We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mermaid & Club

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,350: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mermaid & Club
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just got back from 2 weeks at the mermaid hotel and what a fabulous small and friendly hotel. All the staff from your room boy to management are on hand if you have any issues, having a food allergy i was amazed at the length that all the staff went to too make sure I didn't miss out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcward2017
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed first week May for ten days fab hotel brilliant staff enjoyed the food rooms very spacious and bathrooms great. rooms cleaned daily to very high standard. Staff cant do enough for you only three star but should be five star. big tthank you to all staff and managment for making my stay so special also big thank you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisdewar66
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent time with us, we're so pleased you had such memorable stay at Mermaid Hotel and Club and truly appreciate all the lovely comments you've made . It's also great to read your thoughts on our dedicated team which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We hope...

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived home last week from a week's stay at the Mermaid Hotel and Club. A week is too short but still had a fantastic time. We stayed in a Standard room which was excellent. Very spacious rooms, we stayed in 105 which was on the ground floor and had a patio leading to the grass area and pool, great for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms, service and food. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We thank you very much for...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from holiday staying at the Mermaid Hotel in Sri Lanka on an AI basis. The staff and management go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable,A big pat on the back to Ajith and his very friendly staff.The rooms were cleaned daily by the room boy,special thanks to Niall.The food was varied with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank herman410
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Trip advisor. We are delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. We thank you very much for your...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous staff,food very nice,the hotel is just fabulous a special thank you to cheeky and my sunshine Sami. I'd like to point out I wouldn't say it's a place you can swim in the ocean its under current is very strong.when you go in to kalutara there locals that tell you they are from the hotel but it's a con,also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thewales
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent time with us, we're so pleased you had such memorable stay at Mermaid Hotel and Club and truly appreciate all the lovely comments you've made . It's also great to read your thoughts on our dedicated team which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We hope...

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel the rooms are good nice large balcony and a partial sea view food was good but please don't expect English every night they will do you something else if you don't like what is on offer drinks are OK the location is good but a bit far from main cities we had great fun taking...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank dariandoreen
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club. Thank you for commending about newly refurbished rooms and service. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team. We have certainly failed in finding a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would highly recommend, staff couldn't do enough for you. We did a number of trips that we booked with the guys on the beach, very reasonably priced and thoroughly enjoyed. Don't believe the weather forecasts, before we went it said it would rain every day, we went for a week and didn't have any rain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nat1301
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for having chosen Sri Lanka as your destination and the Mermaid hotel and club as your place of residence. It is with great pleasure to read that you were so delighted with the experience you had here. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So this is a late review as I stayed in November last year, however still worth reviewing as the service here was incredible. I stayed here one night before my tour of Sri Lanka and for 5nights afterwards. In my jet lagged state I left some money in the safe going on my tour, but had been so tired I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Trip advisor. We are delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. Apologizes for the inconvenience caused in bitten...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well my wife ,friend, and I, have just got back from our 6th holiday in sri lanka staying at the mermaid hotel in kalutara. Last year they were doing so called upgrades. So one would expect the place to be quite astounding as it was already a very good hotel,BUT I am sorry to say the changes left a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alfredthegreatestuk
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

We thank the reviewer for their 06th visit to Mermaid Hotel and Club. The refurbishment was not limited to a large balcony, but a brand new look and feel for the bed room and bathroom with larger living spaces. The balcony was a new addition; an external structure cantilevered to the existing building. The old balcony was utilized to increase...

yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel and grounds is fabulous, I read a lot of reviews about this hotel but you really have found a little gem when you come here. We have come for 12 days and it is everything and more you would want from a hotel. The hotels food as a good choice and wide variety of things. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yorkshirepee
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback through Trip advisor. We are delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. We thank you very much for your...

1,662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1277)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (262)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (229)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (9)
Viewed
Other (568)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (384)
Viewed
Activity Pool (3)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (56)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.8 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kalutara
1,197 reviews
1.1 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,117 reviews
1.3 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
898 reviews
23.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
7.3 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Price Range: $141 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mermaid & Club staff and other travellers.
161 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (161)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mermaid & Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the superior sea view room I would definitely pay a little bit more and go for this option”
malcward2017, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are large and sunny with a balcony overlooking pool and sea”
herman410, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are fab if you can afford to up grade,fabulous sea view”
thewales, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good no need to upgrade”
dariandoreen, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“261 over looks the sea”
neilbF4008JD, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$82* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$82
AMOMAUS$244
Agoda.comUS$82
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates