SriLanta Resort and Spa

SriLanta Resort and Spa

Traveller (2250)
Panorama at the Sri Lanta Resort
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (444)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#9 of 41 resorts in Ko Lanta
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
SriLanta Resort - Oriental in style, this resort has been created fully in tune with its tranquil island surroundings. The resort's approach is one of subtle simplicity, offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. The resort is ideally located as a base for diving and snorkeling excursions to the neighboring islands of Koh Rok, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Ngai, Koh Mook and Koh Kradan. Accommodation - Each of the "island style" rustic villas are spread over the hillside (across a quiet road) that opens up behind SriLanta among lush tropical vegetation and temple flower trees. SriLanta offers guests a mix of stand-alone villas, suites and family rooms. Minimalist in style with thoughtfully designed natural furnishings and equipped with essential amenities. This is as close to nature as you can get. Enjoy the privacy and tranquility of our resort with a beautiful white sand beach at your front door, and the natural bushland at your back. We offer the best of both worlds at Sri Lanta.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Car hire
Taxi service
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

111 Moo 6 Klongnin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Trang Airport
62.5 km
See all flights
Krabi Airport
63.4 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,815 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a forest retreat with beachfront access, SriLanta Resort and Spa is celebrated for its serene and romantic atmosphere, a sanctuary praised by guests for its attentive service and picturesque surroundings. While the secluded location is adored by many, the steep hill access may pose a challenge. Rooms are generally spacious with commendable views, though there are occasional remarks about upkeep. Amenities like the pools and beachfront are popular, yet some visitors have mixed views on the value and cleanliness, with a few suggesting improvements.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,815Review60Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 834
  • 555
  • 204
  • 131
  • 91
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anna OD wrote a review Jan 2020
Rutland, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (family with triplets aged ten) had a very comfortable few nights at Srilanta during October half term. Our rooms were a decent size and attractively furnished; we we had no complaints over sound proofing or water temperature (as others have mentioned).

The restaurants were great. Huge amount of choice at breakfast. Good quality and reasonably priced food at the poolside restaurant.

The grounds by the beachside were beautifully maintained, we especially enjoyed watching staff shimmying up the palm trees to prune them, a feat to behold! There are three separate pools, one adults only. We’d come from Koh Ngai where the beach is white sand and the sea crystal clear with a reef to snorkel around (cannot recommend Mayalay Beach Resort on Koh Ngai highly enough!); by comparison Koh Lanta beach felt inferior, but as beaches go it’s perfectly pleasant.

Highlight for me at Srilanta was the spa. Had a wonderful full body massage and my husband and I had a couples leg massage which was equally fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Khun AnnaOD, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We were delighted to know that so many aspects made your stay so seamless and memorable. Your compliments will be shared with our associates and will be taken on board for future planning. Actually, everything you impressed was based on the efforts of the staff, who offered it with their heart. And we will continue to do so. Thank you for being able to experience it. Thank you again for your review, we’re looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I write this review as on route to airport. We have just had the most fantastic time at Sri Lanta I honestly can’t see why people would complain and at first was worried because of the bad reviews, we needn’t of been.

We booked the transfer through the hotel from Krabi when we landed the mini bus was there waiting for us very smooth transfer which took about 2.5 hours.

Arrived at the resort to be greeted by happy friendly staff that all spoke English some better than others but this wasn’t a problem at all.

We booked a star path room which was up the hill a little so was taken by buggy the first impression was great room, all brand new lovely furniture and extras such as beach bag and towels and slippers toiletries etc, a massive plus was the tv which had Netflix and loads of stuff to watch just fab.

After staying for 4 nights we then had 2 night where our sleep was disturbed greatly by noisy neighbours, my partner had a word with reception as this wasn’t acceptable it woke my 2 year old up also. Anyway this wasn’t the resort fault but the noises guests, we were moved to an earth suite for the last 2 nights which were even better! In hindsight I would of booked these over the star path they are older rooms but definitely larger and just suited us better and I think more families on this block as it was extremely quiet in the evenings.

Breakfast was amazing you have to try the curry even this isn’t your usual choice for breakfast! It’s some of the best of best I’ve had in Thailand! But there were lots of other choices too I really don’t know how anyone could complain about it.

The beach here is beautiful so are the grounds and swimming pools.

Only one thing I think needs sorting is the umbrellas around the pool and beach need to be secured down as most days we had wind and they went flying round the resort and could cause serious injury.

The food in the beach restaurant was lovely not too overpriced either which other people have suggested it was around 200 baht for a main course,

All the staff were super friendly, I would come back in a heart beat, like I mentioned the only thing to complain about would be the umbrellas!

Fantastic Sri Lanta thank you for an unforgettable stay
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, General Manager at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Khun homeindia, Greetings! from Sri Lanta Resort, Koh Lanta, Krabi...... I am so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased that you were able to appreciate all aspects of our Resort. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and I will share them with the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very much looking forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Chelsea wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were given a cold drink and a driver collected our bags and drove us up the hill to our room. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the reception area and location was very clean and well kept.

There’s three pools with direct access to the beach which was beautiful!! Plenty of seating and sun beds.

The room was very impressive, with the star of the show being the spacious balcony with double bath jacuzzi!! Admittedly on closer inspection of the room it was slightly worn and tatty in places, but as this hotel is considered to be “affordable luxury” I think it was worth every penny.

The location is brilliant, to the left there is more beaches along the island and the national park and to the right you can rent a scooter from the hotel and go down to the old town or go to Saladan. All worth a trip!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, General Manager at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Khun Chelseawrites, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was a delight to hear that your stay at Sri Lanta was so seamless. We are so sorry for your room location and will try the best to sort it out in the future. And still, insist that we will continue to maintain the natural. And will keep the environment best for future generations. Thank you very much for your Pros, and Cons, Every comment is very important. And make us grow stronger. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we’re looking forward to welcoming you again! With warm regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meowycat wrote a review Feb 2020
Lund, Sweden
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First. hotel transfer was a joke, after a lengthy night flight (16 babies on board) plus over an hour getting through a hot passport queue with 2 kids, the airport desk transfer lady made us wait a further 45 mins, promising us the driver was on his way, oddly once my patience wavered she just got us “stuffed” in the back of a full minibus with everyone’s luggage. With pathetic virtually non existent aircon my youngest (9) was bordering on fainting. Driver then dropped various others on the way. I know it’s Thailand etc, But do note it’s not an exclusive transfer direct to the resort. Hotel Reception had zero empathy and suggested it was my fault As I should have/could have taken the private option (1500 vs 2500) I have no issues taking a minibus if what’s promised is true but we landed at 1052 and ended up checking in at 4, disappointing
Second, booked The star path room, yes they were reduced price, but it is the furthest concrete block in far corner inland up a steep hill corner, They do have hotel ‘tuktuk’ but you will find yourself walking up n down regularly. As the drivers are not always around, day or night, If you have pushchairs/babies or just bad knees be warned. trekking up and down in the heat with stuff is not conducive to a relaxing break. But if you will hire a scooter it’s the way to go.
Room Interior is quite cool, but for some reason the architect likes steps the need to have steps every 3 steps in the room, everywhere is mildly irritating, the bed is very low futon style (warning for any back sufferers) we are sleeping ok but beds are hard!
Positives: complimentary water replaced each day, beach towels, beach bags (nice touch) and bathrobes, tea/coffee in the room,
Negatives: the hill, the restaurant food is very expensive and my daughter gagged at the table on the attempt at lasagna (Cost waivered) stick to the Thai, the 3 small pools are tiled in dark tiles and this probably disguises how clean the water is, kids may get disappointed/bored. Breakfast is nothing to write home about, you can have fresh omelettes /fried eggs but the reheated leftovers fails to impress. Don’t get excited about the coffee
Oh AND my safe had an error, needed to have it opened (it’s bloody easy to crack with basic tools) it needed a new battery apparently, we leave tomorrow it didn’t get done !
The nearest 7/11 & supermarket is a 30 min walk or 5 mins taxi/scooter
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, General Manager at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Khun Meowycat, Greeting from Koh Lanta, First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am truly sorry to have learned of the various lapses in service attentiveness you experienced. We fell short intending to your needs and expectations, for which I am truly regretful of. Thank you for your valuable comments. And during our conversation. I have already proposed a solution for you and waiting for an answer but did not receive an answer. During your first stay with us. And thank you very much for coming back to stay with us again within the same week. Best Regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen.(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BayView9 wrote a review Jan 2020
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not 4 start accomodation, here are a few issues
1. We were booked into a cabin, looks great on the adverter but the reality is very different. Damp, very bad smell throughout, TV not working, Safe not working, AC not working properly, very noisy, no hot water (the electric shower not working properly), the electricity kept tripping out, very close to the main road so incredibly noisy
2.After two nights we were eventually moved to some newer accommodation that was much better but we were charged for the move, £800 in total. The new accommodation was recently opened and some of the building remained unfinished.
3. Very poor customer servce
4. Very poor breakfast,
5. Very poor restaurant
6. No room service or pool service, as youd expect from a 4 start rated accommodation
Its a shame because the location of the hotel is stunning, a wonderful beach location, management need to get this sorted and invest a little more time and effort into the hotel, it could be easily remedied
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Khun BayView9, Greeting from Koh Lanta, First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am truly sorry to have learned of the various lapses in service attentiveness you experienced. We fell short intending to your needs and expectations, for which I am truly regretful. We disappointed that our service did not live up to your expectations and will work on training and our internal delivery processes with our team to deliver a memorable experience for our guests. We try to offer a warm, efficient and friendly service to all guests. But Rules and Regulations it is a must to do. But some things may have to be excluded. And this is necessary for our staff to increase their learning. We thank you once again for the feedback and will definitely work on it to improve our services. Warm Regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas D wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over the Christmas period so understand there is an inflation in cost and the number of guests staying, but, this doesn’t excuse poor service, rude staff and shoddy rooms.

We paid just under $4,000 for 7 night for 4 people. Initially we were staying in their “jungle bungalow”. Unless you’re backpacking and happen to have some spare cash, don’t bother. They are more like shacks with paper thin walls (get used to hearing traffic all night), ancient aircon machines and very poor lighting.

After complaining and stating that what was advertised vs what we received was completely different.

We paid for an “upgrade” for the last 5 nights. Initially walking into the room, it is quite nice (think IKEA showroom) but you quickly find out it’s a quickly and poorly made room. Again, paper thin doors and you can hear everything in the hall way.

The staff were stressed, given the time of year (understandable), but what is not acceptable is rude service constantly.

After complaining again to the manager, we were offered some “compensation”...$200.

Don’t get me wrong, the beach and location is fantastic. Amazing sunsets. The hotel and staff, are not.

Such a shame given the amount of money we spent.

Ps. SriLanta, you might want to think about letting you customers charge items to their room, serving drinks by the pool, training your staff properly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear Khun Thomas D, Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am truly sorry to have learned of the various lapses in service attentiveness you experienced. We fell short intending to your needs and expectations, for which I am truly regretful of. We disappointed that our facilities did not live up to your expectations and will work on training and our internal delivery processes with our team to deliver a memorable experience for our guests. By the way about your complaint, I have investigated. Finally, the resort has tried to make every customer impressed. But it is not possible in the real world. Some reasons may be caused by misunderstanding. Above all, we have to go back and read from the other reviews of many guests for making the decision. All of which is likely to result from booking through multiple agents this makes the details lost. However, please accept my apologies We try to offer a warm, efficient and friendly service to all guests. We thank you once again for the feedback and will definitely work on it to improve our services. Warm Regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pretti G wrote a review Jan 2020
Ontario
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the 4th and last stop of our vacation and the best! We had been to Krabi which was super busy and all the day trips we did were also packed which is to be expected in December holidays. However, when we got here the beach was relatively empty, pools were nice and it did not feel busy. Breakfast in the morning with a great view, crystal clear water to swim in and the most spectacular sunsets! Based on previous reviews we also requested for a room in the newer building and it was only 2 weeks old! We had the starpath room and my sister had the moonlight suite, I would recommend the moonlight suite which has an amazing Jacuzzi! The staff were all friendly and helpful and Lydia at reception is amazing!! The restaurants for dinner aren't the best and expensive but if you walk 500m or grab a tuktuk you have access to some great local restaurants like the French Cafe (pizza), Soul Kitchen (amazing thai and beach location) so lots of options and you don't have to feel stuck at the resort. We wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Khun M_Sauga, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We were delighted to know that so many aspects made your stay so seamless and memorable. Your compliments will be shared with our associates and the cons that you mentioned will be taken on board for future planning. Your explanation can clearly answer all of the questions that have arisen here. Thank you again for your review, we’re looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer6713 wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is good in the middle of the island so you can drive up to more restaurants up north or to more remote beaches & national park south of the island. I’d recommend a scooter to get around, otherwise walking in the area they do have restaurants, beach & shops nearby. Room was fairly spacious, a little worn down inside & bathroom too. We enjoyed the pool the most, they have 3 pools & the area is relaxing. WiFi connection was very little to not working in the room though.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, General Manager at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Khun Jennifer6713, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was a delight to hear that your stay at Sri Lanta was so seamless. We are glad that everything from the spacious rooms with their beautiful views to the swimming pool was to your satisfaction and you had a relaxing time. And still insist that we will continue to maintain the natural. And will keep the environment best for future generations. Thank you very much for your Pros, and Cons, Every comment is very important. And make us grow stronger. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we’re looking forward to welcoming you again! With warm regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catalin-1984 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bucharest, Romania
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the few occasions when I actually feel compelled to warn others with regard to the conditions in a holiday resort.

We (myself and my fiancee) booked a Plantation "villa" for 8 nights and I'm dreading the fact we might still have another couple of nights here.

When you arrive to the so-called "villa", you are greeted by a dim light room with worn down furniture, dirty linen, 33° Celsius and a strong sewer like smell. The bathroom walls are filthy and there is mold growing on every corner, while the water is luke warm at best, so forget about a nice shower or bath. There is no door or curtain between the bedroom and the bathroom which can cause some awkward moments.

We were absolutely shocked of this horror show so we headed down to the reception to ask/upgrade for another room, villa or apartment. To our surprise, at the reception we found a queue of tourists asking for the same thing and complaining about the conditions; the manager's response w as blunt: the resort is fully booked and nothing can be done, we were all asked to check every few days at the reception if any other rooms are available.

I'd like to add that the internet connection is poor and the breakfast dining choices limited, but something I could have lived with.

We're currently looking to get a refund on the remainder of our stay and move to a decent hotel; needless to say I intend to check the room before paying this time around.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, General Manager at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Khun Catalin-1984, Greeting from Koh Lanta, First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am truly sorry to have learned of the various lapses in service attentiveness you experienced. We fell short intending to your needs and expectations, for which I am truly regretful of. We disappointed that our service did not live up to your expectations and will work on training and our internal delivery processes with our team to deliver a memorable experience for our guests. We try to offer a warm, efficient and friendly service to all guests. But Rules and Regulations it is a must to do. But some things may have to be excluded. And this is necessary for our staff to increase their learning. We thank you once again for the feedback and will definitely work on it to improve our services. Warm Regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lex Kiefer wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I thought it was a nice hotel resort in Krabi, until we got there! Room has only two bottles of water, no snack or anything free or purchase. No vanity of any kind except shampoo and shower gel. No lotion. Towels are weird in color and not in bathroom area but on the bed. Refrigerator was not working, we had to call to complain about it and a few hours later they brought us a new refrigerator. Service was great, but facilities were all awkward. Using any services at the resort such as restaurant, spa, boat tour, you would have to bring your credit card! Cannot charge to the room! What the hell is that? Room interior was decent, but not so wow for a hefty price of $245 a night in Thailand. All in all, it’s not to be repeated!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from booking S, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at SriLanta Resort and Spa
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Khun lexter266, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Koh Lanta and for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is valuable and constructive. We are very sorry to hear that our accommodation and facilities did not meet your expectations. We would like to assure you that your much detailed feedback has been acknowledged and discussed among with our team members to initiate corrective measures. Your feedback and observations about the resort has given us an understanding of the requirement for infrastructure and implement needs. We disappointed that so many thing in our resort did not live up to your expectations and will work on training and our internal delivery processes with our team to deliver a memorable experience for our guests. We try to offer warm, efficient and friendly service to all guests. We thank you once again for the feedback and will definitely work on it to improve our services. Regards, Supatpong Ritcharoen(Mr.)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1 contribution
Renovations are subjective. The rooms are large, comfy, and modernly designed. Sri Lanta has a charm about it as it actively seeks to balance nature with modern technologies.
Jim G asked a question Jan 2023
Wakefield, United Kingdom299 contributions62 helpful votes
Hi, does the hotel provide toiletries? Thanks
Answer from William J
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes it does
Answer from Niklas J
Solna, Sweden43 contributions38 helpful votes
Hi! On the beach a bit more south (3 min walk on the beach) there is a ”padi center” at a hotel I dont remember the name of, but there is a bar/ restaurant called babylon bar that is in front of the padi center.
michael p wrote a tip 12 Jul
Adelaide, Australia259 contributions108 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The resort is on a hill and has a few steps to the rooms though has a courtesy bus. If mobility is an issue check with the resort."
Read full review
Steve K wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hua Hin, Thailand5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you do a gondola tour on the island definitely choose the morning vs the sunset "
Read full review
Sara M wrote a tip Feb 2024
10 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Weekly bbq isn’t worth attending in our opinion - just a small selection of meat skewers which have to be cooked by yourself"
Read full review
TravellerTony wrote a tip Feb 2024
Windlesham, United Kingdom48 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire a moped."
Read full review
Baderia wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not applicable It is perfect Do stay for more than 4 nights if you like peace 😸"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ko Lanta area.
PRICE RANGE
S$28 - S$44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandKrabi ProvinceKo Lanta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SRILANTA RESORT AND SPA (S̶$̶5̶8̶) S$26: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,466 Photos (Ko Lanta, Krabi) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about SriLanta Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to SriLanta Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Pantai Lanta Klong Nin (0.2 km), Nui Beach (1.0 km), and Diamond Cliff Beach (0.8 km).
What are some restaurants close to SriLanta Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include French Bakery restaurant & pizza, Jai-Dee Home, and Monkey Biziness Cafe - Koh Lanta.
Are there any historical sites close to SriLanta Resort and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lanta Old Town (4.7 km).
All Ko Lanta HotelsKo Lanta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ko LantaHotels near SriLanta Resort and Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire