We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recommend this hotel. Personal is reallynice like Mariana at reception always smiling and available to answer questions we might have. The hotel is localized at almost the middle of copacabana beach. Rooms are clean but little bit small (the one I got) but it is not a big issue. Since I knew this hotel I am always booking it... More 

Helpful?
Thank jean-pierre F
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Jean-Pierre, Thanks a lot for staying with us here at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! It´s a pleasure to have you here! Hope see soon! Warm regards! More 

Hayama, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Place literally falling apart. Cheap and you get what you don't pay for. Scary elevator. Beach views is all this offers and you and the better ones are too pricey. Stay at the Hilton and have working ac.

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ken, Unfortunately I see that you did not like your stay here at the Tulip Inn,but would like to know which room you stayed and the period. We will double check and improve in what we need to. Although we are a 3 star hotel and not 5 star like Hilton, I do not think we fail to... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This hotel has the potential to be great but misses the mark in a couple of areas. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. We were in a suite on the top floor. The room has a great design, a good bed, and a huge balcony with sweeping views of Copacabana. The suite wasn't cheap, but I didn't think it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabondgirl
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear, Thanks a lot for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Your opinion is very important for our improvement and we will work on it. I really hope to see you again! Best Regards, More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I would like to give a special thanks to the staff at Copabanna, especially Jamilie Fontura for providing a stellar costumer service experience and attentive care throughout the course of my stay at the hotel. I had inadvertently left my debit card in the atm lobby. Jamillie was very kind in delivering my debit card. She has a great sanguine... More 

Helpful?
Thank bamikehjohnafrik
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Bamikehjohnafrik, First of all, thank you so much for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! It was a pleasure to have here and your special words were passed to Jamilie. We hope to see you soon, Warm Regards! More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Although there for the Olympics, I'm sure the property would be less hectic and hosting more locals as well as 'gringo'. As in the title, the location is great, just across the street from Copa Cabana beach, mind you this beach is approximately 5km long so the tulip is just about 1/3 between Fort Copa Cabana and the turn around... More 

Helpful?
Thank RWhatley
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Whatley, First of all, thanks a lot for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana to stay in Rio de Janeiro! The details you gave about your experience will help the next guests and hope they choose us as well. Hope see you soon here at Tulip Inn and also in our Branche restaurant ! Warm regards! More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The hotel was built as the Luxor in the 1930's and received some renovations when it became the Tulip Inn. The location is right across the street from Copacabana Beach and a short walk to public transportation, restaurants, banks and shopping. Although I was a single person in a double room, the room was quite small with barely enough room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thanks a lot for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana and for your comments about your experience here with us. Hope see you again! Best Regards More 

Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Location was excellent. Hotel staff was friendly. Restaurant served excellent food. Wifi was terrible. Tub and shower updates are a necessity. Cold showers 3 afternoons. Finally, took a bath so I didn't have to take another cold shower. The tubs had been painted and left me with paint chips on my skin. We never found the fitness center or the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Toni P
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Toni, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn RIo Copacabana! Hope you have time to come back and you will have a new experience. In case you have any further information, please let me know. Warm regards, More 

Petropolis, RJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Theoretically, a step below its brother Golden Tulip, close by. In reality, a slightly better experience. Rooms basic and unconfortable, but breakfast is quite good, with a view to the beach. I just do not like the chain and I try to avaoid as much as possible when traveling in Brazil. Overpriced (Rio's problem) and suffering from the usual arquitectural... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DFM66
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear DFM, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Hope you have time to come back and that you have opportunity to have a better experience. Warm regards, More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Apart from the fact that they returned my stuff, which was jewelry btw, the hotel is in a great location. The restaurant in not bad either. The rooms could use a little TLC, but they're also not bad. Thank you Patricia for finding my things!! You should give her a raise Tulip Inn!

Helpful?
Thank Salma O
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Salma, First of all, thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! We are so glad you had time to say how your experience was. Our hotel has a very nice location as you said and our staff is working to improve the service everyday. Hope see you again! Warm regards from Patricia and all the team! More 

Poland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. On the one hand: prime location, buffet style, tasty breakfasts, free beach towels but on the other: cramped interior, small rooms, tiny single lift, old furniture. We were fortunate to have a room with a side sea view and a balcony, those overlooking the inner courtyard are even smaller. Beware, some rooms are... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jaybee4133
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Jay, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Hope you have time to come back and have a better experience. If you need any special request in the future, let me know. Regards, Tulip Inn Team More 

609 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (121)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (30)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#79 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
888 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#12 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,682 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#67 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#23 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
665 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#68 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,265 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Branche Restaurant
Branche Restaurant
Cuisines: Brazilian, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After a period of time dedicated to the remodeling and investment of all services, rooms, and other areas of the hotel, the Hotel Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana is proud to offer one of the loveliest lodging options today in Rio de Janeiro. Our greatest asset is the privileged location on Atlântica Avenue across from Post 4, combined with our excellent event facilities and services. Our hotel is well equipped to serve guests on business as well as those on holiday, respecting the needs of each and offering excellent reference information during your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2554, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Luxor Copacabana Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $146 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Copacabana
Golden Tulip Hotel Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As above, make sure you have a chance to view the rooms to fit your comfort requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles RWhatley, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The neighborhood is busy at all hours, so choose an upper level room if noise bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles Q1589LMedwardb, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose between noise and views.”
 of 5 bubbles DFM66, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the renovated floors!”
 of 5 bubbles StudentenkussHD, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with hardwood floors instead of carpeted floors to avoid mouldy smells.”
 of 5 bubbles Deyuri, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay