We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Helga's Folly

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Helga\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Helga's Folly
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We stayed at this hotel several years ago and can't believe it is still is business and looks the same. We still laugh about just how awful this hotel was. We have lived and worked in many countries and must have stayed in literally 1000's of hotels? However this is the only one I would have paid to have NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Longandsmithy
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam Our home Helga's Folly, which it is not only to the family but to many of us, who have been here for decades, we know the house is either loved or hated, and we are very sorry that you fell into the later. We keep rates high as we are not in competition with other hotels, and...

Reviewed 31 March 2015

We had a mixed experience at Helga's Folly, in a nut shell I don't regret having stayed here, but I wouldn't stay here EVER again (box ticked). We arrived in Kandy on the 30th of December and had booked 2 nights at Helga's Folly, which set us back over $500 Aus, up there with the most expensive accommodation in Kandy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B B
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. The house which is clearly explained in our website: "Helga's Folly is a Sri Lankans home with some history and color and not a boutique or starred emporium. If expecting a regular hotel experience, best look elsewhere'. We also are aware that our home, which it is to not only madam Helga and her family but to many...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2015

we didn't stay here but visited and had a drink. perched above the lake and not that easy to find, this is definitely on the list for anyone interested in design. A colourful, eccentric, quirky and very original place. The old house has been completely been made over and painted in the current owners eccentric style that it is becoming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kumar P
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for visiting 'our' home and taking time to write you nice review. We are happy that you understood and enjoyed Helga's Folly. The 'present' owner madam Helga was born in the house, and her parents built it in the 30's as a family home in the hills. The house was added to and became a hotel...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Dear Souls Thinking to Come to Helga's Folly, This is the 5th time that I have come to Helga's Folly. I have just spent six weeks at the Folly, recovering from the passing of my wife of 60 years, knowing that Helga's Folly, where we both enjoyed so many happy times over the years, would help and fill that gap...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Charlie L
Blythspirit77, Owner at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Very dear Charlie. Thank you so very much for your lovely poignant, straight from the heart review. Knowing 'that' ghastly numbing nightmare road on which you travel, and hope to awake from, 'that' pain, 'that' half person one becomes overnight. Touches all our hearts here to feel that you found some sort of solace, and some healing here. HF is...

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

Didn't stay here but wanted to visit after reading about it being gaudiesque/daliesque. Tbh it's more Addams family than that, basically a big ego trip for the owner and her family. Cant deny its not interesting and worth a visit though. Go by tuktuk or it's a sweaty walk uphill. Entrance is 400 rupees or 3 dollars.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kuepper
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you . Glad that you found the house interesting although not what you may have expected. As our website says: "Helgas Folly is just a Sri Lankan's home with a bit of the islands history and some color! HF does not pretend to be anything more! Madame Helga likes to call the house a "nursery", where some...

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

After feeling a bit gloomy after three days of constant rain since arriving in Sri Lanka our driver recommended afternoon tea at Helgas before heading off to Adams peak. We also saw in the lonely planet. Negotiating the Tuk Tuk up the steep path w went in for green tea and chocolate and banana toasties!!!! As we were not staying...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank morganlaura123
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam Morgan. Thank you for visiting us and for taking time to write your nice review. So glad that you were able to understand and enjoy 'our' home which it is to many here. Look forward to welcoming you back. All the very best. Warm regards from us all at the Folly.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

I wish people would stop reviewing Helga's if you have not stayed there!!! Widely different experiences. Visit, take some great pics..it photographs brilliantly, but do not stay or look too closely at anything. It's a Sri Lankan Faulty Towers. Service shocking, food...Wow...Not sure what they even served us but we left the dining hall mid way (our son vomited onto...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LivyInSydney
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. We are very sorry to read your unhappy review. We regret that you had not spoken to us or written at the time, so that we could have held a full inquiry at the time, as we had taken in some extra help during Christmas to help service the crowd we had. Raymond was in charge of all...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015

I have visited Helga’s Folly on several occasions, magnetised year after year by it’s unique, alluring charm. As a guesthouse of the fabulously eccentric Madame Helga, it is clearly and proudly stated (on the equally eccentric website) that this not a regular hotel experience by any means, which is as promised, true. As a firm believer that there is more...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Alice L
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Miss Alice. Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write your lovely long and very helpful review, which is very much appreciated by all at the Folly. Always a joy to have you miss Alice. Thank you again for your loyal patronage of 'our' home. All the very best and look forward to your next visit.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2015

What an incredible afternoon spent in the crazy world of Helgas Folley!. We had seen this place online and was intrigued just for a look but ended up staying for a drink and then one of the best lunches we had in Sri Lanka!. My eyes were treated to such a feast, there are so many things to look at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank meowpuss
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Meapus Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review which is very much appreciated by us all. So very glad that you were able to understand our home, and much looking forward to welcoming you back. All the very best from us all at Helgas Folly.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Another 200 rupee tuktuk ride (they were all 200 rupees) took us to Helga's Folly. (I like the Stereophonics and that Kelly had stayed here was another draw.) Helga and her family have led interesting lives and to read the old Hello magazines and other articles around the place was fascinating. Some of the art was fantastic, some disturbing. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travelmad9
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for writing your kind review. We like to keep the old wax laden 'Miss Haversham' candlestands, as they have become sculptures in their own right over the years. Some of them however have become top heavy, and so we have been securing them with breeze blocks which in time will be covered in wax, as we...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (131)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
803 reviews
1.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 65 in Kandy
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#23 of 65 in Kandy
467 reviews
4.7 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 65 in Kandy
296 reviews
0.6 km away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#25 of 65 in Kandy
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $132 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#14 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Helga's Folly staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Helga's Folly staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The single room was much smaller than the double room and not much cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles EREL131, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a look at the bathroom before you choose a room”
 of 5 bubbles YorkshireBlueskies, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you explore the hotel, each room is different”
 of 5 bubbles saratW5058GH, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Come here to chill out for a few hours in the afternoon/evening so you can see it both in the daytime and night.”
 of 5 bubbles 62juliannep, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Better to visit than stay”
 of 5 bubbles grahame663, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5