We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Caliph

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Caliph
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of The Caliph
 Click to rate
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Stayed there for one night, had booked the room via a website.The room allotted to us was gloomy had no proper lights pungent smell was there in the room centralized AC, made a lot of noise washroom had a leaking cistern No laundry bags. Well to add to all that, their breakfast was completely horrible. they had 3 options none...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka S
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Dear Ms.Priyanka, We appreciate your feedback and regret that you had an uncomfortable stay .We have proper lights but it is an unfortunate incident that it was not upto your mark.We do not have centralised ac but each and every room is having a split ac. We will definitely upgrade our standard so that it becomes worth for your money.

Ranchi, India
Reviewed 11 January 2017

"we do not provide bath towels " this is the answer i got when asked for it . and their caption line is " for the business elite " . rooms were poor lit , wash basin was leaking and the breakfast was average. although staffs were co-operative esp fooding and housekeeping ones. the hotel requires massive turnaround to match...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manish026
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback.Some positive development :The entire lighting system has been changed and now all the rooms are fitted with Led lights which are giving a brighter effect.As far as newspapers are concerned we regret it must have been a miss from our end.We do have well stocked linen but we supply towel on a daily basis only twice...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I had stayed here 5 years back when it was known as Metro. Even at that time, the service and upkeep of property was just about average. This time around, the condition was pathetic. The side tables were falling down, AC wasn't working, Toilet seat was broken, breakfast was a joke.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhupesh P
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Thanks for patronising our hotel and we regret that you had a pathetic stay.Noted your complaints and will definitely do the needful.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The hotel is nicely located opposite Powai lake but is in poor condition and exorbitantly priced. The room had broken plaster at many places, food was bad, with no variety and staff needs training in dealing with guests. Even basic amenities were missing in the room. A must avoid place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DKD007
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us .We appreciate your concern and we will be doing the needful.

Delhi
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Worst place to stay for the money they charged. Hospitality, cleanness is really pathetic, breakfast is average. Restaurant was under renovation and only room service was offered. I will not go again to stay in this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashish P
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Thanks for your concern and we will look into the matter and improve the place.

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

I was booked to stay at the caliph from 30th-5th December, 2016 and the hotel is shocking. It's a shame to call it an international hotel for business travelers. The building is off a poor quality with small dingy hallways which smell of something peculiar. The bed spreads and towels are ragged and the pillows are so worn out, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia A
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Inconvenience caused to you is highly regretted.We are improving and we are sure you will rate our hotel with positive ratings on your next visit.

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Had the trip booked via OYO and was a recommended property. The whole checking in formalities were seamless, thanks to OYO (I guess). The rooms are disappointing, not hot water, the bathroom door would not close. You would be provided with a bottle of water, no coffee no tea just one bottle of water. The breakfast spread is almost nothing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prem A
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. Oyo generates business for the hotel and they are not managing so the check in procedure is done by the hotel staff and not Oyo .For hot water you need to give us 15 minutes time as we have a centralised boiler .Coffee and tea will be served any time of the day if you...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I got an opportunity to stay there and enjoy lavish lunch at the hotel during my friend's wedding ceremony. The good thing is that you can get the place reserved for yourself with very little effort and it's usually available. Good place, great food and a little expensive but worth it experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pramod T
BRGMUMBAI, Director of Sales at The Caliph, responded to this review

Thanks for the compliment.

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The caliph is located at pawai Mumbai. Very next to Mumbai iit. The hotel is actually 3 star with excellent ambience. Staff service food was also very good. Rooms were censor based. The rates were very reasonable. Juhu beach was also not too far. U can enjoy the fLavour of a luxurious stay with The Caliphs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SabujSen
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel from OYO rooms! Usually we have always received step brotherly treatment if booked from OYO and that's true for all the proprieties! The location is near a area where pot holes are aplenty and it's difficult to locate the lane leading to the hotel specially at night! Staff have an air of superiority about them and don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohil_chaddha

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.1 km away
Lake Bloom Residency
Lake Bloom Residency
#166 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
53 reviews
1.1 km away
The Beatle - Mumbai
The Beatle - Mumbai
#140 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
144 reviews
1.8 km away
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
#114 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Landmark Suites
Landmark Suites
#191 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
77 reviews
2.0 km away
Ramada Powai Hotel and Convention Centre
Ramada Powai Hotel and Conventio...
#61 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
755 reviews
0.7 km away
Maxx Value Hospitality
Maxx Value Hospitality
#367 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Metro Residency will be known as The Caliph from 2014 onwards, Its a business cum Leisure Hotel situated in very beautiful powai area Hotel has 50 centrally air conditioned rooms,24hrs reception & room service as well as Restaurant . International airport is just 15 Minutes drive from Hotel & Domestic Airport is 30 Minutes drive , Hotel Is close to all business hub like Seepz, Marol, Midc,Sakinaka etc, Hotel is situated near Powai lake & Hiranandani Hospital & shopping arcade near by ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Caliph

Address: Near Powai Police Station | Rambaug, Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400072, India (Formerly Hotel Metro Residency)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $71 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caliph 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Caliph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Caliph staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No room is good room”
DKD007, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All beds have springs.”
anandp2011, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from this place.”
bhattshaz, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“See the suite/rooms first”
BabbarG, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just stay away”
holysage, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5