We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Canelas Street 25 Bairro Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000 Brazil
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (161)
Pool & Beach (48)

About

#42 of 386 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Green Magic Inn rests near the banks of the "Pereque Acu" river in the rainforest. Far enough from historic old town to hear only the birds and crickets but close enough to go there in a moment. Nice and cozy private bungalows, charming apartments with minibar and box bed (mosquito net), the spacious family apartments, all with A/C, minibar, ceiling fans, TV and blindex box in the bathroom. De Luxe Suits with jetted tub.
Read more
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Massage
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
45Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
220Reviews8Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 76
  • 17
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pauls_Travel_Tips wrote a review Sep 2018
Seattle60 contributions22 helpful votes
The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The electric shower just poured down nice, hot water. The gardens were left natural requiring less maintenance, but were still very nice. The parking on the dirt driveway was fine, but may get a little tight if the place was busy. The pool is on the smaller side (about 25' x 10'), but good for a quick swim. The Pousada is somewhat close to the main road, but far enough away to not bother you. it's so quiet at night and in the morning that it wouldn't matter anyway. The wood trim and cabinets could use some updates, but that's a pretty minor issue. The place is 1 1/2 miles from old town Paraty, so it is best to have a car staying here. Without good directions, it's a little hard to find back in a quiet, residential neighborhood, which, contrary to the previous review, seemed more than safe. The small boat storage place next door with it's own boat launch may be a problem if there were early morning fisherman launching, but it was real quiet when we were there. Mosquito's absolutely love me, so even though I didn't see any, I did get 3 bites while wearing shorts, maybe to breakfast. But, my son and wife didn't get bit at all. But, in Paraty, you're likely to get bit anywhere, so don't let that stop you from staying here. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat. And, it was pleasant eating right by the river. Decaf is not a norm in Brazil, but I had bought my own at the store previously and they were happy to make it for me for breakfast both mornings we stayed. Bottom line, for the money, this place is great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Brennan J wrote a review Jul 2018
94 contributions50 helpful votes
We were rather excited about this "charming" place by the river, but the excitement ended very quickly. The online photos are misleading and deceptive in every way possible. This pousada is in a bad part of town, far from the city center, in an area that I would not walk in at night. We were told to park outside the pousada walls, on a dirt road, and I was left wondering if our car will still be there in the morning. The place was dirty and run down, with no comfortable common area. The bed wasn't even made when we arrived, so we had a chance to see the stained mattress and tattered pillows. We left, foregoing our non-refundable deposit, to find someplace nicer, much closer to the centro, for about the same cost. GO ELSEWHERE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
MissBrittanica wrote a review Sep 2017
Porto Alegre, RS49 contributions31 helpful votes
This is a return trip and the hotel was as lovely as I remember it. beautiful plants and foliage and a river at the bottom. All little requests were attended to and taken seriously. All staff lovely and kind, rooms comfortable and beds of good quality (of serious importance to me!) The towels and bedding are of great quality and feel nice to use. I can't wait to go back next year. Food- excellent and good wi-fi. The little monkeys that visit in the morning are a hidden bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Luís A, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 15 Oct 2017
Really thank you for the great comments, they are very important to encourage the whole team. We are working to improve more. We hope to see you again soon .
Read more
Astrid B wrote a review Apr 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands100 contributions9 helpful votes
The Pousada Magia Verde is set amidst a green lush garden and has very friendly relaxed staff; I loved the impeccable room, the fresh breakfast, but above all, I just lovvvved the idyllic setting!! would certainly visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Luís A, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 28 Apr 2017
Thanks a lot for the great comments, this gives us a great motivation to continue improving the hostel more and more. Luís Audrá
Read more
MissBrittanica wrote a review Aug 2016
Porto Alegre, RS49 contributions31 helpful votes
Honestly I loved staying here! Firstly the beds. The beds are REAL doubles not two singles put together. The linen and towels are of lovely high standard quality. For Paraty the wifi is excellent and when it's not the owner gets someone out immediately to fix it. They were helpful with our daughter. Beautiful birds and monkeys sharing breakfast with us. So flexible with any changes you might want to make. Very very kind and considerate. Super clean rooms with great breakfast with huge variety and importantly HOT breakfast! I really totally 100% recommend this amazing place which is such good value for money. By the way you can get a boat tour to pick you up from the river at the bottom of the garden!!!! And they speak at least good English, Spanish and Portuguese in reception. from
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Luís A, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 29 Aug 2016
I have no words to thank your comments. This leaves us motivated and we are sure that wwe are on the way on what we believe. Thank you very much. Luís Audrá
Read more
parindshah wrote a review Oct 2015
San Francisco, California28 contributions7 helpful votes
Staying at this hostel is awesome. They have very comfortable rooms with your own hammock. Clean and modern bathrooms, clean swimming pool, great breakfast. The only problem is the location. It's located at the end of the town and takes about 30-40 minutes from the historical center. All in all a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Get room 2, 3 for a more personal experience
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 19 Oct 2015
Really thanks for your comments and compliments, we are working to improve further the inn. We hope you come back again soon and next time you can use the bikes to go to downtown (it will take only 5 minutes as the distance is 1.600 meters – about one mile). Luís Audrá
Read more
Mordicus wrote a review Aug 2015
Chatou, France230 contributions111 helpful votes
Ok my first impression was not that good. Location not ideal, only Portuguese spoken at the reception. And above all the double room suite I booked the day before was actually not available, what is a problem when we are 5 for 3 places to sleep. Fortunately, the owner (speaking well at least French and English) turned to be very helpful and arranged the situation at the best he could, and remained attentive for our 2 nights stay. Attractive breakfast with local specialties in a quiet outdoor place next to the river, where you can see some small monkeys. Nice small pool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 12 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We hope to improve a lot yet. Anyway a new English/French new receptionist began to work. Hope see you soon. Luís Audrá
Read more
Kacy B wrote a review May 2015
35 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a lovely pousada full of nature with a very friendly staff. We had a few slight disappointments. We did not get the room we had reserved, though we did get a similar one and it served our purposes. The room we chose had a tub, which was very nice and worked well. Ample hot water. The room was clean, though there was confusion during our only full day there and we did not receive maid service, which was kind of a bummer. The breakfast is nice, served by the pool overlooking a creek. Very peaceful. The grounds themselves are very quiet at night, however our only real complaint was the air conditioner which made a horrible squawking noise during most of the second night of our stay, even when it was turned off. Very strange. They do not have a 24 hour front desk, so we couldn't report the problem and got a poor night's sleep. All in all, a nice base for exploring Paraty. About 7 minutes to drive to the historical town where you can walk to the tourist pier and take boats around the islands. About 10 minutes to the local beach. Not to easy to walk to destinations from here, but great if you have a car.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 2 Jun 2015
Dear Kace Thanks for your compliments we were really happy and motivated with them. Sorry for the A/C problem, it suddenly has broken and we didn't know that he had that noise. We are fixing it now. Luís Audrá
Read more
barneybing wrote a review Feb 2015
hayling island40 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed 5 nights during carnival week, everything in Paraty was booked up so we were lucky to get a bungalow for four, if you are used to trekking or camping then the accommodation will be ok although a bit tired everything was clean and comfortable fresh sheets and towels everyday, good breakfast every morning and if you are lucky a visit from the little family of Marmosets that come some mornings and will take fruit from you, it is a bit of a walk to the historic centre 30mins, overall a very relaxing stay the staff were pleasant and helpful especially Ricardo who speaks English, the deluxe rooms are what you see on their site and if you can get them they are worth the extra. All in all a good stay we would stayed here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 24 Feb 2015
We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your staying with us. Hope you’ll come again and sure you’ll see everything better. Cheers. Luís
Read more
Fernandosouzafilho wrote a review Oct 2014
Sao Paulo, SP53 contributions35 helpful votes
This "pousada" is a bit far from the center of Paraty. But not that far: forget the laziness, walk 20 minutes breathing this fresh air. Rooms are good, big comfortable bed, wi-fi, clean bathroom. Pool is so small that it seems more like a bathtub (do not be fooled by pro pics they show). But i's OK for relaxing a bit after the breakfast right next to the pool. Food is really good there: excellent breakfast and very good supper. Even pizza is really tasty at the small restaurant next to the pool. Trees everywhere complete this beautiful picture.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool are the best because they're also next to the breakfast/restaurant....
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde
Responded 5 Oct 2014
We’re happy that you enjoy your staying here, we hope you’ll come back soon and find out that the inn is better and better. Best Regards. Luís Audrá.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$42 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroParaty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pousada Magia Verde
Which popular attractions are close to Pousada Magia Verde?
Nearby attractions include Poco das Andorinhas Waterfall (1.1 km), Portico da Cidade de Paraty (0.9 km), and Tomahawk Carnes Nobres (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pousada Magia Verde?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Pousada Magia Verde?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pousada Magia Verde?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pousada Magia Verde?
Yes, free private parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pousada Magia Verde?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maiyê Restaurante, Família Bella Pizza Gourmet, and Tomahawk Steakhouse Paraty.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pousada Magia Verde?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Pousada Magia Verde?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pousada Magia Verde?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pousada Magia Verde?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Centro Histórico (2.0 km), Morro do Forte (2.4 km), and Centro Histórico de Paraty (2.0 km).