We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 630: English reviews
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night. Place was clean, room was nice and roomy. We reserved a river view room and was disappointed with the view. It was a side view, not what we expected. We purchased a package plan which included valet parking, breakfast and internet service. Upon check in the employee did not explain breakfast times etc so we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lather66
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear lather66, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. Receiving constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve, assist and accommodate our guest better. We're sorry that the valet service did not meet you expectation. We have made your comments known...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed our stay for overnight trip visiting friends. The hotel has great access to the attractions of Old Town Alexandria and DC. The friendly staff at the Crowne Plaza made these out-of-towners feel like locals. I recommend it if you plan to visit the area; comfortable rooms and a friendly and reliable staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westwill18
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear westwill18, Thank you so much for your kind review, I was very pleased to hear that our desk staff was able to help you so much. Commending our services is always a great thing to hear, we strive to exceed the expectations of our guest. We're happy to know you would recommend us and would return; we look forward...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was in a great location the staff was excellent the rooms were beautiful the food was excellent the experience was great, great, great, great, great. I would have no problem staying here again and i will probably stay here the next time I'm in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbernard42
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear dbernard42, We are so incredibly happy to read your comment about your stay. It warms to hear that everything during your stay went perfect. We work to give each guest an comfortable and relaxing stay. Thank you for choosing us and we can't wait to have you back soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel room and location are good, however avoid the restaurant. The first night service was slow but thought it was due to the number of people present. The second night was even worse with fewer people in the restaurant. I ordered an appetizer and dessert to take to my room, my traveling companion received her meal after 30 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lisa S, Thank you for your comments and review of your recent stay with us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues during your meal at the restaurant. We will improve in this area to provide an...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived after a long day travelling for a two nights stay, checked in easily and made my way to my room. Room clean and tidy with a great view of the Potomac river and even though you could see planes landing at the nearby airport you couldn't really hear them. We went out for dinner that evening to the Henley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llss1
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear llss1, Thank you for your comments of your recent stay. We are so happy to hear we were able to provide you again with a overall experience you were more than pleased. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the area and were able to return to the hotel and rest comfortably. Thank you for choosing us again. We...

Sound Beach, New York, United States
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The location of this hotel is the best part of it. It's walking distance to Old Town Alexandria and the walk is along the Potomic River, very beautiful. Of course Old Town is a place to go, good food, art, craft beer and shops. The parking is $20 a night but you do need secure parking and a place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Everett M
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Everett M, Thank you for such a wonderful review. As you likely witnessed, our goal here is to exceed expectations each and every time. Because of this, I want to thank you for letting us know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience! We're happy to hear our staff exceeded your expectations. It's our pleasure to serve you. Please hurry...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I stayed here two nights for a conference this past winter. The room was pretty nice and clean, and had updated furniture, so I have no complaints there. The hotel is also located in a nice area that is within walking distance from a selection of restaurants. However, we had a very bad experience with room service... the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Sara H, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. It's our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience with room service. I will be advising the...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel staff was helpful and there's convenient parking. Good places to eat within walking distance (hotel restaurant was unimpressive). The room was clean but amenities won't blow you away. No major complaints though. The best thing was the little bit of the Potomac I could see from my room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midwestbandit
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear midwestbandit, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We apologize that you were unimpressed with our restaurant. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the surrounding restaurants and the view of the Potomac. We do hope to have the opportunity...

Hampshire
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Old Town Alexandria is a great place to eat and to explore so the hotels tend to be expensive. This was no exception. Added to which, there were 3 kinds of taxes added to the bill. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable and had a good view of the river. It was a bit noisy as it seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline067
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Caroline067, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. It is our pleasure to serve you. We're sorry to hear that you the planes were noisy during your stay. We are glad to see...

Eugene
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Came On a business trip & it was close to our offices. Quick trip and inexpensive Taxi from Regan airport. A free hotel shuttle to Oldtown Alexandria which is very nice, and close to walking path by the river. However for price ($160) room was Ok but not a wow. Carpet was stained, odd missing panel on wall and bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal1710
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Sal1710, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We also thank you for choosing us. We apologize if our staff service was not exemplary. We are currently getting a capital plan formed to make the necessary improvements to refresh our hotel, so that our guest can have an overall great experience. We...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
576 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $124 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Riverton, Wyoming
TEQUESTA, Florida, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel offers a great view of the Potomac River”
 of 5 bubbles westwill18, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“people slam there doors to much it wakes you up.”
 of 5 bubbles dbernard42, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on one of the top floors facing the water.”
 of 5 bubbles Danielita23, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have nice views”
 of 5 bubbles OzTex, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Can get a room with fridge & Micro, but have to book it that way. Not all rooms have them.”
 of 5 bubbles 544kristena, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay