We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Helga's Folly

Expedia.comUS$71*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$75*
US$71*
US$75*
US$75*
US$71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Helga\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Helga's Folly
 Click to rate
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've been to Helga's Folly more times than I can remember and never does it loose its allure and magic. As the eclectic family home of Madame Helga, I'm so grateful that such a place exists as a creative haven for open minded guests to enjoy, with incomparably more 'soul' than your average hotel. I simply can't imagine Kandy without...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alice L
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you with our bottom of our hearts from HELGASFOLLY family for your wonderful and heartfelt review. As you have mentioned this place is really the life and soul of Kandy and not only that, it is the life and soul of the Family (The staff is called the family here) too. It is a place unlike a...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice place to visit . Astonished to see a place in Kandy like this . Drink and food very much expensive . Price range start in 3 dollar . Have a tiny bite and see the wonderland. Thrilling experience I and my wife got 👍🏾 cannot be forget .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shahmy M
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your kind review. Yes indeed this is a must place to visit in Kandy. We the HELGASFOLLY family are very happy to have visitors like you even for a short visit. Thank you and your wife for visiting HELGASFOLLY and enjoying the true beauty of it.

Woodend, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We'd heard so much about Helga's and it was on our must visit list. Went for lunch. Greeted by a very friendly gent who said they weren't doing lunches now - only dinners. So we paid $3 each and he allowed us to tour the place. He went around and turned all the lights on and said we were free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnboy3bw
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager. at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir and Madam, First I must apologize to you for not being able to serve lunch on your visit, and the bad experience of witnessing the monkeys ransacking in one area. This happened because the glass of a window pane broke during cleaning and unfortunately due to the VESAK holidays it could not be replaced immediately. Generally it is...

Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is just amazing! It is very hard to describe why, cause you really have to experience it yourself. My friend and I decided to go get a cup of coffee at the hotel and check it out. We probably thought that we would be here for an hour or so, but ended up staying for 3! And to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank idabojsen
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you very much from HELGASFOLLY familly for taking your valuable time for this review. It is indeed a special and fascinating place to spend time. And understandably, it is not a hotel with luxury furniture and modern gadgets, but the luxury of the place is on the location and in the pleasure of experiencing the wonder of the creations...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very cool and unique hotel! Wish I could have stay longer. The room was nice, with a balcony where we could see a bunch of moneys. Breakfast was very good and the staff was nice. I certainly would be back here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clausher
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We wish very much that you would be able to visit Sri Lanka very soon and stay at HEGASFOLLY. Thank you again from Family HELGASFOLLY.

Lhasa, Tibet
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to visit this hotel only, not staying here for the night, but the place is lovely and funky, I love the old newspaper cuttings and the sofas there, the decorations are simply extraordinary, I guess we would stay here if we could choose.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PazuKong
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you from Family HELGASFOLLY for the nice review. You are WELCOME to stay here the next time you visit Sri Lanka and we hope it will be soon. We are always determined to make everyone's visit and stay a pleasant one.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly the good news. Helga's is a very interesting, perhaps unique place. We did not stay at the hotel, and am pleased we did not. I cannot give a report but would listen to others on TA who complain of a lack of cleanliness, disrepair and poor service.We did visit for dinner (more below). It is worth going there in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichTea547
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with the food here while you were trying to have a pleasant holiday in Sri Lanka. We at HELGASFOLLY take food very seriously and if I may ask you to be kind enough to let...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I were recommend this place and we were not disappointed! The hotel was unlike any other, with every corner filled with amazing things. We only ate dinner eat, but were allowed to look all around the hotel. The hotel is a little hard to find, we walked there at night and it's not signed until you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comment. The members of HELGASFOLLY family are always determined to make each and everyone of our guests welcome and feel the extraordinary vibes of this unique place. And in the meantime make them feel at home. Encouraging and commenting of the service and hospitality at HELGASFOLLY is indeed an incentive to us. Thank you again...

Colombo
Reviewed 17 April 2017

It's completely crazy. Completely mad. It's just an extraordinary piece of art. While WE struggle to match cushion covers with our sofa at home or simply a self-coloured shirt to a boring pair of pants, the owner/decorator of Helga's Folly, HELGA DE SILVA BLOW PERERA has created art by mixing different colours, styles and pedigrees into one massive masterpiece. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charith D
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you for your high spirited review. Yes indeed, this is a place where importance has been given for creation. Even if it is a stay over or a short visit, The HELGASFOLLY team's intention is to make it unforgettable and pleasant. Thank you again for your review.

portchester
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

This was our umpteenth visit and we weren't disappointed. Helga's is the only reason we come to Sri Lanka . The place has a magical atmosphere created by Helga and her loyal staff over many years. With a new dynamic manager just installed I am sure he will make his mark under Helga's guidance. He was already asking guests for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redvanmorrison
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us and taking your precious time to write your lovely review about our home, which it is not only to Madam Helga and her husband, but to all the loyal staff who work here. Being able to make you all welcome and your stay pleasant was a great boost to my new assignment at...

420 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (420)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (146)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.9 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
481 reviews
7.3 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#25 of 54 in Kandy
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
3.8 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $126 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Helga's Folly staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Helga's Folly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room has unique artwork decorating it. I like being suprised so I would select at random for this reason.”
tluker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think this is a Hotel. If it is, then don't stay. Unless you want totally strange experience. . It's more like place to go and see.”
chamathf27, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay!!”
eddieore, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The single room was much smaller than the double room and not much cheaper.”
EREL131, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a look at the bathroom before you choose a room”
YorkshireBlueskies, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$71* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$75
TripAdvisorUS$71
PricelineUS$71
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates