We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Poblado Kimal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Poblado Kimal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Poblado Kimal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel with individual huts which are very nice and cosy. Very wide selection of foods in the breakfast buffet and you get a welcome drink and a discount of 10% if you're in the mood for a relaxing massage. But the staff isn't really there for you, they seem to really don't care. Except for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle1309
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at this very quaint hotel in San Pedro which we found to be rustic and charming and certainly blended into the environment. It was clean, spacious for a hotel in that area and quite comfortable.The hotel staff are to be commended for their eagerness to please their guests and were genuinely happy to be of service. Mention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel shares the structure of Hotel Kimal, just across the street. The rooms are confortable and the restaurant is good. A little bit overpriced as all other hotels and restaurants in San Pedro. Breakfast is very complete, but if you order it in a box (very common since many daytrips starts early in the morning), it gets real poor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dvts2016
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments dvts2016. I´m glad you enjoyed the rooms and restaurant. I would like to respond briefly to your complaints. The noise you mention would be on account of your stay being over the period of Independance Day celebrations because the whole town is subjected to loud music till the early hours which is clearly not something the...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Nothing negative to report about this hotel. Great location in the heart of (really small) San Pedro... but not on the main street so more quiet. Super clean, super staff. Looooved the individual huts, with a cute little balcony. The included breakfast is pretty solid, not just bread, jam, butter and juice like some other places. It's definitely an option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sleclerc
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Excellent position just off the foot of the shopping / tourist street. Comfortable rooms with a nice atmosphere and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Has a swimming pool and spa, outdoor areas for relaxation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hb02
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 24 July 2016

You will stay in a hut with enough space for twin beds or a double bed with a simple but clean and functional bathroom. You will want to take a shower after the tours and visiting different sites in the Atacama desert. The huts made of sun dried mud bricks, hay and wood resemble a small village and will give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taotenui
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff were extremely personable and helpful, answered all our questions and gave us suggestions where necessary. We had our own car so did not book and tours but they assisted us with directions and suggestions. The rooms are well appointed and warm. The restaurant was fantastic, service and food quality both of a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah19192014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The hotel had a resort feeling. Each room was in a detached building set in a simple garden and connected to reception and the other rooms by a path made of timber planks. The room was comfortable with the usual amenities except for TV which may have seemed out of place in a frontier town where the single story buildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernest H
Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

My brother and I ( both over 70) splurged on Kimal's private tours of the Valley of the Moon, Night Star-Gazing Walk and all day tour of the Salar, Atacama Settlements, and the Petroglyphs. Jiame was our driver/guide and we enjoyed the entire experience. He helped us understand what we were seeing and experiencing. Seeing Saturn in the constellation of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will G
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We stayed in the individual huts at this resort and were granted access to both areas on either side of the street. In late November, we spent the first two nights in one hut, and then another two nights in a different hut. Upon arrival, we were given vouchers for complimentary pisco sours and discounts to the hotel’s spa offerings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.3 km away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
566 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
308 reviews
0.6 km away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#7 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
506 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
643 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $259 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Poblado Kimal staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Poblado Kimal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms have same shape”
 of 5 bubbles Munhoz_Gil, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid at all cost if you have a family or the management would sense you have money”
 of 5 bubbles smallmouse, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I enjoyed room #41”
 of 5 bubbles monicar895, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quite equivalent. Unfortunately all of them will be reached by the noise coming from the street bars and restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles dvts2016, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the back south side of the hotel will avoid you hearing the sound of other guest dragging their trolley suitcases.”
 of 5 bubbles Taotenui, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5