We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Calipso Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Calipso Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calipso Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

We were booked into this hostel for 1 week as we were having Spanish lessons with Habla Ya. You have to pay a 50% deposit when booking and the remainder upfront when you arrive. Every email explicitly states that they do not offer any refunds - there is a reason for this!! As soon as you get to the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dev760
chimi changa
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in a private room in early/mid feb 2014. The hostel seemed ok. Popular gringo bar out front and wasn't that noisy in the room either, staff seemed friendly, the a/c worked well and location is also great. However we woke in the middle of the night getting eaten alive by bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

We're really really sorry that this happened to your girlfriend and you should have received a complete refund. It's totally our fault that our staff didn't make the best decision. In regards to the bed bugs, unfortunately during high season we hadn't been able to have it 100% under control since travelers bring them with them. After this and another...

Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

The people in the hostel is really cool, the hostel is clean enough but not super clean. Rooms are way too tight. The people is really cool, but there are no common areas to hang out. In the end everybody gets to be in a small terrace, or outside in the street. Also, the prices where pretty high in high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dspiniak
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. We've just changed management and we're making improvements. We've completely redone furniture in guest area downstairs by kitchen so that more people can hang out and be comfortable. We've also taken bunk beds out of the rooms where people have told us it's too crowded. Upstairs in the hallway and balcony area, we've also made sofas with recycled materials...

Spain
Reviewed 12 December 2014 via mobile

We booked the Tungara Hostel at Bocas cause we thought it would be fine by the Internet adds but, do not be fooled. It was the worse experience we have ever had at a hostel. We booked a private room for 5 nights and after the first night, we requested the manager to refund us the remaining nights as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Israel001977
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

We really apologize about your mattress. The day immediately after you gave your feedback. It was replaced with a brand new one, which we would have really liked if you could have enjoyed, but you decided to leave. In regards to the water temperature, we've never stated anywhere that we have water heaters. Being in the Caribbean, with temperatures exceeding...

Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff, awesome activity board that let me fill up my days and nights with great budget-friendly activities. We had a few critters running around in our room, but I believe it was an incident that affected all hostels on the block. That being said, the cleaning staff worked every day (although some days I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mawty B
marbella
Reviewed 25 October 2014

nice hostel for party people ,have also met students ,that go to school early morning , I liked it stayed here for 4 days , its not dirty , im fluent in spanish and have spoken to the cleaning ladies and i saw they clean everyday and nice airco at night. I have spoken to the people of the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urguide2007
Reviewed 22 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 Nights. The room was ok but for 4 people although I was travelling alone. The Location is good next to the parc but the staff was not really friendly and welcoming and I think you find better deals for the same or less money on Isla Colon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nnnicole20
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very basic. The reception staff are not very friendly. No milk (whether real or powdered) for the morning coffee, "free pancakes" but there was no sign of them. No wifi in rooms, just by the reception desk. It is attached to a bar but this is very expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeoTag1234
Reviewed 14 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Tungara for two weeks as I was studying spanish at "Habla Ya". It is not a good place to stay if you're studying! The bar downstairs can get VERY noisy and as it is on the mainstreet it's noisy most of the time... I was completely exhausted after a couple of nights with only a few hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriellaskanshed
Reviewed 2 October 2014 via mobile

Tungara was a nice hostel, the staff was very friendly and would do anything to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms were very clean and air con was nice too. I would definately stay on my next visit to bocas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
508 reviews
0.2 km away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
183 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
342 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
176 reviews
6.8 km away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 48 in Isla Colon
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Price Range: $15 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calipso Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Calipso Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only stay if you don't want to sleep”
  • View of the front of the hostel
 of 5 bubbles Ba8ydriver, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“private rooms”
 of 5 bubbles orlandom193, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pick the rooms upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles mawtyb, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“this hostal has a nice atmosphere I staid here for 4 nights ,and met lots of nice people some studied at a school it was not noisy at all ,and people that partied ,were silent to get in and out the rooms ,Im a bit older and travelling alone ,but I enjoyd it very much”
 of 5 bubbles urguide2007, 24 Oct 2014 | Read review
“There's a bar downstairs, so upstairs rooms away from the bar may be quieter. Room number 7 was perfect, but did not have hot water. Not sure if this option is available. Also, you need to request the AC remotes at the front desk in order to turn them on. No extra fees or anything, just know to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles ryank164, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5