We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hilltop

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Hilltop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Hilltop
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We selected this hotel expecting a great service as done in the past. We were offered a room with an awful smell. When complained, the front office sent a person with an air freshener?? As our son and my father could not bear the smell, we complained again and got another room. The bathrooms were not up to the standard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Upali K
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed two nights at the Hilltop. It was a nice experience given the fact that while the setting and view is great, one just can't venture out on foot to take in the sounds and smell of the city. The staff was generously courteous but a bit aloofish. Surprisingly housekeeping staff though eager had a hard time with English. Took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babur I
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were surprised to find such a large modern hotel had no lift. We had to go down 4 flights of stairs to our room. The room itself was fine but very noisy with constant honking from the street below. The coup de grace was the call to prayer at 5.00am which lasted for nearly an hour both nights we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good experience. Great staff, very involved. The food was nice, so was the view. We stayed here for 2 days and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. I will definitely recommend any friends visiting Kandy to check it out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balmukundsinha
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Every thing was good as per a 3 star hotel. City view is not good at day time as it is an eye sore. The night view was eye catching.The room was clean & nice & comfortable & quite large. Ample tea coffee sachets should be provided. When we requested a whole lot was sent to the room. We booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrishanthi P
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Oh, WOW, the view of just about the whole of beautiful Kandy's hill country was IMMENSE. It took our breath away. We first saw it in the evening when everything glittered with coloured lights. I felt like I'd died and gone to heaven! (REALLY!) After a good night's sleep in a comfy bed in a lovely room, I went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilanewton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in Sri Lanka.. rooms are larger compared to most of other hotels.. rooms are very clean too.. Breakfast buffet was good. Specially love the coconut roti with katta sambol.. 😊 Staff were very friendly and supportive. They have a nice pool but couldn't use it. Overall its a very nice hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suhail A
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as the preferred holiday destination and we are glad to see that you have received an amazing experience. We have taken your constructive criticism on the third party transport facilities; however, we appreciate your kind understanding that this is beyond our control. Please do pay another visit to us...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

We went there to spend the night after a party..The only room remained was a standard A/c room at around LKR 20,000..The room is terribly small and not suited for that price..There are lot of places with high quality at lesser prices than that in kandy..Very dissapointed..However we complained and they returned the money thereafter..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dilanka A
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively; however, please note that the hotel rates are on par with the market of the same standard. We always strive to ensure that we provide value to our guests at all touch points;...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 5 February 2017

the view was great overlooking the mountains. the food was not great though the meals has a large variety. would suugest to develop a good vegetarian or indian cusine. The restaurants service could get more better. the rooms were great however wifi was only available in the lobby and would not connect easily. the staff was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjporwal
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. We are pleased to note that our Buffet comprises of a substantial choice of Indian and Vegetarian dishes. However, we...

Reviewed 3 February 2017

I had stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January '17. THE GOOD - Location: Located on a hill-top, as the name aptly suggest, waking up to the view the rooms offers is simply amazing. You get a splendid view of the entire town. A little difficult to access without a car due to a steep hill climb. Rooms:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garima P
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that WIFI is available in the public area; however, we admit that it is less effective in rooms....

381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.7 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
847 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
1,193 reviews
0.6 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.7 km away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
274 reviews
2.6 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 58 in Kandy
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $81 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the basement rooms going down near the reception hall. It was very loud and struggled to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles upalik2016, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Naybe higher rooms are quieter than lower ones”
 of 5 bubbles PatBB_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request for a room with a nice view of the mountains if it is available. City view is an eye sore during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrishanthiP, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard A/c rooms are not good for the price they offer”
 of 5 bubbles dilankaa2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view. Good to check with the hotel before going as they do not adjust rooms after you've checked-in.”
 of 5 bubbles 651garimap, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5