We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Zephyr River Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanquin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
Start your review of Zephyr River Lodge
 Click to rate
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you're looking up this place, you've probably heard that it's THE place to go in Lanquin, and I certainly won't dispute that. I had a blast while I was there and I highly recommend it to any of the younger (or young at heart) set of travelers. I stayed solo in one of the cabins and loved it. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SlightlyUnruly
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was extremely sceptical staying at Zephyr Lodge due to the reviews and the way staff were replying to the negative ones in an extremely unprofessional manner. I didn't have much interaction with staff but when i did they were polite and helpful, a few of my friends that I made there seemed to be having some problems with one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ffion B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great time at this Hostel but mainly because of the company/other travellers and not what it could offer. The infinity pool was great but the restaurant was so overpriced for average to below average food. There was no AC or fans in the rooms despite Lanquin averaging around 37 degrees celsius temperatures. Myself plus 4 other travellers had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
ChrisZephyr, Front Office Manager at Zephyr River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Caroline, Could you please send me an email to discuss the "theft". I have spoke to all of the front of house staff and considering 5 people had been stolen from not 1 person has mentioned it to any staff member. Michael Boyd

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Zephyrlodge was not great. It is not well organised especialy the bookings. When we arrived we had to wait for 5 hours before we could go to our room. Policy they say, well i think it is not the way to treat guest. The room we got wasn't the room we booked. Of course the manager denied it and said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
ChrisZephyr, Front Office Manager at Zephyr River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Linda, Over the 22 emails that were sent it was made clear that you would be spending 1 night in a Large private room and then the rest of the time in the Deluxe that you wanted (You were told in the booking that the Deluxe was not available one the first night) Your 5 hour wait to get...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd never think I'll be leaving anyone a bad review, but I was so annoyed that I just feel a need to warn others. The views are amazing, the food is nice and reasonably priced, but it's just not worth it. Extremaly rude staff, making snarky comments and looking down at guests (!!!). Loud music all night long, when the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanna G
Zephyr L, Manager at Zephyr River Lodge, responded to this review

This a a party hostel and there will be loud music and party ! Warned ?? Well you will see that its clearly stated that we are a party hostel and as for parties in common area we don't allow them and some nights are crazier than others and we are introducing more control on this. Im sorry if staff...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is magical and attracts magical people. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights in a private room, which blew us away and was gorgeous. The food is delicious, big portions, fast delivery and a good price. The views are breath taking and the pool is an infinity + right in the middle so perfect location....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall had a good time at zephyr - awesome view and really good tour to the caves and Semuc. Downside was that our rooms were always damp - stayed in a private and each day the room seemed more damp. Some staff were also uninterested but I think that may be because they are volunteers/travellers. There was one in-staff domestic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amberkristen
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Was a little apprehensive about this place, after reading the reviews. However, glad we chose to disregard them. It has a million dollar view, hot showers, a nice pool and a bar and restaurant at the place itself. Considering it is in the remote village of Lanquin, this place is awesome. The food is really good (although can be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 58sahil
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We had the best time at Zephyr lodge thanks to the staff and the beautiful location. We found all the staff super friendly (completely different to what many Dec 2016 posts had claimed) and they really enhanced our experience. The showers in the new block are amazing, and the setting as a whole is why Zephyr is so popular. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This is paradise. Staff were great, really friendly, the rooms were very clean with warm blankets, and the bathrooms have exceptional views 😜 I must add the food is divine! Plus they have CHIPS! Not fries. Chips! Best hostel to date.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney T

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanquin
0.0 km away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#40 of 81 in Antigua
238 reviews
0.4 km away
Hospedaje Tipico El Retiro
5.8 km away
Greengo's Hotel
Greengo's Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lanquin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Vinas Hotel
Vinas Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lanquin
20 reviews
0.0 km away
El Muro Lanquin
El Muro Lanquin
#4 of 10 in Lanquin
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Zephyr River Lodge

Address: Barrio Equipulas, Lanquin 16011, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Lanquin
Price Range: $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Zephyr Hotel Lanquin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zephyr River Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Zephyr River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you travel with a friend/partner get a bed in the skyloft, the views are insane and you get a little more privacy!”
 of 5 bubbles ffionb164, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure about the room you book. They make a mess of their administration. Make sure you don't book a room next to the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles D6560QBlindad, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As far from the main building as possible”
 of 5 bubbles JoannaG899, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if your a couple, ask for the double beds in the shared dorm, your walled off so it feels private, with a great window view”
 of 5 bubbles vctom, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“dorms outside main building for a good sleep”
 of 5 bubbles jennifergn2015, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5