We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baan Tai Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$12*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Baan Tai Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Baan Tai Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 319: English reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We went early July, and they were about 10 people that were checked in. Not too sure when other reviewers were at this hostel, but this hostel was empty, even for the black moon party. We had a dorm to ourselves (excluding the one member of staff) Most evenings and even some staff went over the road to ECHO BEACH...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ldsmith5
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Baan Tai Backpackers was off the hook! This was only my second time staying in a backpackers dorm as I like my own space and a private bathroom but these rooms were huge, clean and modern plus only three bunks/six beds per room with there own bathrooms that were huge and looked liked new. Location wise the Backpackers was located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I spent 2 weeks at Baan Tai backpackers, (after extending one week more), and still didnt feel like leaving! I feel like for some reason all the BEST people from all over the world gather at this hostel, because I met the most amazing people there. I dont know if its the location which is right in the center of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pazgilad
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here over the half moon and the full moon! Location: brilliant just across the road from the beach and a short distance from the full moon and peer if your coming in from koh samui of going on to Koh Tao, small shops and bars and places to eat all around. On the day of the full moon the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia O
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed at Bantai for 5 nights over the period of the full moon and the hostel was fantastic. We payed around 300 BHT per night, which was a 6-bed dorm and en-suite. It was a little basic but for £6 a night you can't complain with what you got. The location was perfect, situated half way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haarry227
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel was pretty chill, went in low season but half moon was still a fun. Free paint which is a good pre party. Cheap drinks, really nice owner first day gave us a map and pointed out all the spots he would hit up. Rooms: are nice, good mattress, ac, balcony which is sweet in the morning when u...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chloé T
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable the staff are exeptional good and really went out of their way to make everyones stay memorable. And half moon was f#@king epic........Tristain Shane thanks so much and all the best.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgenumbertwo
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Myself and 2 friends checked out last night after an amazing 4 nights. The hostel was clean and tidy and the staff are incredible. Sue, Tristan, Karen and the guys really made us feel welcome and part of their little family. They took us on little trips and showed us beaches and bars that we would have never found on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny J
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Myself and 5 of my friends booked the basic 6 bed dorm here for 5 nights for the full moon party. Great atmosphere and lots of fun but unfortunately the hostel itself was pretty grim. We expected basic, however I did not expect to not have running water for the majority of our stay. This meant not being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank laura280694
kfarini, Owner at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Laura, Thanks for your review – we appreciate your comments and are sorry you experienced a poor stay at our hostel. We did have problems with the water supply during your time with us due to the current drought. On the first day this happened myself and Tristan were out on our Beach n Beer Hop Tour, and so...

Horham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We booked a 6 bed basic dorm which was a very, very, very basic box. There was no storage and no air con but 5 fans which weren't great. The toilet was pretty gross and smelt like egg. With there being a drought we ran out of water twice, the whole day of full moon coming back on at like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yemsy1994
kfarini, Owner at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there, I've replied in depth to your friend, but wanted to express here as well that we are now hooked up to the government water supply, and so don't expect to experience such a problem from this point on, even in face of a drought. Thanks for your comments, and glad you enjoyed the fun aspects of your stay...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (71)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
625 reviews
6.2 km away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
601 reviews
0.0 km away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#11 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Phangan Arena
Phangan Arena
#9 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
143 reviews
10.4 km away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
681 reviews
4.9 km away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Koh Phangan's best-loved Western-run hostels for backpackers! Come stay with us, chill out with us and party long into the night with us, all while being sure you'll get an excellent night's sleep in one of our bright, spacious & whistle-clean dorm or private rooms. We're a small hostel (only room for 42!), so getting to know people is guaranteed. In fact, our friendly, sociable environment is one of the things we're most proud of. We really care about your time spent with us, and will treat you like family! ....We're situated in Baan Tai, which is exactly the area you want to stay in for all the island's famous jungle parties, including Half Moon Festival, Maya, Jungle Expererience, Sramanora Waterfall Party and Shiva Moon. We're also within walking distance to Black Moon, Baan Sabai and Loi Lay floating bar party which is on every Sunday night and hosts some of the best DJs worldwide. We're a 15 minute drive to Haad Rin for Full Moon. Baan Tai is also smack bang in the middle of Haad Rin and Thong Sala - the island's main town and pier, so we're a really great base to explore the rest of the island from. You can rent mopeds from us, and we'll give you all our hot tips! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baan Tai Backpackers

Address: 61/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $15 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Tai Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baan Tai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baan Tai Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Baan Tai Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cheap dorms downstairs, nicer more expensive upstairs. Cheap ones are fine for the price.”
78dont, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Theres ocean view rooms on the front,and jungle rooms at the back. Your choice!”
Cohen3, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on have a good view”
pazya2016, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, practically the same. Just up to you do you prefere ocean or joungle view :)”
andrijana811, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 is fantastic!”
James_Christiansen, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$12* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$26
Booking.comUS$14
TravelocityUS$26
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates