We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pousada do Principe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Pousada do Principe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this stunning and very charming boutique hotel on our group trip in October 2016. If you're travelling around Brazil, I would highly recommend a stop over in Paraty, as it's such a beautiful town. The staff at Pousada do Principe were really friendly and so helpful at all times (even helped me arrange an amazing spa treatment not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IngaR77
Georgia J, Gerente de relações públicas at Pousada do Principe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely words. We work for the benefits of our guest. Hope to see you soon!

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel was nice. When we got there, our rooms weren't ready (we were a group). We left our suitcases at the bar. The rooms were nice, a king size bed, a bathroom (with no door though), TV, air con, fan on ceiling. The problem was there was no mosquito net at the bathroom window and we got bitten to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philippe6541
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Following advice from TA reviews I booked a superior room , which gave us extra space. Very comfortable bed, good a/c, excellent shower. Breakfast standard/good, though the juice was not good, tasted like powdered. Did not eat in the restaurant at night, so can't comment. We arrived from Rio on the Costa Verde bus from Rio ( which is excellent),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mairi315967
LONDON, UK
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

A great location being just outside the old town on what appears to be Main Street. The overall feeling was that when it was originally furnished it would have been absolutely fabulous with a pool to cool off in at the end of the day or even a swim if you're happy with a few strokes from end to end....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
Reviewed 7 March 2016

During our stay in Brazil, Pousada do Principe was our final destination and it was by far the best place we've visited. The swimming pool is wonderful and refreshing, the cleaning personnel even sorted our shoes and the personnel was very friendly. When we had problems with our travel agency, the manager personnally took care of it and told us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giels B
Brazil
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Spent three nights here recently. The pousada is excellent in many respects. Comfortable rooms, excellent service, very good breakfast. However, the amount of mosquitos/biting insects near the pool was severe. The staff have thought of that and provided repellent and also a plug in device to use in your room. The wi-fi only works in the poolside area, not in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kewellBrazil
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Located close to the coach and bus station, this inn is on what looks like the high street in Paraty with cafes, shops and pharmacies close by. It is not in the historic town of Paraty but only two blocks away. Staff is friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast, inviting swimming pool do dive in after a day out and about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella A
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015

First the hotel is not where google says it is.... I rally think this hotel has a massive Mosquitoes issues, I have never stayed anywhere before with such a problem, I asked the manager to sort a tour of the town, but he could not be bothered. WIFI is poor in the rooms.. Breakfast is good with lots of options,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoomzoomboyuk
Salvador K, Gerente geral at Pousada do Principe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. As I do not have the dates of your stay with us I only can tell you that no report any complaine from you (during your stay) or of other guest about this "massive mosquitoes issues" I cannot give you a reply, To me you did not have ask nothing, please advise/state...

London
Reviewed 10 November 2015

The Pousada is very pretty with a nice pool and lots of relaxation areas. Good wifi everywhere and free. Good service but very few staff speak English. Main niggle was the size of the rooms which were were really compact, and lack of storage of any sort, except a small hanging and shelf space. no hooks on the walls, nowhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce42
Salvador K, Gerente geral at Pousada do Principe, responded to this review

Dear Joyce, Many thanks for your comments and for sharing with us your experience in our hotel. Hope too see you again soon in Paraty where you know that now you have a home. Kind regards. Salvador Kadosh

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Ok so when we first arrived I thought there's no way this is a four star however we had been travelling for 20 hours.So next morning it was different and to enjoy our stay .Hotel is for people in transition to other places so stay a couple of nights which is fine. The staff are lovely they do try with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superheroes56
Salvador K, Gerente geral at Pousada do Principe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing with us your stay at Pousada do Príncipe Hope to see you soon back in Paraty. Kind regards. Salvador Kadosh

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#21 of 26 in Paraty
337 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 26 in Paraty
500 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#3 of 26 in Paraty
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 26 in Paraty
429 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 26 in Paraty
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Pousada do Principe

Address: Av. Roberto Silveira, 289 | Center, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Principe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Pousada do Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Principe Paraty, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada do Principe staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pousada do Principe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was ground level, furthest from pool, very quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles mairi315967, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had a superior with a view of the garden trees 202. But it was small.”
 of 5 bubbles Joyce42, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“For a few nights it's adequate”
 of 5 bubbles superheroes56, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“book one overlooking the pool...”
 of 5 bubbles 215brendam, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the side seem to be renovated a bit, the rooms on the back of the property were definitely not.”
 of 5 bubbles MarceloAlemao, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay