We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Majestic Tourist Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Majestic Tourist Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Majestic Tourist Hotel
 Click to rate
Portland, Maine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kumari and Joseph (owners) are kindhearted and truly care for their guests. They made sure every detail of my stay was perfect, picked me up from the bus station and set up every tour that i wanted, personally taking me around kandy, driving me to market, as well as to the bus station to help me buy my ticket back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Khanh L
Majestichotelkandy, Owner at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for the review .

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Good location, a little outside the noisy city with a beautiful vue from the rooftop restaurant and half of the rooms. The hosts are hartwarmly welcoming and very concerned about our comfort. The food is very good. The rooms are super clean and the showers are the best (good hot water and pressure)! Only downsides: the mattresses and the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConstanceDK
Majestichotelkandy, Manager at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will fix the Chairs legs something, no more noise. thank you again. Manager.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017

2 years after my 1st visit, I brought my partner and mother to stay for 3 nights and we were not disappointed. Joseph and his wife Kumari are welcoming and eager to ensure you feel at home. The food is great and you can easily waste your days away on the rooftop reading, writing or just checking out the view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CassandraK78
Majestichotelkandy, Manager at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review. we will see you on next vacation.

Perranporth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Arrived in kandy and searched for local cheap hotels and this one came up highly recommended with a great view from the 5th floor restaurant! We were more than impressed when we turned up. We claimed the last available room and the owners are so lovely and helpful. We had a complementary breakfast included and for under £20 you cant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chapmansbutchers
Majestichotelkandy, Manager at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, we welcome you to stay here again. for your next vacation.

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Location is just a tuktuk ride away from railway station or bus station, room was clean and had everything needed. We also walked to the city but with backpacks it is better to take a tuktuk. The owner was really great, taught us about Sri Lanka, culture, history and food! We spend the New Year with him, looking over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaisa L
Majestichotelkandy, Owner at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for review , The Swimming pool ,it was my dream, and our guests wands so it will be constructed very soon. your next vacation to Sri Lanka , you will see the pool in Majestic hotel. Thank you

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

We were a group of nine travelling from New Zealand, the service and rooms far exceeded our expectations given the price! On a tight budget we were pleased they had AC, WiFi and free breakfast! Would totally recommend to groups of any size and budget.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MackayBurnham
Majestichotelkandy, Manager at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much and we wish your team will come back to Sri Lanaka agian, stay with our Hotel.

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Very wrongly located, on a very steep place. Acs not working, even taps weren't working well. We were asked to use another room's bathroom but that room didn't had locks in it. All in all poor, terrible pathetic. They charge very high.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sharmila B
Majestichotelkandy, Manager at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

you have taken 1 double room non a/c, for you, and one room for your driver total price is LKR 7000.00,you have paid for 2 rooms LKR 3500.00 .(USD24) which I have given a special price. and you have broken my one of shower mixer, which is cost , more then what you have paid. I will advice like you...

Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 10 May 2016

That day I was as a driver, and I came with two Hungarian Ladies to stay this hotel. They booked two rooms and one for me because they are not provided room for drivers. When we arrived hotel but still rooms are not ready. That owner lady told to us they didn’t have any booking on that day. However that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IsuHikka
Majestichotelkandy, Owner at Majestic Tourist Hotel, responded to this review

What is true story ? the Driver collected the hotel bill and he left the hotel, and we have called the police , then have deposit the amount to our a/c. we don't accommodate drivers here any more.

Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

one person has scold this hotel. but I was there on the same day as the review mansions . he haven't book an ac room and he is asking an ac room and shouting. he is disturbeing the hole. hotel and the review mansion about the lady . she is an very help full lady . and very kind. help...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Harold R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

in our tour of sri lanka this hotel is the most remarkable hotel of all .the rooms were very clean and nice at the same time has breath taking view .we was warmly welcomed by 'kumari' and even offer us a pot of tea free of charge .and other very good things about this hotel are their restaurant and their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dilimo

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 km away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#42 of 65 in Kandy
522 reviews
0.0 km away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#38 of 65 in Kandy
79 reviews
1.4 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#23 of 65 in Kandy
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#39 of 65 in Kandy
176 reviews
1.5 km away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#44 of 65 in Kandy
49 reviews
12.0 km away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#55 of 65 in Kandy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $25 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Majestic Tourist Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Majestic Tourist Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on level one and two are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ConstanceDK, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on the 1st floor both times. Balcony with a fan. Rooms were sufficient and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles CassandraK78, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If on limited budget than use this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles vdey87, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Face the front.”
 of 5 bubbles NomadicmanTA, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask the owner for a curry-workshop”
  • beautiful view from the restaurant
 of 5 bubbles wolfgangh939, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5