We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,230: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for a week recently for my 50th birthday. We stayed in both a garden and luxury overwater bungalow. The overwater was absolutely amazing. The garden bungalow was great as well and if you don't like the overwater rates, then the garden rooms are still fantastic. The water clarity is superb and the snorkelling was great. An easy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank willtravel44
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour dear "Willtravel44" Probably a little late, but let me wish you anyway an Happy Birthday". 50th years is a great milestone, and we are so happy you came to celebrate this event here in Sofitel Moorea. Thank you also to have posted such great review, we love to read that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. We...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My wife and I just returned from our fabulous trip to Tahiti in November. Hotel Sofitel was our last stop, and it did not disappoint. We had a great time on the beach, snorkeling, and taking walks on the property. The food was fantastic also! However, my favorite place we stayed was still the Hotel Kia Ora on Rangiroa. This...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David C
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour dear "David C" Thank you so much to have taken the time to write and post your review. We love to hear directly from our guest. Satisfaction and experience level is #1 goal for us, and to see that you are scoring us a perfect 5/5 make us feel really proud of the work done, and all because of...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Overall the hotel looks very nice and clean. But when we arrived there for dinner, the lady at the reception didnt "want" to speak english, even though we realised that she could. So we had to try to talk to her in french. She was quiet unfriendly for such a hotel. The decoration of the lobby in September was terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheebashoe
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour dear "sheebashoe" Thank you very much for your complete and detailed review. Direct costumer feedback is the best way for us to really get a good and real feel on our guest's satisfaction. I do incline when it comes to communication in english, we are not always the best. Some of our staff members are quiet fluent and willing,...

Gent, Belgium
Reviewed 13 December 2012

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaatjeGent
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I spent four glorious days at the Sofitel Moorea, and had a wonderful time! Booking through Pacific For Less, we flew from Los Angeles to Tahiti on Air Tahiti Nui, and connected to Air Tahiti. It’s important to note that these are totally different airlines, and you have to claim your luggage in Tahiti and check it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rktmaan
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear "Rktmaan" Bonjour, We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed yoru stay with us in Moorea. I would agree with you that Airlines' policies in regards of luggage can be tricky from one company to another, but we are glad to see that you managed just fine. And you seem particulary satisfied with your travel agent. Therefore you...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had an amazing time at the Sofitel Moorea. Our Overwater Bungalow was everything we hoped it was going to be and the snorkelling was the best we have ever seen. We had the half board package (breakfast and dinner included) and the food was always exceptional. Staff were wonderful to us and our daughter. No complaints!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SweetC24
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour Dear "SweetC24" Thank you so much for your kind words, and for posting your review. Direct costumer feedback is the greatest way for us to realize what we do best (and what we don't), therefore when I have the chance to read a review such as yours, so I know we did our job right. We are so glad...

Cooquitlam
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Overall a fantastic stay and would recommend this resort. Only disappointing issue was we ordered a private dinner to be served on our deck. The staff set up the table excellent but the service went down from there.....it was basically room service for a lot more money. it was supposed to be a special meal and it was essentially the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrthomson
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour dear "jrthomson" First, let me wish you (maybe a little late) an happy anniversary I feel very disappointed about ourselves when I read your review. 25th anniversary is a great miles stone for a couple and it derserves to be celebrated accordingly. To see that we did not deliver what was promised for you anniversary night is very disappointing...

Tinsukia, Assam, India
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Hi. Softiel Moorea was the third stop in the week long trip of French Polynesia. Firstly, the greeting at the reception was warm but hasty due to the number of people checking in.(not like the memorable welcome we got when we checked In at sofitel motu) Secondly, the overwater bungalow In which we were booked was very spacious, a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank abhishek_agarwaltsk
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour dear "Abhishek Agarwal" Thank you so very much for your kind words, and in taking the time to post your comments. November has been a very busy month, we could even say it was an exceptional month. And it's true that some of our guests, such as you, who likes to travel after the summer season expecting to find...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Service was excellent, and the staff was very helpful in organising our activities. We rented bicycles, hired kayaks and paddleboards, and went snorkelling and scuba diving. The restaurant and bar were excellent, and there was a beautiful infinity pool. If you want to save a little money by not getting the overwater bungalows, the bungalows directly on the beach are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sydneyabcd
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "sydneyabcd" Thank you very much to have posted such great comments. We just love to read about guest's experience and satisfaction, and to see that your stay with us was up to your expectations is the greatest rewards. We'll pass along your appreciation to the entire team Best regards from Moorea and looking forward to have you staying with...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The property is beautiful and the people are there to please their guests. Everyone was very friendly! We had a "standard" over water bungalow and even though these are a bit older than the "luxury" or newer bungalows, we found it to be clean, spacious and in great condition. The water was crystal clear and deep enough in front of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OceanVu4me
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour "ptsarro" Thank you to have taken the time to post your feedbacks in regards of your stay at Sofitel Moorea. We are so glad to see that everything was up to your expectations, from your bugalow to the activities and our food and beverage services. Costumer satisfaction is our #1 goal, and to know that you were completely satisfied...

3,234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3135)
Viewed
View from Room (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (355)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (479)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (470)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (154)
Viewed
Bathroom (95)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1234)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
4.7 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
19.7 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
5.8 km away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
610 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
281 reviews
8.6 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Price Range: $459 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
124 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (124)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer the rooms in the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles juanfP6858PD, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Over the water bungalows or beach front.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beach Bungalow have a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Jackie55Z, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Over the water bungalow facing the ocean, cooler in the afternoons.”
 of 5 bubbles 843andrewm, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront direct access have guests walk directly in front of room. Lagoon view are set back a bit and seem more private.”
 of 5 bubbles justAuckland, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5