We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,614: English reviews
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We recently stayed four nights on a combination business/pleasure trip. The location of the facility is ideal. The King Street Metro stop and the free trolley with access to the Old Town waterfront was located directly out the front door and across the street from the hotel. The Old Town shops and eateries start a block down from this property.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue E
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I could not have been more descriptive. I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your visit and found our location, staff and accommodations fantastic. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future. Kind Regards, More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We love this hotel for our family getaways. Our rooms have always been clean and comfortable. It's close to the metro, the free trolley and Whole Foods. They have a great breakfast buffet and a happy hour. We enjoyed walking down King Street to see the shops and eateries.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindasue2u
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your guest experience and found our location, your accommodations and our staff to your liking. We look forward to you visiting with us again in the future. Kind Regards, More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights while sightseeing in DC. The hotel is located directly across the street from the King Street metro station providing easy and quick access to DC area attractions. Upon entering the hotel we were quickly given our keys and directions for parking ($28 per day w in/out). The atrium effect is pleasant and spacious. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Staprel
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your guest experience and found our location and accommodations to your liking. We look forward to you visiting again in the near future. Kind Regards, More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The rooms are dirty and need to be painted and refurbished. It's one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. I've never seen an Embassy Suites like it in all my travels. I won't stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank edjshug
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide our guest with a clean, comfortable and safe place for them to relax an enjoy themselves. I apologize you did not have a good guest experience and you felt our hotel was not up to your standards. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve our guests experience.... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Great room, although I kept getting lost finding it because it is in a different part of the hotel and not serviced off the main elevator. Room's living area was rather large. Balcony was nice but no chairs or anything. Room was quiet even with balcony access in the sleeping area. Double beds in the room are not ideal for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terriv
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your guest visit and we were able to accommodate your request to get rid of any guest room items that contained feathers. Our breakfast and manager's reception can get crowded; however, we still have plenty of seating available. The restaurant is open for guest to sit and eat and also... More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The staff here goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and valued. Our room was extremely quiet (not the case at many Embassy Suites) even though the hotel was full. The location to King Street and the Metro to DC was so convenient. I highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bodo77
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff provided you the level of exceptional service we want all our guest to experience. We look forward to you visiting with us again soon. Kind Regards, More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Could not be closer to the metro, easy access to everything, including Reagan airport. Very quiet and comfortable. Enclosed lobby is a little bit "indoor Disneyland" in style but the great free breakfast and happy hour are comfortable and tasty in that space. I loved my bed pillows so much all I want to do is order about 6 of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jbutler37
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your guest experience. I am excited to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, especially the pillows, and found our staff helpful. Per our Executive Housekeeper, the brand name of the pillows we use are called Down Dreams. The standard pillow model is Enviro Sleep. The king size pillow model is Manchester Mills. They... More 

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Room, food and location was great. Clean pool, very tasty food, and just steps from train station. Parking was not worth paying for. We had a van and we had exactly 2" space from each side column. All the hotel parking spots were the same. Saw some mirrors on the parking floor from people not being careful. If you did... More 

Helpful?
Thank BripCover
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and yes we are aware of the parking woes our guest experience. I will share your concerns with our Property Manager to take into consideration. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards, More 

New Brunswick
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

This is a well maintained hotel that has plenty going for it. First, the location, It is right across the street from the Metro station. It is a very short walk to King Street, which is in the heart of Alexandria. There are shops and restaurants galore and you can walk to the beautiful waterfront. There is a free trolley... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very excited you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. Until then, More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We've always been impressed with Hilton hotels but this one didn't meet our expectations. Checking in took us almost an hour. When we arrived, a guest was checking out and we waited for at least 30 mins before we were taken care of and that's too long if you have a baby with you. Although, the lady at the concierge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dranz
MaryAnne R, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our location but disappointed you were frustrated because you had to wait to check in and were not given the correct directions to get to your suite. We do on occasion have birds fly in through our front entrance sliding doors and we make every attempt to capture and release... More 

594 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)
Viewed
Two Room King Balcony Suite (64)
Viewed
Two Room King Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,213 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
1,157 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Price Range: $192 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not hear trains from room despite facing tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles kevink650, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request a high room not facing the light rail line”
 of 5 bubbles Jerseybob175, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I prefer rooms on a higher floor away from the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles traunaj, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles neelpert1, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“end rooms are better”
 of 5 bubbles dallfine, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay