We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Silverton, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked two nights at the beginning of our vacation in the south and liked the room so much we booked two more nights at the end. The first time we did hear some music from the nearby tavern, but they stopped playing fairly early and it was not a problem for us. This second time we were on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

That is great...we loved having you the first and second time and cannot wait until next year! We are so glad your vacation to the south was a good one, as we certainly appreciate being part of the "Southern Hospitality"! Thank you for taking the time to write such a new review! Have a great day! Renee

Decatur, Georgia
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Saturday night April 12, 2014 in Room 808. We arrived back in out room at 10 pm or so after dinner. The very loud noise from the neighboring bar was unbelievable. We were unable to sleep for several hours - but most disappointing was the fact the hotel staff must be well aware...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experience with us here at The Hotel Highland was not a pleasant one and can only apologize for our neighbors. We are aware of all the bars in our area as this is the Entertainment District, however, we normally never have an issue with the 8th floor having a noise issue, so again our...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff was mostly friendly, the room was very clean. That's the best I can stay about this place. I found the customer service people at the front desk to be very friendly and helpful. This hotel was perfect for me, and anyone else who's low-key and likes to travel efficiently. Good price, no frills, excellent location. Yes, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William m
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you William M for writing such a nice review of our hotel, as not only do I appreciate your kind comments, but so does our team members! I must laugh, as the Chief Engineer is in the process of painting all the baseboards, as he does that several times a year due to the high volume of traffic through...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I would like to say that I really enjoyed my recent stay at Hotel Highland. The staff was excellent, the rooms where nice an clean, the breakfast was great and I would recommend this hotel to anyone just a great hotel. Wait a min I also want to let you guys know that the Valet was super also front door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much taking the time to give our hotel such an awesome review! Our team members will be thrilled to here about your experience! We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Thank you again and have a fabulous day! Renee :)

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Room was a bit cramped and the noise level was a bit higher than I would have liked. Overall a nice place to stay and convenient to local attractions/business. Parking was a bit difficult, as you have to either pay for valet or park on the street...just make sure you are up before 8:00am and put money in the meter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you Tony P for sharing your experience here at The Hotel Highland. We certainly appreciate your time and efforts in letting us know about your stay! Parking can be a bit tricky, as with any downtown hotel, should you not valet park.....but there is the public deck behind the hotel or the street parking. Those meter-maids will get you...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I just returned home after having a nice weekend getaway in Birmingham. We were in room 602, which has a great view of the funky 5 Points area. This is the second time I've stayed here. The first time was during the week on a business trip. I like this hotel, but I could see why some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellover3868
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much taking the time to tell us about your experience here at The Hotel Highland! I must agree with our cable, as it is an on-going battle and must say that is our only choice for the service! One day they will get it correct! I certainly appreciate your comments and suggestions though. It does take some...

Athens, GA
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hotel Highland, although a little older, was very nice. Our suite was very large and had a great view of the Vulcan statue in Birmingham. Everything was clean and the staff were as nice as they could be. We were there with our dog and they were very pet-friendly. Our primary complaint was the late-night noise from the five-points district...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappytoBhere
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay here at The Hotel Highland!! I do so apologize for the noise and the surrounding area and have cc'd not only the Pres of the area Association but also the Mayor' s office, so that they too could see your comments! I do so appreciate your...

Atlanta
Reviewed 17 March 2014

When we arrived at Hotel Highland we were warmly greeted by the valet guy. Super nice, offered to help with our bags, said he was the valet but happy to help any way we needed. At check-in, a very nice lady with short blonde hair greeted us. She gave us all of the information we needed on breakfast, ice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandBAtlanta
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at The Hotel Highland! I am glad that the first half of your stay was a good one but do so apologize for everyone else being annoyed with you! I can assure you that we will be having several converations with the employees mentioned, as this is...

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I haven't even checked out yet, but felt compelled to post about this unfortunate experience- its rare that you meet a person that is so rude it immediately makes you say "I will never stay at this hotel again", but it happened here this morning. First time at this hotel- in town to see a concert last nite with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeeFace
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much for bringing this behavior of our team member(s) to my attention, as this is surely NOT the service standard we provide to our guests......I am just ashamed and cannot apologize enough for your having to not only witness it but have to tell me about it. I can assure you we will be having a serious...

Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stay at this hotel every year for a media-associates' gathering. Everyone, from the valet parking attendant to the front desk clerk to the bartender in their cozy bar, was more than accommodating. This place is the epitome of Southern hospitality and friendliness! I always feel as if I'm visiting friends when I stay here. If you've never been to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review

Thank so much Theresa L for taking the time to write such a fabulous review! We certainly appreciate your sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again!! Also, the staff and team members will be so very pleased to hear your wonderful comments....so thank you again! Have a great day! Renee

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
2.1 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.9 km away
No photo provided
1.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $196 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
10 months ago
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
over a year ago
Bowling Green KY
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eight floor is supposedly haunted”
 of 5 bubbles YowSusan, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Prosediva, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All wifi sucks”
 of 5 bubbles usndonahue, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“great view”
 of 5 bubbles makme6032016, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room off the main street.”
  • Peeling picture frame in bathroom.
  • Air vent over the bed.
  • Shower/bathtub
 of 5 bubbles Lollywc, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5