We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,059 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Although there for the Olympics, I'm sure the property would be less hectic and hosting more locals as well as 'gringo'. As in the title, the location is great, just across the street from Copa Cabana beach, mind you this beach is approximately 5km long so the tulip is just about 1/3 between Fort Copa Cabana and the turn around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RWhatley
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Whatley, First of all, thanks a lot for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana to stay in Rio de Janeiro! The details you gave about your experience will help the next guests and hope they choose us as well. Hope see you soon here at Tulip Inn and also in our Branche restaurant ! Warm regards!

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The hotel was built as the Luxor in the 1930's and received some renovations when it became the Tulip Inn. The location is right across the street from Copacabana Beach and a short walk to public transportation, restaurants, banks and shopping. Although I was a single person in a double room, the room was quite small with barely enough room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edward B
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thanks a lot for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana and for your comments about your experience here with us. Hope see you again! Best Regards

Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Location was excellent. Hotel staff was friendly. Restaurant served excellent food. Wifi was terrible. Tub and shower updates are a necessity. Cold showers 3 afternoons. Finally, took a bath so I didn't have to take another cold shower. The tubs had been painted and left me with paint chips on my skin. We never found the fitness center or the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Toni P
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Toni, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn RIo Copacabana! Hope you have time to come back and you will have a new experience. In case you have any further information, please let me know. Warm regards,

Petropolis, RJ
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Theoretically, a step below its brother Golden Tulip, close by. In reality, a slightly better experience. Rooms basic and unconfortable, but breakfast is quite good, with a view to the beach. I just do not like the chain and I try to avaoid as much as possible when traveling in Brazil. Overpriced (Rio's problem) and suffering from the usual arquitectural...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DFM66
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear DFM, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Hope you have time to come back and that you have opportunity to have a better experience. Warm regards,

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Apart from the fact that they returned my stuff, which was jewelry btw, the hotel is in a great location. The restaurant in not bad either. The rooms could use a little TLC, but they're also not bad. Thank you Patricia for finding my things!! You should give her a raise Tulip Inn!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salma O
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Salma, First of all, thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! We are so glad you had time to say how your experience was. Our hotel has a very nice location as you said and our staff is working to improve the service everyday. Hope see you again! Warm regards from Patricia and all the team!

Poland
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. On the one hand: prime location, buffet style, tasty breakfasts, free beach towels but on the other: cramped interior, small rooms, tiny single lift, old furniture. We were fortunate to have a room with a side sea view and a balcony, those overlooking the inner courtyard are even smaller. Beware, some rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jaybee4133
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Jay, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Hope you have time to come back and have a better experience. If you need any special request in the future, let me know. Regards, Tulip Inn Team

Opotiki, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Superb location right on Copacabana Beach. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, quiet rooms and an excellent breakfast. Very secure. I was able to leave luggage there while I visited the Pantanal. Great value for money. Located next door to the JW Marriott, Copacabana with many excellent restaurants, cafes and bars within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Afghankiwi
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Afghankiwi, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Our location is really good and breakfast is excellent. Hope see you again soon. Regards, Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana Team.

Sansepolcro, Italy
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here to visit well Rio.........is located in the heart of Copacabana, a point from whom go everywhere to visit everything, the sights, the monuments, the shops........the reception's personnel is highly recommended, the restaurant amazing either for breakfast or for lunch/dinner.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefano T
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Stefano, Thanks a lot for you feedback about your stay! It´s very nice you had a good experience. Hope see you soon! Warm Regards!

Heidelberg
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Due to business I stayed in Rio and in this hotel. First of all: the friendliness of service is outstanding! I have only very rarely had friendlier service! But my first room was not really nice - super small (I was barely able to open up my suitcase fully) and in definite need of a renovation/repainting. I changed rooms after...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank StudentenkussHD
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear, Thanks a lot for your feedback about your stay here at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Hope see you again! Warm regards!

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The hotel's location is very good, right by Copacabana's beach. Unfortunately the rooms are small, with old fixtures and very bad internet connection. The corridors are carpeted and smell of mould. The elevators are small and crowded, and the stairways down are terrible! The hotel is going through a renovation, which will be good but for now just means lots...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deyuri
LeSeabra, Gerente de recepção at Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Deyuri, Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana! Our location is really perfect and have many places to visit around us. Sorry if your internet did not work well at this time, but we are working to improve it. Regarding the rooms we have remodeled, but we still have non-remodeled. Hope see you again!

621 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (378)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (30)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,748 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#89 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
939 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#55 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#15 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,785 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
713 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Branche Restaurant
Branche Restaurant
Cuisines: Brazilian, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After a period of time dedicated to the remodeling and investment of all services, rooms, and other areas of the hotel, the Hotel Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana is proud to offer one of the loveliest lodging options today in Rio de Janeiro. Our greatest asset is the privileged location on Atlântica Avenue across from Post 4, combined with our excellent event facilities and services. Our hotel is well equipped to serve guests on business as well as those on holiday, respecting the needs of each and offering excellent reference information during your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2554, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Luxor Copacabana Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $158 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Copacabana
Golden Tulip Hotel Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Northern Virginia
Northern Virginia

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for high front room overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsU6845MM, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Eddie outside doing tours and a taxi service is quite a great guy to show you around. ”
 of 5 bubbles ashfaaqg, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“one overlooking the beach would be much nicer but the rooms at the back were very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles gypsy039, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 6 or higher provide views of the beach without obstructions.”
 of 5 bubbles I4010CEdavids, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As above, make sure you have a chance to view the rooms to fit your comfort requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles RWhatley, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5