We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Calico Mission House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Calico Mission House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Calico Mission House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
Beaverlodge, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Douglas is a FANTASTIC chef! He prepared a four-course seafood feast, exclusively for our group of 7 friends. Freshly caught tuna and lobster, and home-made mango sorbet were just a few of the highlights. But a written review cannot even begin to describe our experience - you must dine here! We made our reservation the day before, and he arranged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan-and-Stan
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. I will hope to see you again soon!

Roatán, Islas de la Bahia, Honduras
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you go make sure you try dougs seafood crepes with blue cheese sauce. I had to go take a nap after. Thanks for everything and the beautiful rooms. See ya in a few months. Scott N. By the way the best spot to have morning coffee is the deck between levels it will make sense when you see it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

Hope to see you again soon!

Lake Louise, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I am happy to have found such a nice place as Casa Verde to spend a couple of weeks. I loved hanging out in the hammocks on the quiet and shady balcony. Douglas is a great host and can cook up some tasty meals on request. I would highly reccomend the Casa Verde as a perfect place for travellers on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaron g
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Calico Mission House. Your compliments are well appreciated and you will be most welcome in the future!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here at the end of April. We had gotten very used to the $6 a night special, unfortunately, this does not exist on Roatan.... However, we found something even better! Casa Verde is a lovely wooden "home" just down the road from the main west end strip...close enough to be convenient and far away enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keeley X
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

You're the best!

Kempele
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We loved to stay at Casa Verde beach house hostel. It is located couple minutes walk from center which we liked because it was calm and peaceful place to stay. Rooms are big and own kitchen is very good to have. Our host Douglas was awesome. He did his best to make us feel comfortable. We were going to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katri L
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. I will look forward to your next visit!

Murfreesboro
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was a wonderful surprise lunch coordinated by my wife. While at a day stop in Roatan traveling via Carnival Cruise, my wife and I scheduled an excursion zip lining at South Shore Zip Line (which was unbelievable and highly recommended). The second part of the day my wife told me was a secret. We traveled over to Half Moon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1NY_Yankee_Fan
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

Congratulations! I have seen many pictures of your baby, nice work. I hope you make it back to Roatan soon.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have known Douglas for several years now and have enjoyed everything he has ever prepared for me. He pays special attention to detail and always use fresh and local ingredients for all of his meals. He recently prepared a birthday dinner for my son and daughter-in-law when they were there spending the day while on a cruise ship stop....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don D
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

You are too kind. I will be looking forward to the day you and your wife can make the journey back to Roatan. Thank you.

Reviewed 17 April 2012

After meeting Douglas at the beach area, we agreed to have him prepare a "gourmet" meal for us & our friends. Sad to say, we were very disappointed. Douglas who claimed to be an experienced chef promised a 4 course meal. We waited an extraordinary amount of time before receiving the first course of lobster, which was not served w/additional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveltime9
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

I wish an apology could explain the circumstances surrounding your experience. Embarrassed is what I am and I won't wast words trying to explain the circumstances which lead to this colossal debacle. This was not the usual experience, I hope you will accept my sincerest apology and be aware that this was not normal for me or this place, as...

STL
Reviewed 16 April 2012

If your looking for great food and a fun place to stay I highly recommend Casa Verda. Douglas the manger will work to make sure your stay will be enjoyable at this lovely hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg P
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting. You were "too fun" as well. See you soon!

Toronto
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was just a two minute walk to the main town, which is perfect because its practically in town but the music and partying doesnt keep you awake at night. It is also very reasonably priced. The place was spacious and Doug, the host was extremely helpful and went out of his way to make my stay enjoyable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan083
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review

It was great to have you stay with us. I hoe to see you again soon. Thank you.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.6 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
582 reviews
0.3 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
252 reviews
3.7 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 7 in West End
150 reviews
0.0 km away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#3 of 7 in West End
751 reviews
0.7 km away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Calico Mission house is safely located in a cool jungle atmosphere just minutes walk from stores,restaurants and beaches.Delicious meals prepared with all Fresh local ingredients including seafood caught by local fishermen are available daily. Please don't miss you chance to experience Calico Mission House on your next visit to beautiful Half Moon bay, Roatan! We offer accomodation with personal service, great food and a pleasant atmosphere - all run by the same ideal: christian hospitality.Hospitality with heart is our essential concern. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Calico Mission House

Address: West end road | Right at West End entrance, West End, Roatan 34101, Honduras (Formerly Casa Verde beach house hostel)
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Price Range: $55 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calico Mission House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Calico Mission House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a kitchen. Roatan is expensive to eat out every night.”
LoisN938, 8 May 2013 | Read review
“The room with the hot plate is just fine, you can cook quite a bit on the hot plate and the BBQ outside.”
alexn93, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
“All the rooms are wonderful! He gave us a tour of the property....”
peaceseeker83, 1 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Ask Douglas to pick you a winner. He will not steer you wrong.”
ScottN879, 11 May 2012 | Read review
4 of 4