We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heritance Kandalama

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Heritance Kandalama
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Kandalama
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,641: English reviews
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Very friendly & helpful staff. Good food! Enjoyable & pleasant stay. Lovely view, quiet & peaceful. Highly recommended. We will be back! Thanks Clive for your warm welcome and efficient service both @ check in & check out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

As much as we thank and appreciate your visit to Heritance Kandalama, we much appreciate your time and efforts to have made your comments and observations known. We are also glad that our staff has impressed you by living up to the expectations of you and your family. In fact, we consider that our staff is the most valuable asset...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We were there for 2 nights, the propert,pool, staff are all great, very humble and warm staff.The rooms ,pool is also absolutely fab.Only we being absolutely vegetarian, were disappointed with the buffet spreads as 80% of it catered to non vegetarians..also no eggless deserts as a part of the spread...however when the same was brought to the notice of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheetal999
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Thank and appreciate your visit here. Glad that you found many a thing here at Heritance Kandalama pleasing and appealing. We are much much perturbed to learn that you were inconvenienced due to being a vegetarian in spite of the fact that we have, in addition, separate vegetarian menus and further we accede to any special requests by our vegetarian...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I stayed 3 nights in a standard room here on Dec 6-8th with my boyfriend. Like most others the main draw for us was the stunning architecture of the hotel. It really is beautiful. We particularly loved having sunset dips in the infinity pool. Our room was a good size although a little dark, not only with dark decor but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LTigger88
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your stay with us. Much delighted over your appreciation of architecture of this rare property. Our infinity pool is a Godsend as a dip there while listening to flute music enjoying the panoramic view at the sunset is a sure way to de-stress or get over the `concrete fatigue'. Glad that you both have enjoyed it...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We loved the hotel. It is an awesome experience staying in between the forest. The staff is very helpful. On demand the more variety of vegetarian food is also made. The food is very nice. Great rooms with balcony opening up to the jungle view. The GM of Priyan Wijerathne was really helpful. Even the F&B Manager Prasna and Mr....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tapanjmehta
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. Appreciate comments and views. Our staff is our strength. They have a great passion for the organisation they work for. Food is our forte. We have vegetarian dishes in all our buffets in addition to vegetarian menus. If you still wish to have a vegetarian dish of your choice, yes, we are there with our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2014 via mobile

I first visited the Kandalama about ten years ago, and have held it in my mind as one of the most original and special hotels in which I've ever stayed. Now returning on my honeymoon I was slightly concerned it would have aged and not live up to my memories and stories. I needn't have worried. There are few places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mr_Rondonk
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

First and foremost I thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama for your honeymoon. And taking time off to make your observations known. It is with strong love and great affection I reminisce the past staff who contributed much to this iconic property, as I read the first few words of your comments recalling your 1st visit here 10 years ago....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2014

The major attraction is the architecture by Geoffrey Bawa. Stunning ..... so stunning. There are a few negatives (such as the the quality of food, which was not great and finding a suitable place at a pool) however these are far outweighed by the setting, which is just beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

We thank you very much for staying with us at Heritance Kandalama. As mentioned, the hotel is the creation of legendary and renown architect, Sir Geoffrey Bawa. Over a career spanning nearly 40 years, he had the flair to design buildings which bring nature into his creations. For those who live in concrete jungles, the environs here is soothing. Roam...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 23 December 2014

This was our fourth stay since 1995. I still love this hotel and that is the only reason why kept going back. This time we were upgraded to a luxury room. I love the architecture of this hotel. It is unique. Sigiriya wing is awesome. Undoubtedly the staff is very attentive and friendly. Hotel offers so many activities but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinithi_Peiris
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Sincerely we thank you for all your visits to Heritance Kandalama - four times since one year after our inception in 1994. Our reservations department willingly accede to requests made by guests and your upgrading to a higher room category also proves the point that we are into `honorable business' even in this highly competitive commercial age. Sir, kindly being...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2014 via mobile

Award winning design. Feels like you are part of the environment as the hotel blends seamlessly into the surrounding forest. Nice rooms, great food and friendly staff. Very popular with foreigners as well as locals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluesTraveller75
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. If we add a bit, Heritance Kandalama is very close to nature not only by proximity but also by heart. In addition to looking after the land surrounding the hotel as a conservation area, it maintains an 8-acre eco-park which houses a small clinic for injured reptiles, a solid waste +recycling center, waste water plants...

london
Reviewed 23 December 2014

The good stuff ---Architecture and design of hotel and rooms are impressive, food is good and staff are warm and friendly. Bad stuff --- we got one of the panoramic rooms and while the room is lovely, the room isn't clean, shower drainage doesn't work properly, and outside our room you can see a lot of things that are undergoing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boop2008
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

We thank and appreciate your recent stay with us. As much as we are elated to hear from you of the approving words of hotel design, impressive rooms, good food, warm and friendly staff, we are equally concerned about the `bad stuff' you have indicated in detail. We take serious view of all the indicated areas you have encountered during...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 23 December 2014

The hotel is situated in a great location and the designing is nice.The architecture is amazing!!The staff was very friendly and welcoming..The rooms were really nice and spacious.The Kandalama River can be viewed from the room but there were so many 'monkeys' near our room.The food was also good but what I loved the most about this hotel was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akshina L
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

As much as we thank and value your stay with us at Heritance Kandalama, we are much delighted over your understanding of our `culture and concept'. Like you, most of our guests talk about our infinity pool at the 5th level which gives one the chance to relax / de-stress. The pool also gives a panoramic view of the ancient...

2,981 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2955)
Viewed
Room/Suite (336)
Viewed
Bathroom (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (754)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (277)
Viewed
View from Room (238)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (1076)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
14.6 km away
Aliya Resort and Spa
Aliya Resort and Spa
#2 of 18 in Sigiriya
1,268 reviews
6.7 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 18 in Sigiriya
1,310 reviews
2.6 km away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#2 of 14 in Dambulla
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 18 in Sigiriya
1,298 reviews
18.8 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
8.7 km away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 14 in Dambulla
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Price Range: $278 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with the Jacuzzi !!!”
 of 5 bubbles thushanh, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Panoramic view rooms on 6th and 7th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JoergS495, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a higher level”
 of 5 bubbles RAYAN2509, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms facing the plains”
 of 5 bubbles 145praveenc, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“5th floor is quiet and had a generous view of the lake...must check out the traditional items at kanchan lounge if you are a foreigner..”
 of 5 bubbles rajithah2015, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay