re the fanciest hotel in town but we pride ourselves in our clean rooms and personalized service our team members provide. We look forward to your future stay! Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I have used this hotel for various occasions over the last 5 years. I used to stay here when I was visiting my family in the area. Now that I live here, I stay on occasion when I need a quiet getaway or when I have out of town guests.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank inyaheart
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Greeting inyaheart, It’s a pleasure being your “go-to” hotel in Old Town Alexandria; with so many hotels in the area, it’s truly an honored. We’re sincerely grateful of your loyalty and referrals, it’s means the world to us and look forward to many more future stays. Respectfully, Wil Laura

Coram, New York
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Nice, clean, helpful, great hotel. I would stay here again. It was a great location and very nice. It was close to the Capitol and surrounding areas. We got the shuttle service for free to the metro. It was a great service. Breakfast was great with alot of variety of food.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 201darlenek
Wil L, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Hello 201darlenek, I’m thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us and found out location, cleanliness, and breakfast perfect for your adventure into Washington DC and Old Town Alexandria. We can’t wait to welcome you back and promise to exceed your expectations. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $161 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Colony Inn Alexandria staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Bethesda, Maryland
over a year ago
York, United Kingdom
Dundee, Michigan

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Old Colony Inn Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor, no elevator but there is a wheelchair lift”
DCB273, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No noise on second floor”
bigrockr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are old and beat up.”
90steve52, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you let the check in desk know if you need handicap bathroom with bars around the tub. The handicap lift needs to be updated.”
payob, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“ask for main floor room if you have trouble with stairs”
colann76, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5