We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amherst Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amherst Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of Amherst Inn
 Click to rate
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You get much more than you expect when booking this hotel. We booked a stay at the Amherst Inn to visit family that live in Amherst and crossed our fingers because we have stayed at other small hotels in tiny towns and had some bad experiences. This one was well worth the money! It is clean and updated. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed as a solo traveler in early December. Was impressed with the cleanliness, and quality of the upgrades that had been done. Definitely a bargain! Other reviewer spoke of road noise. I didn't think that was an issue. Would definitely stay here again if I'm ever passing through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
Lewes
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My title says it all. We would not hesitate staying a week or more here, if we had something to do in the area. Our visit was two days to visit our son for Thanksgiving, when there wasn't room for everyone at their house. This is one of those older motels, but renovated to modern standards, and they did a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justgo4
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My overall experience at the Amherst Inn was very good. The room was exceptionally clean, the beds comfortable, nice little set up with microwave and small refrigerator. Bathroom was spotless, everything was in tip top shape. The shower is small, but that did not bother me or my husband. The TV was nice and the breakfast, just danish, muffins, OJ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramona W
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed during family weekend at Liberty University. The place was quaint, locally owned and well taken care of. The bed was comfy but a little short. The room was small but cozy. The shower was hot but very small for someone my size. We had no complaints. The room was clean and cleaned in between our stay. Would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Very clean, comfortable room. The room is small, but well-appointed. The beds were comfortable and the refrigerator and microwave were a nice convenience. It was within 6 miles of Rebec Vineyards making it good place to stay after the wine and garlic festival. Overall, a great value for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peekatito
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Since it was so inexpensive I was pleasantly surprised by all the Amherst Inn provided. It exceeded all our expectations, very clean, extremely comfortable beds, very friendly staff, and very quiet surroundings. Only negative is the shower is a little tight Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal J
New Concord, Ohio
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This is a classic old school motel. The room was clean, and the desk clerk was friendly. But the room was tiny, the air stuffy and dank. It did have a pretty new wall mounted TV and a clean small fridge. My room had two double beds and I climbed in one, but it had an awful odor, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bil K
Neil B, Owner at Amherst Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry you were not pleased with your room. We shampooed the carpets in the previous days of your arrival and tried our best to dry the rooms but it still wasn't and we are very sorry for your experience. The mattresses are Beauty Rest from Serta about 2 years old but since then we...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

It's not a five star hotel (big and grand) but I gave it five because for where it was and what they did with it, it is five star. Nicely remodeled with all the basic things needed in a room at a great price. If you want big and grand go somewhere else and pay double. If you want five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
Delbarton, West Virginia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

With only a few places to stay in Amherst ..the small (motel) Inn was a refreshing find. Rooms small but all renovated, new carpet ,fresh paint , new curtains,tile ,refrigerator ,microwave,flat screen T.V and blow dryer...What you see on website is exactly what you get. Very quite area and fully lit parking lot.May want to bring own shampoos and soap...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mickey C

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
21.0 km away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
830 reviews
30.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
30.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
300 reviews
26.9 km away
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
BEST WESTERN of Lynchburg
#15 of 23 in Lynchburg
166 reviews
22.9 km away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Address: 116 Richmond Hwy, Amherst, VA 24521-4105
Region: United States > Virginia > Amherst
Price Range: $108 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amherst Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Amherst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amherst Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Dracut, Massachusetts

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Amherst Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All ground level,choose room close to office..only for convenience with parking.”
 of 5 bubbles 296mickeyc, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to each room.”
 of 5 bubbles 892sherryl, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“on the end, where there is a stone wall between your room and the road. that's where our room was and we did not notice road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles richardhQ3016AH, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have convenient parking.”
 of 5 bubbles margareth737, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Not by Pop machine”
 of 5 bubbles LindaG182, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5