We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Dona Esther

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostal Dona Esther
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dona Esther is a reasonably priced boutique hotel on three floors with a recommended restaurant. There is also a nice lounge with an extensive library. From here, you are within easy walking distance of most tourist sites, including the Plaza de Ponchos with its handicraft market. Service is friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We paid $63 for two per night for 5 nights. Expected much more for this price. Staff were friendly & helpful. So disappointed with the breakfast. No cereal. Minimum rationing of scrambled or fried eggs or crepe with sliver of chocolate or marmalade. Asked for bacon to fill out the breakfast. Could hardly eat it as it was like leather,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robrev16
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Comparing prices you shouldn't have been surprised about the price, we did not promise you anything you didn't expect. Not sure what though, a Jacuzzi maybe? Breakfast is a perfect breakfast, I really don't understand people who keep whining about breakfast, you have a choice between 4 different breakfasts included in the price and yes, there is also cereal, but...

london, ont.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Dona Esther in Otavalo. The hotel is smack in the middle of town and a block away from the beautiful city centre square. The rooms are clean and simply furnished and the bar/ restaurant located on the main floor were an added bonus. The food is good and the beer and wine are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 564lulu
Beernem, Belgium
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed here some days ago and we were really pleased about service and kindness of personnel! Rooms are quite spacious just with all you need for a few-days stay. Close to the markets and points of interest. Big advantage is the restaurant in the hostel: good quality and honest food at very reasonable prices. Nice breakfast inside or just outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudolfMarcellina
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Not only was the location ideal to walk around Otavalo but the room was quaint with fabulous wooden doors and the garden area was a great place to relax. Comfortable bed and good security. It's a couple blocks to the main square and a short walk to both the poncho market and the animal market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinaWelch
Pueblo
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We loved this hotel! It is so centrally located and charming. It is an easy walk, half a block, to the main square. About 5 blocks to the artisan market. Rooms all have doors and windows into a central courtyard and have great, old fashioned heavy metal keys. Noise is a slight factor, as you can hear noises going on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn H
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We went to spend a week in Otavalo and someone we know well recommended we stay here. I have never stayed in a Hostal and should this be typical I will use them more often. Rooms were basic but complete and clean. The owners, a Dutch couple, were on site and spoke 3 languages. The best part was an outstanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wwileyb
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Our room was comfortable, attractive and surrounded by a courtyard The Hostal is centrally located, yet quiet The staff was friendly and very helpful They have an excellent restaurant and a nice library and sitting room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SailorKarl
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed in a number of hotels in Ecuador and got an idea of what are standard amenities: free coffee/tea, filtered water, free breakfast, wifi. Dona Esther was missing the coffee/tea and free breakfast, which meant that the hotel is expensive for what you get. The grounds are very pretty, but the rooms are definitely lacking- the bathroom looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yay4jenn
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Like said in an earlier response, breakfast is now included in the price, and you can have a choice of various breakfasts (I don't think that's among the standard amenities in Ecuador, so maybe we have a chance to stand out here). About a bathroom......I personally have no idea how a mental institution bathroom looks like...we usually hear more about...

atlanta
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Clean B&B rooms that open to an open courtyard. Rooms are somewhat traditionally decorated and are charming (quality is more like a B&B then a western hotel). Noise from the road would waft into the rooms in the morning but I found it charming to hear the hustle and bustle of this town. Water is potable. Management is honest- when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atlantaaunt

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#6 of 14 in Otavalo
99 reviews
3.9 km away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
203 reviews
31.4 km away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#4 of 25 in Otavalo
121 reviews
9.1 km away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 25 in Otavalo
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Price Range: $74 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Dona Esther staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Dona Esther staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring ear plugs for a great night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles bronwynh386, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all about equal.”
 of 5 bubbles wwileyb, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps a room higher up woud help with the noise, but they all face the loud courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles kari562625, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“this place is not for light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles Andeangirl, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Interior rooms may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GarryandMo, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay