We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sanctuary Thailand

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sanctuary Thailand
See the most recent reviews
Showing 464: English reviews
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I went to the sanctuary on my own for a 3-day yoga retreat. It wasn't the easiest place to get to, at least when the water is so rough some of the usual boats can't travel there, but it was absolutely worth it. The surroundings are just beautiful and I have never felt so peaceful and utterly relaxed. The yoga...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Thanks Becky - we're really glad you enjoyed your Sanctuary experience! Hope to see you again some time - Best wishes Tasha

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Firstly I was hoping to relax and stay here for 10 nights. I stayed 5 then really felt I had to leave. There is a box in reception saying suggestions here and not on trip advisor but that is not fair - potential guests need the full picture. I arrived late Jan the sea was choppy but what greeted me...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thepalmtree
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi There, ad thanks for your review. We are truly sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time with us – please let me mention a couple of things . The notice on our reception says:" if you enjoyed your time with us, please tell the world! If you didn’t, please ask for one of the managers and let us know...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 February 2014

You know those times in life where you don't really know why you do something, you just do. I booked this place not really based on anyones recommendations. Having said all of this, I grew up in Bangkok from when I was 5 till 13. Part of my heart is in Thailand and I am familiar with their culture and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thecourtney
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi Courtney, thank you so much for your wonderful review which Nolan and I have been loving today - we're so glad you had a magical time and look forward to seeing you grace the bar again sometime soon! With very best wishes, Tasha

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Love. I will return. The food was extraordinary. However, I cannot find any contact information for this place! If the management could message me a phone number or something, that would be really helpful. If not, I suppose I'll show up and hope for the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShadesMalone
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi Shades, Really happy to see that you enjoyed your time here. We can't wait for you to become a returning guest !!!!! Please contact us through out website www.thesanctuarythailand.com or through info@thesanctuarythailand.com See you soon. x Jonny

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I didn't think service could affect my review of any accommodation - and I am seldom to complain. Here's an overview of our stay: The sanctuary is beautiful, our bungalow (although about 600bht overpriced) was lovely to stay in. We were just above the shop/Internet cafe so it was a little noisey and not so private but I don't mind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachel7224
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, and thanks for your feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed much of what The Sanctuary has to offer, and of course its disappointing for us to hear poor feedback about our service. That said, it does inspire us to really try to fix the problem. As I am sure you will agree, most of our staff...

Thai Mueang, Thailand
Reviewed 28 January 2014

"Om My Goodness me!" What a magical place. I arrived at The Sanctuary on Wednesday the 18th of January 2014. I planned to stay for one night only; as I am currently living on Koh Tao and just fancied a change of scenery. I did no research about The Sanctuary beforehand, my intuition just pulled me there. The first thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dominica g
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Wow Dominica what a very beautiful review. Thank you x

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for nine days at a resort on Haad Yuan (the beach next door to the Sanctuary) and one day we wandered over to the Sanctuary for lunch and to check out their beach. The beach was not clean. There was so much rubbish that we did no want to sit down in the sand. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ninaballerina2034
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Dear NinaBallerina, Oh my goodness we were so upset to read your review, and all we can do is sincerely apologise. We remember the day in question, and it was not the best of days all round. We too were shocked by the 'syringe', not to mention the person using it who was encouraged back to Had Rin where he...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This place kind of defies description, but I'll try anyway. I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you're after 5 star aircon accommodation in a bubble, this is not your place. If you would like to live close to nature, with clean, beautifully designed creature comforts and the sound of the jungle to lull you to sleep, read on. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocketsparks
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

thank you thank you thank you for such a lovely attempt at capturing and sharing your sanctuary experience. we're so glad your body and soul enjoyed it - hope to see you again sometime soon! best wishes, tasha

Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Love this place! We stayed in the bungalow on the beach which I'm sure is the best they have. A fantastic mix of people from backpackers to bankers. Not the place for you if you're after private infinity pools and butlers... The food is fantastic and a die hard meat eater like me even had a couple of delicious veggie...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikect70
SanctuaryThailand, Guest Relations Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi Mike and thanks for your review. We are truly grateful to have the staff we do (no butlers required) along with all the backpackers and bankers who pass through our doors. Apologies for the lack of easy payment options: we know its a pain, but every rose must have its thorn. In the meantime, I vote for an infinity...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Upon arrival to The Sanctuary I was greeted like part of the family, the staff were friendly and welcoming, I felt as if I had arrived home. The Sanctuary had everything I could have asked for; participating in a body workshops, joining in on daily yoga and meditation classes, spa treatments, sessions with the amazing healers and quiet time on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hollie H

684 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (155)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Ocean View House (75)
Viewed
Rainbow House (87)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Wemaarn Baan Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.0 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
595 reviews
2.9 km away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
583 reviews
2.2 km away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
9.7 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,292 reviews
2.5 km away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Established in 1991 The Sanctuary is a unique beach front resort offering beautiful houses, comfortable bungalows and budget dorm beds & boasts a 300 + vegetarian and seafood menu & bakery. Offering a diverse Spa menu & Detox fasting center, day trips, Kayaking, snorkelling and our gym to encourage you out of your beach front hammock. An eclectic mix of guests ensures a special beach holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Thailand

Address: Had Tien Bay, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand (Formerly The Sanctuary Island Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary Island Hotel Koh Phangan
The Sanctuary Island Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sanctuary Thailand staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Sanctuary Thailand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You may also want to request a room away from the generator (there are only a couple of rooms near it, but still.)”
 of 5 bubbles ssfitzgerald, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hilltop bungalow for best views”
 of 5 bubbles poppyt552, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unique Gem”
 of 5 bubbles Pintomatic, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows further up the hill are better placed for views, and are quieter, but you don't hear the sea so much.”
 of 5 bubbles rayh833, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The houses are a little more expensive but well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles danjelen, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5