We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Birmingham

Expedia.comUS$56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 Birmingham
 Click to rate
Pembine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Wonderful motel….NOT! You do not want to stay in this dump. I get there at three in the afternoon; the discourteous girl at the front desk says they are shorthanded, took my reservation and told me to return in an hour; I waited, returned; she was beyond rude, said she had no rooms- I reminded her of my reservation, she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berman12
New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2017

The management and staff of the Motel 6 on Vulcan Road in Birmingham, AL are the most unprofessional, disrespectful and classless group of individuals I have ever encountered. Not only do they not clean their guest rooms daily, when asked for any type of assistance (i.e. clean towels or toilet paper), you are met with rude staff and incompetent management....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VertNellie
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Nellie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is important for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect and hospitality. The customer service issues you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less than satisfying service during your visit. We...

Santiago do Cacem, Portugal
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I stopped here for just one night. Great staff, the rooms were ok, you have to pay for wifi, As told by other reviewers you have great convenience and price. It doesn't have breakfast but i rather go search for it nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Route66por
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Route 66, We appreciate you recognizing our excellent service, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels.

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Came to Birmingham for a quick business trip. Stopped here for convenience and price. The rooms are nice, nothing fancy but nice and remodeled. Plus, you can't beat the price. The only downfall is no free-wifi; you have to pay for it. It's only $3, so it's not a deal breaker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randolph210
Hueytown, Alabama
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

For the price and location it's unbeatable. The rooms are modern and always clean. We had one sketchy incident one time with another guest knocking at our door, but the manager took care of us and gave us a free stay for the trouble. It doesn't have breakfast, but there are plenty of places nearby to eat. I would say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
Ironton, Missouri
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is my first stay in any Motel 6. Only thing I like was for fake hardwood floors, i.e cleanness of floor. You can buy whole furniture for the room for less than $50. Sink has cracks in it. I don't know Motel 6 franchise inspects there hotels for compliance etc. Changing TV channels with long pauses makes you turn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimg25012
Cortland, New York
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This motel was clean and comfortable. The price was right! Staff was very accommodating to our change of plans. The only complaint I have is the lack of amenities....this place went to the extreme of charging us for sub-standard wi-fi! No shampoo or lotion, hair dryer had to be requested at the office. No continental breakfast provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Russellville, Alabama
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hotel is on a backroad- hard to find. The office is on the side of the building facing the road. You have to park and walk to the office (not a good idea in cold or wet weather). The checkin was ok. The room was ok. No phone, no alarm clock, no fridg/microwave, soap but nothing else. The TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryGCarpenter
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Barry, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you describe in finding our location. Please know the issue you experienced is an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. The service concerns you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

After tracking for 7 hours to see a doctor after having back surgery, this is not the hotel. The room was bee uncomfortable. I only had a wooden chair to sit in. I had to alternate from bed to chair a lot. So upon waking I am hurting real bad. I am glad I remembered my shampoo and conditioner. They...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda W
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Great location, friendly staff, clean room. Pretty basic decor, bordering on industrial. No elevator to second floor. Excellent basic accommodations. Ample parking. Close to restaurants. Easy access to interstate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cecilt530

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Other (40)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#44 of 79 in Birmingham
93 reviews
1.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#56 of 79 in Birmingham
419 reviews
1.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Birmingham is conveniently located off Interstate 65. Birmingham Zoo, Botanical Gardens, and Alabama State Fairgrounds are within 6 miles. We offer a pet friendly environment and WiFi available in all modern guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Birmingham

Address: 151 Vulcan Rd, Birmingham, AL 35209-4701
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Motel Six Birmingham
Birmingham Motel 6
Birmingham Motel Six
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be great...as long as it is at ANOTHER HOTEL!”
VertNellie, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As last resort”
mimg25012, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can do better- stay some place else.”
BarryGCarpenter, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you are downstairs, you will hear footsteps above and cars arriving and leaving.”
  • king bed
travelwriter52, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Great handicapp rooms”
KimG775, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$61
Booking.comUS$56
Orbitz.comUS$56
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates