We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Misti House

Booking.comUS$17*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$41*
US$17*
Great Deal
US$24*
US$24*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
El Misti House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

793 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Misti House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The hostel itself is amazing. The structure is very good and modern. It's great for the fact of the location, there is a bar, chilling area.. All the staff help us out with everything. We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful little house in Rio!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
El Misti H, Gerente de relações com clientes at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear John! We want to thank you so much for taking a little of your time to share with us the amazing experience you had at El Misti House! It means so much for our team, we appreciate it! Reviews like yours make us to work even harder everyday to guarantee our guests the best stay they could ask for....

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hostel a couple of nights, got upgraded to a 4 man dorm which was great but then moved after 1st night. Very lively hostel with free (very strong) caipirinhas. Lady with glasses at reception very nice. Good location. Unfortunately the hostel is dirty, the rooms and bathrooms are smelly. Our 2nd dorm was clearly not cleaned after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobel T
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some...

Watford
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I book El Misti House for four nights before my friends arrived in Rio. My plan was to spend four nights not doing much as I was by myself. However my plans quickly changed the other guests were so friendly and the staff so approachable that I decided to spend time in the common areas and the ended up out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rossyt
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Staff El Misti House

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Staff is very friendly and helpful. We were a group of 5 and they gave as the trf in for free from the airport and also helped us to organise the trf out. There's and open bar of caipirinhas (for certain time) which makes a great start of the evening ;) Rooms are a bit packed but still clean with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marisolgD1724TU
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your comments and compliments. We're glad you've spent a great time in our hostel! We keep on working in order to improve our services. Hope to see you soon! Staff El Misti House

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Misti hostel is not just a hostel, it really feels like a family house. The hostel is very clean, and the staff pays particular attention to this as you can see them changing linens and bed sheets everyday. The hostel has an great location as it is right in the heart of Copacabana , you can walk to the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Staff El Misti House

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Amazing location, I needed to make the most out of my little time in Rio, so I choose this hostel for its location, and I did not make a mistake. You can walk from there to everyplace you need to go. Appart from that, there will be a friendly staff that will answer you everything with a big smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John Paul G
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your comments and compliments. We're glad you've spent a great time in our hostel! We keep on working in order to improve our services. Hope to see you soon! Staff El Misti House

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 November 2016

When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly Bom Dia!. They quickly gave us a room, explained us everything and let us know that if we had any questions to feel free and ask. The room we stayed in had big lockers,. The beds were comfortable and had a thick blanket to keep you warm at night. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Staff El Misti House

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Wonderful location, close to metro stations, easy to get to main sites and attractions, almost next to the beach, just mins away. Staff are very helpful and so sweet when asked questions, really show that they want to help you with your stay in Rio. Hostel has events daily, which help to meet people and create an atmospherel. Events help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your comments and compliments. We're glad you've spent a great time in our hostel! We keep on working in order to improve our services. Hope to see you soon! Staff El Misti House

Reviewed 17 November 2016

Great service provided by the staff. I've booked 6 nights and they came to pick me up at the airport. The receptionist were friendly and spoke good english as well as other languages. Cozy and clean hostel. Easy to meet people in the common areas... Travellers from different countries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Staff El Misti House

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Well I ended up staying more than one week in this place. I kinda got trapped here. The good vibe, people and staff made my stayed amazing. Chill hostel where you can meet great people from countries that I didn't know existed haha. Loved it here and I will recommend it as if I could I'd come back to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti House, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Staff El Misti House

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (52)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#3 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
629 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
375 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#23 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#14 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
741 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#77 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
472 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an excellent location in Copacabana, on a very quiet, no-car street, just a few steps from a metro station and surrounded by varied stores, El Misti House is a great option in Rio de Janeiro if what you are looking for is low cost, comfort and getting to know people from all around the world. At the hostel you will find a well equipped kitchen, two living rooms, free Wi-Fi, as well as private and shared rooms with lockers and linen. This hostel also offers El Misti Experience**, a programme that provides free tours with one of the staff members, as well as free pick up service on arrival*, buffet breakfast and dinner service both at a very low cost. A relaxed atmosphere and a 24 hour trilingual staff willing to give you several tips on tours and exciting parties is what you will find in this hostel. Here you will meet other travellers like yourself and will have an unforgettable stay! El Misti Hostel offers you a free pick up upon your arrival in Rio de Janeiro from the airport to our hostel. Minimum stay 4 nights and one of these two conditions: For bookings of 1 to 3 people: The total booking value must be equal to or higher than R$250. For bookings of 4 to 6 people: The total booking value must be equal to or higher than R$500. In order to get the free transfer, passenger has to reserve with the hostel or our Booking Center at least, 48 hours in advance. Please note that in case of flight delays or cancellations, it is the passenger's responsibility to inform El Misti about the new time of arrival. In case the passenger has not informed sufficiently in advance to our staff about the delay , El Misti will not be responsible for the transfer charge. The passenger will be held responsible for the total amount of the transfer in. Schedule: This free transfer service is offered between 07.00am to 10.00pm, with the exception of 25/12, 31/12 and 01/01, days when we DO NOT OFFER pick up. The transfers are done every hour by van. Right to use the service is subject to time and space availability. The free transfer is not valid for groups. It is offered only for reservations of no more than 6 people. -Check in as from 01.00pm. Check out until 11.00am- ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Misti House

Address: Rua Silva Castro, 49, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $19 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your El Misti House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti House Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Misti House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Misti House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room with a big window allows for a great night breeze”
rebeccai860, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose Ipanema in Rio and NOT Copacabana”
MrLighthouse, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the rooms upstairs seemed to be nicer!”
duftheun, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise”
HusfromMumbai, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The room was basic with clean sheets and a small locker.”
J2392ONandrewb, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$17* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$24
Hotels.comUS$24
PricelineUS$41
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates