We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waterfront Inn

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Waterfront Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Start your review of Waterfront Inn
 Click to rate
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 22 May 2013

we stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing!

1Thank anni t
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed in the Family room which is very spacious and has a little terrace where you can sit out and enjoy the sun. The hotel is very different from the modern ones we had been staying in, the furniture is all old and the building is a typical Naxi style house. The hotel arranged transport for us from the...

1Thank SurreyMasha
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The hotel was in a beautiful old building, with wonderful rooms. I loved the heated mattresses and our room had fantastic furniture. The staff was so incredibly friendly and spoke English exceptionally well. We came to Lijiang from hiking Tiger Leaping Gorge and stayed for one night. When my husband became very ill...

1Thank tkl112
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We arrived at 2am after a disastrous flight with China Eastern (lost our luggage, missed our connection, completely unhelpful.... avoid them at all cost!) The hotel staff were waiting for us and helped us with our bags in the dark. It was our first hotel on our trip and after our flight we felt we had walked into an oasis...

3Thank jenell
Shenzhen, China
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing! Location wise, it can't be better than that if you don't...

6Thank helen z
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It was a great surprise to us when we passed by the tea's Lion Hill property while wondering around at the peak area. From its location we guessed the view out there should be not bad. When we walked in, it turned out to be really wonderful! This made me decide to move in the next day and took one...

3Thank Patrick B
Kunming, China
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Can't really recommend this place. They stuffed up our booking, the rooms downstairs are noisy, and the breakfast the worst we had in China. Poor value, compared to places nearby which looked better, and way cheaper.

2Thank mark and sue h
thetea, Management at Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

We already reported problems this review to TripAdvisor and hope the person could provide evidence he or she actually stayed in our hotel. Due to our small size, we basically know every guest in person. We never had any guests remotely close to this "mark and sue h" with such vague claims. This person also wrote a bad review on...

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights April 2012. I should have stayed for 7 but I had to change hotels as I found the walk up the hill and especially the steps to hard after recent surgery. The owner Kevin and his manager Jenny were so kind and understood the problems. Kevin even arranged for his driver to...

2Thank bheh1314
Reviewed 12 April 2012

As a family of 5, with 3 boys in their early twenties, this ticked all the boxes. We stayed on Lion Hill, in attractive spacious suites arranged in a courtyard style, overlooking the old town and mountains in the distance. Kevin the owner speaks excellent English and was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, helping us plan our...

Thank AnneFromTwick
Beijing, China
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is our second time back to this lovely place. Last time was in 2010 summer and we were with parents staying at the Waterfront property, and we enjoyed the time there. We were told by many people that Spring would be even better season with beautiful flowers everywhere and few tourist crowds in the old town than in summer....

Thank susany508

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (85)
Room/Suite (32)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Bathroom (5)
View from Room (2)
Dining (3)
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
4.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 927 in Lijiang
216 reviews
0.7 km away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
5.8 km away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 927 in Lijiang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,522 in Lijiang
562 reviews
5.7 km away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 927 in Lijiang
884 reviews
1.4 km away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Address: No.101 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Dayan Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Price Range: $28 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Boutique Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterfront Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Waterfront Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
annit495, 21 May 2013 | Read review
“They all have a view of the old town I think but the upstairs ones have a slightly better view. I think all the rooms are good.”
jenell, 1 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
markandsueh_12, 8 May 2012 | Read review
“If you can choose one of the suites for the amazing views.”
bheh1314, 23 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Low season is great time to travel to Lijiang, and try to avoid summer when tourist traffic is high and more rains”
allen_kth, 30 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
US$35* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates