We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Rio de Janeiro

Save
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (10)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good32%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible0%
18 Aug 2016
“would love to stay there again”
25 Jul 2016
“Weekend stay in Rio”
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (40)Write a Review
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
15
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
15
5
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I really enjoyed staying with Elisa and Sid. I came to Rio for 2 weeks and had my own bathroom, because nobody else was there at that time. It was located next to Lapa and just 10 minutes to the metro station and Centro. They...More

1  Thank Marie-Theres L
Response from GlobalRioDeJaneiro, Proprietário at Global Rio de JaneiroResponded 4 days ago

Dear Marie, It was a grat pleasure to have you around. Miss you so much. Take care, Elisa

Reviewed 26 July 2016

Awesome place to stay, host is very welcoming and made me feel like home. Excellent location, right beside Lapa. Would definitely go there again! Gave me good tips on how to get around and being a traveller herself, interesting discussions!

1  Thank Sara S
Response from GlobalRioDeJaneiro, Proprietário at Global Rio de JaneiroResponded 4 days ago

Its such a lucky to meet people like you. Best regards, Elisa

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in February during carnival. It was by far the cheapest place we could find and is excellently located to the bars and clubs of Lapa. The hostel is located a 5 minute walk up a very steep hill just...More

Thank VickyCaldow
Response from Elisa A, Manager at Global Rio de JaneiroResponded 10 September 2017

Hello, I'd like to remind you that it was Carnival Time, you know...people keep parting around most of the time, hottest time of the year...NOT our fault at all, Im afraid. Nobody has complained about the room in 6 years of hosting. Take care.

Reviewed 7 October 2015

The best thing about this hostel is its hospitality, which makes you feel like at home. I stayed two nights at this hostel for a short visit to Rio. I booked a single room and was given a domitary for myself only. My only complaint...More

Thank xijiayu
Reviewed 21 August 2015

i and My mum and daugter had loveley time at global the place was cleam the located was super 10 min bar restaurant nightclubs walking distance centro next famous steps in rio . 2 minutos lapa Santa Tereza located super .Elisa and Sid was very...More

1  Thank 236ange
Response from GlobalRioDeJaneiro, Proprietário at Global Rio de JaneiroResponded 4 days ago

We love to host families and you are all special to us. Best regards, Elisa and Sid

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
US$26 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
US$26 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (10)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Nearby
Santa Teresa
Santa Teresa is a bohemian enclave hosting many local
artists’ studios. The narrow, winding streets of this
neighbourhood were revitalised years ago, and visitors
can now stroll through this area to view magnificent
mansions dating back to the late 19th and early 20th
century. A highlight not miss: Museu Chacará do Céu, a
former mansion turned museum which houses works by
prominent Brazilian modern artists.
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Global Rio de Janeiro staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"ROOM AT THE BACK IS QUIETER Make sure you get to use public transport in Rio its efficient and cheap."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing