We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Praca da Arvore Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Praca da Arvore Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hostel with a great atmosphere and a lovely breakfast buffet in the morning. Located about ten minutes from the train station which gets you to most places. Staff are friendly and helpful even when you're checking out at 5 am to get to your next destination. The beds were comfortable and the lockers were huge which is always good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NIKUL P
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

When I travel to Sao Paulo, I always stay at the Praca da Arvore Hostel. It is well-located budget hostel/pousada in Sao Paulo, being close to several restaurants and within walking distance to the Shopping Mall at the Metro Santa Cruz. There are several shops and bars around the Praca da Arvore metro station where you can get just about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L M
Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Nice place to stay in São Paulo. The service is good, the hosters and rooms, too. To get to the closest subway station is about 10 or 15 minutes. There's internet, fridge , lockable cabinet, towels, nice bathrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbarbarahh
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the hostel is very clean with spacious rooms! Our room had a full length locker for every bed that they give you a key for so your belongings are always safe! The breakfast is probably the best we've had in South America so far with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank slw222
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your feedback. Is always important for us to understand our guests' expectations. Acrualy, we strive to have the breakfast as a differential from others Hostels. We hope your return soon for staying with us. Best regards.

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a great place to stay in Sao Paulo, both if you are going on business or on vacation. The location is great as it is very close to the subway station (Praça da Árvore subway station) and in Sao Paulo if you are close to the subway station, you can go anywhere!! There are different kinds of rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carolinadias
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Carolina, Hope to see you again soon!

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I had already booked my room for this hostel when I was still in Germany and was positively surprised by the warm welcome I enjoyed. It is a small hostel in central Sao Paulo with a family type of flair and very friendly staff. In fact the people working here are always ready to help out, even helping me to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Benjamin M
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Benjamim, hope to see you again on your next visit to Brazil!

Fuerth, Germany
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I allready stayed two times at the Praca da Arvore Hostel.The first time I found friendly staff to me, who helped me very much on my first trip to Brazil, which I took alone. The second time I felt like coming home to family. From the Maid up to the manager were all very nice to me. I´m looking forward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich M
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Ulrich! Looking foward to see you next time!

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I've been around to many places in my life, but never have I experienced such a ridiculous thing as what happened at the Praca da Arvore Hostel. I had been there previously at one occasion without trouble. The second time though this is what happened: On the third day of my staying I found that one of my Cokes in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Boris N
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Boris, Thank you for your feedback. Please know that the Hostel has new manager and staff, if you give us a chance we'll do our best to change your image about our Hostel and Country. Thanks again!

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Warm people and great staff!!. Quite cheap also. The only thing is that is not very close to the metro station so you have to walk quite a bit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravager
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, hope to see you again soon!

Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I won't recommend this HI hostel to anyone who visits Sao Paulo. Is far from the center of the city. Worst thing is the hotel is located an inclined road so every morning you should climb up the street and then walk four or five blocks to reach the metro station (they say its near bur it's not). You know,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank killthepixelnow
Hostel266, Gerente at Praca da Arvore Hostel, responded to this review

Hello dear, I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience with us. Please know that the Hostel now has a new manager and staff, if you have the opportunity to come back to São Paulo we'll be glad to overcome your expectations and erase this bad image you have from our Hostel. Thank you!

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#17 of 535 in Sao Paulo
373 reviews
Cafe Hostel
#15 of 535 in Sao Paulo
116 reviews
Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
#27 of 535 in Sao Paulo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aki Hostel
#12 of 535 in Sao Paulo
190 reviews
Bela Vista
Pamplona Hostel
Pamplona Hostel
#64 of 535 in Sao Paulo
126 reviews
Jardins
Pousada & Hostel Sao Paulo - Unidade 1 - Jardins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Praca da Árvore Hostel is the first hostel in the city, with more than fifteen years old. Clean, safe, quiet and great value Hostel in São Paulo. Close the Praca da Arvore Subway station, Ibirapuera Park, Imigrantes Convention Center, Hospital São Paulo, the Zoo and the way to the beaches. The hostel offers a high standard of accommodation and service in the south area of São Paulo.We are a very internationally friendly hostel and if you are not familiar with the city we will do everything we can to help you get the most out of your visit. We are proud to be an affordable and great value hostel with the first and best breakfast in town, individual lockers, dormitories ensuite and couple rooms, kitchen, internet and wi-fi for free, no curfew, 24h hot water, bed linen included in the rate, and smiles and love... We look forward to welcoming you and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Praca da Arvore Hostel

Address: Rua Page 266 | Chacara Inglesa, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05274-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Price Range: $17 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Praca da Arvore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praca Da Arvore Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Praca da Arvore Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Praca da Arvore Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the 10 bed female dorm on the first floor with ensuite and it was very spacious with full length lockers.”
 of 5 bubbles slw222, 15 Feb 2014 | Read review
“If the budget is short, a shared room either 4 or more is a good option”
 of 5 bubbles 770benjaminm, 4 Sep 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay