We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here for 5days over New Years as a solo traveller. The entire town was booked out, and so was Casa Verde. The walls and floors are so thin you could hear everything in the rooms around you. The wood floors had gaps where things would fall through from the room above our dorm, and you could hear every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JemBen
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review

As this year’s high season draws to a close, we have received an unprecedented amount of poor reviews here on TripAdvisor. Due to the fact that many of the same complaints are repeated in these various reviews, I would like to take the time to write one response addressing all of the main issues brought up: --Not enough showers and...

Sucre, Bolivia
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in Casa Verde during our trip to Bocas del Toro, a choice that was merely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. Normally I only post positive reviews, but the service at this hostel was so lousy that I felf it was necessary to balance the ratings here. It's only possible to rent a room with a shared bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joris G
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review

As this year’s high season draws to a close, we have received an unprecedented amount of poor reviews here on TripAdvisor. Due to the fact that many of the same complaints are repeated in these various reviews, I would like to take the time to write one response addressing all of the main issues brought up: --Not enough showers and...

Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you can stay in an other place, please do so. I booked this place due to good reviews. I did not like the place: 1. Not enough toilets and showers. 2. Very very loud music from bar downstairs. 3. Not enough place to sit for people staying at the hostel due to all the people from the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank margo1983
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review

As this year’s high season draws to a close, we have received an unprecedented amount of poor reviews here on TripAdvisor. Due to the fact that many of the same complaints are repeated in these various reviews, I would like to take the time to write one response addressing all of the main issues brought up: --Not enough showers and...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you are planning to stay in Bocas Town then this is probably your best option. Once you get of your boats from the mainland, hang a left and walk past the Gourmet Super Market and you can’t miss this friendly green place. My husband and I stayed in a single room. It was lovely and clean, with Air Conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemonmerangue1
Vancouver Canada
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Casa Verde was a really cool place to stay in bocas del toro. Good value, great bar and deck thats right on the water. Pros: good value, comfy beds, a bit of a party hostel but still was possible to get a good night of sleep (I had been surfing and diving most of the days I'd been there and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank briesmie
Europe
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Casa in one of the dorms (Colón). It is a party hostel, so it is fun to hang out in the dock and meet people. However: - DORMS: Our first impression was awful: the dorm was tiny, cramped, and smelled like pee, literally. Also it was never properly cleaned up. And since everyone is partying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EU2020
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your insightful review. I feel that your experience at Casa Verde is not the typical experience that our guests have nor is it what we want for our guests. During the month of January we had a number of large groups that were in Bocas to do some serious partying and it seems like you got caught in...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hostel is in a great location. It is immediately on the water. Without a doubt, the best feature is the deck. You can wake up walk a few steps and dive into the ocean, or just lie in a hammock and read a book or relax with the nice ocean view. We stayed in a dorm on the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank povetron
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We would just like you to know that we have spoken with our front desk and cleaning staff about the issues that you have brought up and we hope that as a result we are now better able to serve our future guests.

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Casa verde is quite an experience. We were waiting for ours bed to get ready, chilling in the social area when 5 policemen come in trying to arrest a guy that robbed the nearby Wester Union and for our luck swim over the nice lounge area in the water. I felt like in an action movie, drinking my beer, sun,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emmi4ka
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Nice room (private) clean and an awesome lounge area on the water. Fun bar staff and excellent swimming off the dock. The A/C was a treat after travelling. Very safe, Very clean, excellent malibu rum and pineapple juice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Had a good time, nice social place where you can swim off the dock, chill in a hammock, lie in a tube in the water and watch the world go by. There is a bar and restaurant but there is also a kitchen. It's not got enough utensils but was great to have access to. There is a good laundry...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank geronimoturtle

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
342 reviews
0.1 km away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 41 in Bocas Town
240 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0.2 km away
Surfari B&B
Surfari B&B
#2 of 30 in Bocas Town
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Are you looking for a laid back community atmosphere where it's easy to rest & relax? Among all the great places to stay in Bocas, Casa Verde truly is your best value community house in Bocas del Toro, Panama. Come enjoy life on the water at Casa Verde! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Price Range: $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hostel And Guesthouse
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Hotel Bocas Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best diving on the island, best views, great food, great atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles 448emilyp, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose the one near the bathroom. The smells linger.”
 of 5 bubbles Le0nardY, 23 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Dorms are small, so therefor also a good options for travellers that normally don't like to share a room (with many).”
  • Favorite hang out place
 of 5 bubbles Suzanna84, 21 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you want quiet, pick a room on the street side, opposite from the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles melodieb288, 13 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask to look at room before you pay. Private rooms are best!”
 of 5 bubbles Catfish1254, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5