We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Gahinga Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mount Gahinga Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
cotswolds
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a large room African style tucked away in the garden. Birds everywhere. We met the Batwa people and learned about their lives and how they had lost their land but how they have now been given some other land nearby and are adapting to a new lifestyle. The staff at the Lodge were very very friendly and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizziebarty
Sarnen, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the perfect place to relax for a couple of days and visit the wonders of Mgahinga National Park. The cottages are very spacious and and have a clean design. Views from the lodge are stunning: on a clear day all three volcanoes can be seen. Food is also very good and most importantly, all staff is very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyrilltroxler
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Mount Gahinga Lodge offers a number of cottages and other options to explore the extreme south-west corner of Uganda and the Mgahinga Gorilla National Park. The cottages are comfortable and quiet. The dining room and lounge are in a room with a central open fire pit that is warm on a cold day. Meals are generally good, while the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s_w_on_the_road
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Lodge is nice, Quiet, Next to the Park. Staff are friendly. We saw many beautiful birds in front the lobby . Our room are clean and clear, One issue is water system for toilets in the lobby are not working properly need staff to refill every times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Den P
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Amron manages this Volcano Safaris owned lodge does so with panache. The views from the lodge are stunning and the main building has a wonderful central fire place to sit around. Very homely and the staff were very helpful. The food was the best we ate (and given we ate well- says alot). The lodges are spread out in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert D Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We really appreciate your feedback. The buildings at Mount Gahinga Lodge are inspired by the traditional design of the Batwa 'pygmy' huts. Each of the self-contained banda (rooms) is named after one of the Virunga volcanoes. It's interesting to read that you chose to organise last-minute gorilla tracking...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This lodge and small park (about 10 yards away!) are often missed off holiday itineraries and that is a great shame. Of the 4 Volcanoes Safaris lodges we stayed at this was our favourite, even more than it's famous big brother over the hill in Rwanda. Why? Firstly the staff are simply the best. Led by Amron, their attentive service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuttonHill
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SuttonHill Thanks so much for your excellent review of Mount Gahinga Lodge. Mgahinga Gorilla National Park is Uganda's smallest park but boasts some of the most incredible scenery. The walking and volcano hiking is one-of-a-kind. The park infrastructure is very good and the viewing platform gives panoramic views as far as the Congo and Lake Mutanda. We are delighted...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were delighted by the charm of the lodge and the lovely gardens. We arrived as a storm was approaching and a fire in the main lodge instantly made us feel at home. The staff were very attentive and we have to say that the chefs at Mount Gahinga produced the best food here of all the places we visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Peter B Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of Mount Gahinga Lodge. Next time we hope you will stay for more than one night! There are lots of activities to enjoy in this remote corner of Uganda. It's an incredibly relaxing part of the world as well. Simply gazing at the volcanoes is very relaxing...

Rwanda
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We have visited Mount Gahinga with our young children twice over the last year (once for Christmas and once in May) and cannot recommend this place highly enough. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed and treated like royalty. The hotel itself is simple but stunning, nestled into the foothills of the volcanoes and with spacious gardens and wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sevillanita
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sevillanita Thank you for your wonderful review of Mount Gahinga Lodge. We are delighted to read of your great experience. There are lots of activities to do at the lodge and we really feel this is one of Uganda's 'undiscovered gems'. Thank you for your part in helping promote this very special part of the country and our dedicated...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 8 March 2016

i arrived at15 O'CLOCK really hungry and exhausted but before i with my visitors lost our last hope, of being lively again, we were in this magnificent lodge with excellent services we thought we had left back in Kampala. Nice cosines, flowing&timely services is what you should expect from this lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Safaris
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wild_Safaris Thank you very much for the five-star ratings. Our staff work tirelessly to try and keep all our visitors happy. Reading positive reviews like yours helps keep everyone motivated. Thanks again.

UK
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I rate this place very highly. Amron is the manager. He and all his staff were most helpful and friendly. The rooms are very large, spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. I had the most comfortable bed out of 7 places in stayed while in Uganda. I was there for 3 nights and I was offered a fire in my room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkArjo
VolcanoesSafaris, General Manager at Mount Gahinga Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks UkArjo for ytaking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay at Mt Gahinga Lodge. Amron is a wonderful manager and host. The grounds of Mount Gahinga Lodge and nearby Mgahinga Gorilla National Park offer superb birdwatching. We have endeavoured to plant a wide variety of bushes and trees to attract a...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
0.0 km away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
416 reviews
0.0 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
68 reviews
0.0 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
168 reviews
0.0 km away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mount Gahinga Safari Lodge nestles in the foothills of the Virunga volcanoes on the border of Uganda, Rwanda and the DRC.The safari lodge is being totally renovated, a sunroom facing the volcanoes has been added, a new terrace and gardens created. The habituated family which used to reside in Mgahinga NP is no longer living there full time, they move between Uganda, Rwanda and the DRC and cannot be viewed. The Nkuringo group in Southern Bwindi can be visited instead. You can also climb a volcano, go birding, or just take in one of the most beautiful landscapes of Africa. An hour's flight or a long day's drive from Entebbe, four hours' drive from Kigali. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Gahinga Lodge

Address: Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Gahinga Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all the rooms are large and very private as they are quite well spaced out in he grounds”
 of 5 bubbles lizziebarty, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely, but ones higher up are lighter and have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles Sevillanita, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“quieter floors in this place.”
 of 5 bubbles Wild_Safaris, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Live with the African standarts. :)”
 of 5 bubbles MartinK181, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent and located very near the central lodge with a cozy fireplace.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanmX423WA, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5