We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town\/Duke Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

702 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 695: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was very happy with our stay here. The room is typical Residence Inn and very functional. The location is perfect--walkable to Metro and Old Town. The staff was great--working hard to keep the breakfast items out and the room clean. After a long day, we bought a couple of snacks from the little convenience store in the lobby and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EW1616
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hi EW1616, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had such a great stay with us and it sounds like we were a perfect starting point for your daily adventures. We always try and make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible when they are here with us and it...

Chesterfield, Michigan
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions when I found it during a business trip. It was in driving distance to Ft Belvoir and was easy to get to from the highway or one of the backroads when I needed to avoid traffic which there is alot in this area. The hotel itself has standard rooms you find at any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warsnake66
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hi Warsnake66, thank you for the feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. I am glad you were able to discover some short-cuts to get to Fort Belvoir and avoid some of the famous DC traffic. Also, I hope your wife was able to pick up something delicious from her visit to the nearby Filipino grocery store...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great hotel for the price and location. We chose to stay here for our trip to DC. Had a wonderful suite for three nights for what DC would have cost us for one. Walking distance to Metro, or they will shuttle you over. Hotel had great free breakfast with daily menu change. Not just the usual bagels and cold cereal,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna K
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Donna K, thank you for such great comments regarding your recent stay with us; it sounds like it was a busy trip. I am glad to hear you were able to fuel up for a big day of exploring DC and Old-Town at our breakfast and also that you were given such a warm greating each day by our team...

Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel was very nice and in a good location for the price. The staff was excellent and answered all of our questions. There is a shuttle that will take guests to the Metro as well as anything within a mile radius including King Street which is helpful if you don't want to walk to the downtown area. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarrieMI2013
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hi CarrieMI2013, thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our Hotel shuttle as I know it can be a life saver after a long day of walking and site seeing. The pleasure and comfort of our guests is paramount...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 August 2013

First, if you are looking for a boutique hotel equipped with the latest, stylish amenities, this is not it. If you are looking looking for a place to call "home" for several weeks, or are a family visiting the D.C. area for several days and looking for a perfect base camp, I can think of no finer hotel in Old...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 96Wahoo
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello 96Wahoo, thank you so much for giving such wonderful and insightful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Making our Hotel your "home" while you were here was our absolute goal and it looks like we succeeded. I could not have given a better description of our various ammenities if I had written it myself. What an informative and...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We just spent 10 days at this hotel and it was wonderful. The hotel is ideal if you have small kids. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite and it was perfect for us. The staff is wonderful. Every single person we encountered greeted us and offered assistance. The location is great. A 10 min walk to the Metro and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YJT
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello YJT, the Hotel staff and I are so thrilled you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We love hosting families and are always pleased when we can make sure children staying with us feel at home. We are glad that you took advantage of our in-room grocery shopping and hopefully were able to whip up something...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Overall, this is a quality hotel with a superb location to get out of the hustle and bustle of DC. I would definitely stay here again. Pros: 1. Only two blocks from the King St. Metro stop with complimentary shuttle service to and from. 2. Easy walking distance to the wide variety of eateries along King St. and in Old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RDAMiami
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share some of your comments regarding your recent stay with us at our Hotel. We obviously are able to provide our guests with great ammenities such as our location to various location attractions and our breakfast. However, we are always most pleased when our guests are able to enjoy our...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Two blocks from a metro stop, a short walk to downtown Old Town, Whole Foods a block away ( wine tastings on wednesday evenings). The rooms and common areas are a bit worn, but the service and managers reception make up for that. The free shuttle will take you anywhere within 1 mile. There is free night street parking behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTSB
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of your impressions of our Hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences and your input will go a long way in assisting us. Hopefully you will join us again as a guest the next time you are in the Washington D.C. area. Regards, Edwin...

Winter Park, Florida
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If there had been a focus group to envision my perfect hotel and room - this hotel hit the mark. The lobby is just right. Check in went quickly and friendly. Nice touches with delicious coffee service and ice water. ( like the creamers) My bedroom was so inviting and well laid out. Loved the color scheme. Room smelled and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peppermint123
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Thank you so much for providing such wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay here with us. Obviously during your stay you were able to experience so many of the great things that make our Hotel so special from our Front Desk team at check-in to the Shuttle Drivers while exploring Old-Town. Please be assured all of your comments will be...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Alexandria for the weekend and chose the Residence Inn. We got in early and unable to Checkin right away. The front desk offered to store our luggage and gave us an approx time for our room. We had a great room. Very clean!!! And very well kept. The staff was always friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickie73_10
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our Hotel. We are always so happy when guests can come and enjoy all that our Hotel has to offer, especially the great team members that work here. As always, I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff and we hope that you will join us again as...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
1,167 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $172 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seemed to be a very quiet area.”
 of 5 bubbles 401pattyp, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The North Front of the Hotel faces Old Town, the West faces a sort of river.”
 of 5 bubbles Sleddog32, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there is a noisy side. We were on the top floor, back side and it was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 42dave2015, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Swimming pool and fitness center are on 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles doric405, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We asked for a room with a view and got the cemetery which was beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles ce_younger, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay