We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

CabanaCopa Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
CabanaCopa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 221: English reviews
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You get what you pay for, and I suppose I did go for cheap, but it had a feeling of a orphanage. I know hostels tend to be this way anyway, but the organisation was off, breakfast was poor. I must say it was clean. After a certain hour you're no longer allowed in the common area, and the security... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Great building with lovely outdoor areas and newly built accommodations and shared bathrooms....could be fantastic if it weren't for the terrible staff and money grabbing managers. Upon arrival was told need to pay extra municipal tax (8% mentioned in email but was charged 20% and staff couldn't explain why!) also wanted R$20 to store our belongings securely while we waited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane H
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hostel with some friends and cannot fault the cleanliness. Our room for four guests was a good size and good location of you are wanting to stay in the Copacabana region in rio. The problem with this hostel was the unhelpful and Incompetent staff (on numerous occasions). We wanted to watch the football match that was ran... More 

Helpful?
Thank hilary1102
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I came home at 11pm at night to find they had packed my bags without my permission and shifted me rooms. They did this to accommodate another group that had booked and said they didn't ask for my permission as the internet was down. Then 2 days later they did exactly the same thing despite how angry I got at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelRiverland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

staff are rude, receptionists are rude. They treat you badly. I saw other guests being treated so badly too. Breakfast is not so good. Rooms are very small and you cannot belive so many beds are fitted in such a small room. I also saw a guest being kicked out just because he made some complaints. Theh don't give you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mayk J
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry if some of our staff was stressed during the olympics but we were indeed extremely busy. We never request anyone to leave, unless they break the rules like bringing someone to sleep that was not a guest. We make tax receipts to everyone and send to the e-mails to the ones... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend had reservations for Friday and saturday, and the check in wasn't allowed until 12:00pm, but we arrived in Rio at 6am, and wanted to leave our backpacks at the hostel so we could go watch the games at the Olympic park. Not only did they not let us leave our bags there, but they didn't even... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Luis T
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the visit. We are sorry but in case of arrivals before or after reception times we require to be advised in advance, and you are Brazilians and were in a security protected street so we never left you out in danger. Our rules have to be reinforced specially during the Olympic games when the city was in... More 

Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We were a group of 12 friends travelling Rio for 4 days, the weekend before the olympic games started. The hostel is located perfectly in a safe street and close to subway station. It is also good to find. The staff is very helpful and speaks proper english. The beds were okay and the rooms clean. We really enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Whabada
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review! We are glad you had a good time, you were a fun group for sure! :) We are upgrading the beds of all rooms, and soon the bigger and cheaper dorms will also have new spring mattresses. Safe travels and see you soon! CabanaCopa staff More 

Chernobyl, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I accidently paid for the same night/bed twice via credit card, making obvious mistake. I quickly contacted staff to cancel the resrvation and get my money back for one night. They did not respond AT ALL and at the spot they mentioned that they have no idea what I'm talking about. The place was really crowded, party hard hostel, with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lubie_placki
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for staying with us. We explained to you that there was never a double charge, and the mistake was from you credit card. We are sorry that the party crowd was too intense for you but it was the last weekend of the Olympics, and is expected in a backpackers hostel. Kind regards, CabanaCopa staff More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here 5 nights during the Olympics, so it's understandable that the place would be filled to capacity. The bed I stayed on was stuck between two bunk beds so every night people would climb on my bed to get to the top of the other bunks. Other than that the hostel was good enough for... More 

Helpful?
Thank sddeville99
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry that during the Olympic games we were busier than ever before, specially now with the new rooms. We are opening 2 big new common areas, one terrace and one basement bar and it will make hostel feel more spacious. We do try the best to make everyone comfortable and happy. Hope... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during olympics - the most dirty filthy place on the planet. Beds are covered with urine stains and the managements response when asked to change rooms was "you book a bed not a room" followed by "we are not responsible for what others do in a room" but they are responsible for making sure the room is cleanly.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hoda S
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the visit. We have cleaned and checked your rooms several times and our staff didn't find any urine stains or smell and your mattress was new! The only possible smell was from your room mates wet clothes. We recommend you book a private room, and we are sorry we couldn't change your room but during the olympics... More 

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (97)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Dormitory (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Bamboo Rio Hostel
#42 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
392 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#12 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
746 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#11 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
444 reviews
Copacabana
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#7 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
450 reviews
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#6 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Address: Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $17 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has a newly built wing which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles ShaneH201, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an aircon unit remote as they are not in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelRiverland, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“they dont give you blankets and sometimes it is a bit cold”
 of 5 bubbles 868maritzai, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the new building, they're basic rooms but have less people in.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeyHodge, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“They have private rooms available, which rival most hotels, extremely comfortable beds and huge bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles 654carlr, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay