We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Expedia.comUS$30*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$30*
US$30*
US$30*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2014

we stayed there for only one night there wasnt hot water and one room smell so horrible that we couldnt get inside linen wasnt fresh as well.. thet gave us different room but still water wasnt really warm.. we skipped breakafast - had a sip of coffee only everybody were rude in this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katbba
Trujillo, Peru
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We got robbed in the same line of this hostel in Aguas Calientes, Pirwa Backapackers. Someone got into the room while we were sleeping and cash money from me and 3 other friends. Owner never came to face us or hear what happened, never show any interest. We only talked to a lady, administartor called Sachenka Mendivi, in this hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fioredy
Pirwa H, Gerente at Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu, responded to this review

4 people traveling together, stayed alone in a 4-bed dorm, and alleged that while they slept, roughly US$1150 was taken from their collective backpacks, all left outside the security lockers. They didn’t wake, no one inside or out of the dorm noticed any intrusion, nor did reception. Due to these claims, all other hostel guests had to be disturbed &...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 21 November 2014

I booked online thinking this was more of a standard Hostal, but they only have a charmless backpacker facility in Aguascalientes anymore. We did have private room with bath, but it was kind of dingy. They wanted payment upon arrival and charged a premium for using Visa, even higher for Mastercard. The breakfast was ready at 4:30am as advertised, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Big let down for the money you pay, rather dirty and lots of flies in the kitchen, wouldn't recommend staying here. Didn't acknowledge our online deposit either. Staff were not very helpful and wifi is terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulmccaskey
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed on this place to have an overnight place to stay before going to Machu Picchu the next morning. It was not busy during my stay but as expected everything went well with the amount of money I paid for the Hostel and the service I got from them - Worth it. Carlos the front desk guy was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakakapagpabagabag
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stay here for one night before getting up at the break of dawn to get to the gates of Machu Picchu when they open. The rooms are fine/standard -- nothing to rave about. Helpful staff with maps and info., included breakfast was very nice and ABOVE average - hearty for the large day ahead. Also begins at 4:30am so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torrey S
San Antonio
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The entire hostel was empty except for the room I was staying in and they put somebody else in my bunk. They also lied about tickets to Machu Picchu. We had to go to the government office in order to get the true story. We paid an extra $60 each because they lied about what they could offer. Do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flybynight6
Arequipa, Peru
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The outside of this hostel and lobby area looked nice, and the guy at the desk tried to be helpful, but for some reason they cancelled our reservations - no explanation. We had to visit quite a few other places before we could find a room for the night, and ended up spending much more than planned.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buttercup4074
San Marcos, Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a pretty average hostel; functioned well as a two night launching point for the main event at Machu Picchu. It was clean, seemed secure, and it was close enough in town to not require a long walk to anything. A good choice as long as you don't overpay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hostel for two nights in July, 2014. We had to walk uphill a while to this hostel but it was not far away from the train station. The first room we were introduced was far back of the building. It was a dark but quiet room. We could see half broken buildings and sheds from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pocono

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 km away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
760 reviews
0.3 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
941 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 km away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
349 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#6 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacuteq 603, Aguas Calientes 08000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $21 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location was great to since it was my first time in Machu Picchu (Aguas Calientes).”
brandob314, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The breakfast was at 4h30 in the morning, perfect for those who will go up to sunrise at Machu Picchu.”
starwarss, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Just don't stay here.”
JimN626, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Great location”
johnjC4990KP, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“make reservation with anticipation. The hostel is always full.”
ximena7, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$30* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$30
Hotels.comUS$30
HRS.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates