We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tropical Tambau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tropical Tambau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was not at all like a 4* star hotel, maximum 2 or 3*, I was really upset for choosing this hotel and why in all internet it is mentioned as best hotel in Joao pessoa, it was really old, not reconstructed or refurnished since 1964, I think. the rooms was not clean and in the nights there were party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caspian77
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

unfortunately, I had recommendation of some Brazilian to go to this hotel, but I surprised by just putting my foot on entrance gate, the building was very old, not maintained at all well, it was for 60s, and the goods I think not changed for decades, you can see the Termites and beetles in the rooms, so be ready for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ebad G
Goiania, GO
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Xmas day for a 10-day vacation. Even though we hard good things about the hotel my family and I were surprised negatively. The build was old (1971) and not well maintained. The walkways through the gardens were deteriorated and poorly maintained. The room also was poorly maintained, with beds with old mattresses and not so good pillows....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuimaraPerpetuo
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 4 August 2016

For the last 40+ years, Tropical Tambaú has been the ultimate landmark of João Pessoa. It's unique in so many ways that it easily shadows any other hotel in the city, turning to be a category itself, with all the others well below it. Staff is ultra friendly and will take care of you and your family to the utmost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caetas
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr(s). Caetas, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. We are constantly seeking to improve our quality, therefore, feedback from our guests is very valuable to us. We inform that, currently, our Hotel is undergoing a gradual restauration of its facilities, due to our proximity to the ocean, which imposes special care. This...

BH
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Location is perfect, almost inside the sea. The hotel is very charming and nice, with a beautiful swwiming pool. Our room had a balcony with wonderful view os the sea. Breakfast is great and internet is free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo C
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Leonardo C, Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Tropical Tambaú. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, swimming pool, accomodations and breakfast, and hope for the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon, in your next visit to João Pessoa. Kind regards, Fernando Souza General Manager Tropical Hotel...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Mind you this was the only beach front hotel in Joao Pessoa, literally on the beach which to our family was a big plus being that we have small children, they had beach chairs for us and we were only a couple steps from our room all day. Breakfast was awesome, staff was friendly. Definitely will be back for seconds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Ana M, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel. We are glad to know that our location, breakfast and staff were positive aspects of your stay. We hope for the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon. Kind regards, Fernando Souza General Manager Tropical Hotel Tambaú Tropical Hotel & Resorts Brasil

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We have stayed here over 10 times. Great location. Friendly Staff. Great Beach. Unique Architecture on the Ocean. Great set of Pools. Great Sauna and Gym. No need to go with full board as there are lots of Restaurants outside to taste the local food. Breakfast is included and it is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuiAlipio
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. RuiAlipio, Thank you for your preference and for evaluating your recent stay at the Tropical Tambaú. We are glad to know you found our Hotel unique and exquisite, and that our staff, architecture, pools, and breakfast were positive aspects of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your...

Madrid
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Was in Joao Pessoa for a week during IGF. Booked this hotel together with most of business community as advised was best hotel in town. Very bad decision. A hotel built in 1970's which has not gone through any improvement / proper maintenance since. One night, when arriving by 23.30, my key (traditional metallic key) did not open the door....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gonzso
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr(s). Gonzso, Thank you very much for evaluating your stay at our Hotel, and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services and correct operational failures. We are sorry about the inconveniences regarding changing rooms. We would like...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I paid for a two bedroom, a balcony and view. Got a living room and bedroom, balcony does not exist and view is not to the ocean but to a horrible garden.... And this is the "view" they sell. Place is sold out, hate my room and where I am. Never again. Be very careful placing a reservation at this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walt-FL
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Walt-FL, We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services and correct operational flaws. We encourage our guests to contact the Front Desk during their stay in case of any problems,...

Kerala, India
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Tropical Tamabu in Joao Pessoa is located at a terrific place on the beach. The property is a somewhat old, and the lack of funding for maintenance is now showing. Nevertheless, I had a comfortable stay. The hotel is shaped as two concentric circles, with the reception at the centre of the ring. The rooms are not the most modern,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SierraBravo
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. SierraBravo, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. We are constantly seeking to improve our quality, therefore, feedback from our guests is very valuable to us. We inform that, currently, our Hotel is undergoing a gradual restauration of its facilities, due to our proximity to the ocean, which imposes special care. This...

1,019 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1007)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (189)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (162)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (34)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (325)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joao Pessoa hotels
Manaira
Verdegreen Hotel
Verdegreen Hotel
#1 of 40 in Joao Pessoa
908 reviews
Hardman Praia Hotel
#9 of 40 in Joao Pessoa
865 reviews
Hotel Corais de Tambau
#6 of 40 in Joao Pessoa
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabo Branco Atlantico Hotel
#11 of 40 in Joao Pessoa
452 reviews
Laguna Praia Hotel
#2 of 40 in Joao Pessoa
390 reviews
Nord Luxxor Cabo Branco
#15 of 40 in Joao Pessoa
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the Tropical Tambau, beach resort located in Joao Pessoa, Paraiba's state capital city, and 'the second greenest city in the world'. A picture-perfect family beach resort and tropical vacation destination, Tropical Tambaú offers 173 guest accommodations, each with a lovely ocean or lush tropical garden view. Since the beach resort is right on the beach, superior rooms with veranda at Tropical Tambau feature unique and magnificent seashore or cruise feel with ocean breezes and smooth waves. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Tambau

Address: Avenida Almirante Tamandare 229 | Praia de Tambaú, Joao Pessoa, State of Paraiba 58039-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Paraiba > Joao Pessoa
Price Range: $150 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Tambau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Tambau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Tambau Joao Pessoa
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Joao Pessoa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Joao Pessoa
#10 Family Hotel in Joao Pessoa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Tambau staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tropical Tambau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms, all are old fashion, the price value is not good, it is 2* hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Caspian77, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are Old fashioned, but some rooms with sea view are relatively better, like 3* hotels standards.”
 of 5 bubbles ebadg2017, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get an Ocean view room on the second Floor!”
 of 5 bubbles RuiAlipio, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go to other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Gonzso, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Look for another hotel with room descriptions that will match your room.”
  • Balcony from the suite.... Not even a place to sit.
  • This is beautiful view from this expensive suite!
 of 5 bubbles Walt-FL, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay