We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Debret

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Debret
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Debret
 Click to rate
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Reviewed 2 March 2017

You do not have to book the most expensive hotel on the Copacabana beach to get the beach experience. This hotel is close, and is not going to treat you poorly because you want to go to the public beach, rent your stuff and use public shower, before you leave the beach. Tourist travel from tours, from hotel or independent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepperjackm
Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The location is great and the rooms have great views to enjoy Copa. The rooms are nice and clean. But the hotel in itself is quite old and not very well maintained. The humidity smell is quite strong around the reception, the elevators kept on breaking down and the breakfast was not that good and badly organised. It is decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maj S
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I was in Copacabana beach for 4 days, it was my third time there and every time I go back I like it more, the sand, the ocean, the vendors and for sure a good Caipirinha laying on the sand is a must. I stayed at Debret Hotel, good location, good breakfast, the rooms are average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tours2017
Tasmania
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We last stayed at the DeBret 8 years ago and this time was the third stay there. First up things had changed a fair bit and not for the better. The DeBret now appears to be more a low end domestic hotel rather than a mid-range international hotel. It now seems very tired and rundown lacking the vibrancy of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonrock1962
Florianopolis, SC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The hotel is not fancy at all. The location is just amazing, you can walk between Copacabana and Ipanema beach withing 15 minutes. The hotel has great cost x benefit actually. The breakfast was really good and the view was amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacksongervasiopires
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I arrived at the hotel and found that my reservation had been cancelled. They said my credit card declined my charge. They lied. My bank said they never tried to make the charge. They said they emailed me. They lied again. No such email. Two other couples were in the lobby with the same problem. We were all quoted good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
marketing350, Marketing at Hotel Debret, responded to this review

Hello, unfortunately we do not know what could have happened, as usual we made the prepayment to confirm the reservation, and for some reason the card was declined, we apologize for the incident and look forward to your soon return to our hotel, Your opinion, because your evaluation is of great importance to us!

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Stayed 5 nights with a friend. The location was perfect; right in front of Copacabana posto 5 and we felt completely safe around the hotel. Breakfast room is the amazing. It's in 12th floor and you´ll see the whole Copacabana beach from there. The breakfast itself was also good. The rooms were clean and in a good condition. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiia J
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 30 January 2016

I'm going to start with the location, it's great. The hotel is located across the street from Copacabana beach, which is fantastic. I haven't stayed in many hotels in Brazil, therefore I'm not sure what the standard is, but I don't believe, I would go back to this hotel. Except the location and affordability, there is nothing to brag about....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eve09092014
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Pros Good Location Cheap Cons Air Con doesn't work ;30 degree sleeps No Customer Service; Security tried to fix our air con and then just walked out without saying a word Place Stinks, Like Seriously Advice: If you are looking to save money go to a nice hostel. This was barely a hotel. Not even angry about the hotel just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gab S
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is really grungy. There are nasty, smelly rugs in the hallway and mold on the ceilings. The free WiFi is non-existent and customer service was mediocre at best. The continental breakfast was the best part and that wasn't even good. I like my eggs in many different ways but not green like Hotel Debret style. I will never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marisa D

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (320)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Quarto Deluxe (39)
Viewed
Quarto Standard Duplo (21)
Viewed
Quarto Standard Triplo (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Suíte Master (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#103 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
727 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#92 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
946 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Rio Lancaster
Hotel Rio Lancaster
#124 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#37 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,079 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#34 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
613 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#80 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasileirinho Copacabana
Brasileirinho Copacabana
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Debret

Address: Avenida Atlantica 3564, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $102 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Debret 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Debret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debret Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Debret Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Debret staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Debret staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best rooms are junior suites, with Ocean View”
tours2017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As higher you stay as better you sleep!”
Jacksongervasiopires, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid these thieves despite its location. The hotel is poor and the service is criminal.”
Y1695BWtomb, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try a sea-view room upgrade. Who knows, you may get it quite cheap as you check-in. Worked for me already!”
PedroHagel, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter. Ask for a room with a view of the beach.”
LondonGlobetrotter59, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5