We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Hotwire.comUS$102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$128*
US$102*
US$104*
US$128*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 794: English reviews
Start your review of Mahaweli Reach Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I haven't stayed at this hotel but the so called "Laundry Service" of them was a total nightmare. My husband got 2 of his full suits washed & pressed by them by the time of collecting they have forgotten the waistcoat of both the suits. So we had to go back & collect them. then we found out that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pavithri w
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you in connection with this incident. Once it was brought to the notice of the laundry that you were not satisfied with the cleaning, the waistcoat was cleaned yet again and the Executive Housekeeper had offered to have it replaced at the cost of the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall our experience at the hotel was good, however I don't feel it was anything near a 5 star experience as described on their website. I'll talk about the positives and negatives below: Positives: - the pool area was lovely, specially at night time when all the lights and lanterns went on - the food was actually the highlight, great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel C
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We sincerely appreciate you taking time to provide your feedback on your stay at our property. We are truly glad that you were happy with the ambience, and the food served. We endeavour to give each of our customers a courteous and efficient service, and regret that some of our associates have let...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcome was good check in was quick and friendly. The Dinner was very good a lot of variety ever obliging restaurant staff. Witnessed a lovely and vibrant cultural dance show, devil dancing and fire walking too. This was really, really good. Our room was large and spacious, but the view was not good at all. promised a river view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterDe56
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! Whilst we are truly glad that you enjoyed the cultural dance show, the choice and the quality of the cuisine available at our hotel, we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. The observations mentioned by you are noted and necessary action will be taken in this respect....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A smart reception area, check in was quick and efficient and the staff friendly. Lovely large pool area with well kept gardens overlooked by the bar and dining room, and a nice selection of outdoor tables and chairs. Lots of colouring flowering plants made a bright and pleasant place to sit. Our room was large and spacious, two beds joined...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1525
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Warm greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We are truly glad to note that you had a memorable experience at our hotel; and thank you sincerely for your kind endorsement of the location, the ambience, the food served and that the service standards met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Mahaweli Reach! Thank...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked by a local family friend, pity that we only stayed for one night. From the moment we arrived, refreshing welcome drinks, wet towel & warm welcome was given. The room is spacious for three of us. We arrived in the late afternoon, so we took showers before dinner. The foods are so good, we request to come back after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maribeth S
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Warm greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We are delighted that the amenities, facilities, culinary offerings, and service standards made your experience at our hotel more enjoyable. We endeavour to ensure a memorable stay for our guests and are happy that our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit. We thank you sincerely for your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this beautiful looking hotel. Our room was quite large and the bathroom was ok. It had a combined bath and shower which could make it potentially not that safe for older people other than that, it was fine. The room probably does need a bit of an update as there were several stains on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alsione
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Warm greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We are delighted that the amenities, facilities, culinary offerings, and service standards made your experience at our hotel more enjoyable. We thank you sincerely for your gracious words and for the constructive views which will no doubt assist us in improving the quality of our product. Looking forward to welcoming you again...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Day 1 was disappointing, but then things got better. The good: 1. Beautiful setting, on the banks of a river. Lot of greenery within the hotel with a beautiful pool. The property is huge. Has a colonial feel to it, which has its downside and I'll mention it in the next section. 2. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ironstan666
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We sincerely appreciate you for taking time to provide comments on your recent stay at our property. We are glad that you were happy with the location, the ambience, the food served, and the services provided to you were up to your expectations. We have noted the constructive views referred by you and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stay was from the 13-15 April 2017.Went to this hotel almost after about 20 years and the experience was very Good.Food at this hotel gets the highest rating.Being a Sri Lankan you get a Good choice be it breakfast or Dinner. Rooms had not changed much. The look and feel of the room was good.You may not find the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan M
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We are truly happy to have been able to facilitate a memorable stay for you both and take this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation of your loyal patronage. It was indeed a pleasure to have served you both as our guests. We are glad to note that the overall experience provided and...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms were gorgeous - beautiful comfortable beds, lots of space, great balcony. The bathroom had some complimentary toothbrushes, etc. which was a lovely touch. The pool area/hotel grounds are beautifully kept. The buffet breakfast/dinner had lots of delicious options; both Sri Lankan and international. The gym is quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rocco11221
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We wish to express our sincere gratitude to you for the kind sentiments expressed. It gives us great pleasure to note that you had a relaxing break with us; and that the overall experience provided, contributed to an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you at the Mahaweli Reach during your next...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice colonial-est hotel. Big rooms with plenty of space. Great breakfast, with everything that you can think of. I left my phone at the hotel and they called and returned it. A good breakaway from the roads of Sri Lanka.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RossLeibbrandt10
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from Mahaweli Reach! We are delighted that the amenities, facilities, culinary offerings, and service standards made your experience at our hotel more enjoyable. We endeavour to ensure a memorable stay for our guests and are happy that our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit. We thank you sincerely for your gracious...

887 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (630)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (130)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (235)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Deluxe (25)
Viewed
Executive Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.3 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
6.4 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
1,915 reviews
4.3 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
714 reviews
5.5 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
0.1 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $150 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mahaweli Reach Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mahaweli Reach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view rooms are best”
BazH11, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have balconies so are all good”
2flowerpots, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seem to have a garden view with mountain scenery in the distance.”
tommynewlands, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 226 was great with views over river”
davidmC5955GB, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms to the left of the reception counter as you enter the hotel are closer to the road. There were hardly any noise disturbances.”
shanona686, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$104
Expedia.comUS$102
Booking.comUS$128
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates