We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grassroutes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Grassroutes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Dehna is a short drive from Mumbai off the Mumbai-Nashik highway. The roads were fairly good and we reached in good time. The greenery along the route and at Dehna was awesome. We enjoyed the whole day in the water falls and the streams that surround the village. Trips to the villagers homes to eat piping hot simple but delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Royston F
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Thank for the taking the time to review us. We are so glad you had a great a great experience and look forward to welcoming you again!!

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We went there (Me, wife and Daughter) in June 2016 overnight, around the onset of Monsoons, targetting the sweet spot when the fireflies are likely to be around and our anniversary date. (Last year same date we were in France, spending a lot more and yet the memories are mostly in digital form :-)). We chose this place and mode...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sourabhde
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

We really appreciate the time and effort taken to review us.. We are so glad you had a beautiful experience at our village Wanjulshet. It really makes all we do worth the while...THANK YOU!!!

Reviewed 5 August 2016

We did not even find a signboard on our way that directed us to Purushwadi. That's the most remote place we have been to. Once in Purushwadi, you start breathing pure, unadulterated air. The campsite is a 5/10 min walk from the village. If you opt for homestay you get to experience the daily lives of the villagers and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sachin G
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Hi Sachin, Thank you so much for your review. It's heartening to see you had a great experience at the village. Great! We hope to have you visit again!! Best Wishes Team Grassroutes

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2016

there are 2 aspects of rural tourism by grassroutes. The village & villagers & tour operator - Grassroutes. You do need to view both of these as separate entities. Village : good - T operator - V Bad. For the exorbitant price(Rs 4000 per person per night) they charge they provide zilch. we visited in June last year for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing and sharing your grievances with us. Glad that you liked the village and the villagers. We would like to clarify the following: We are not a tourism operator, but a social enterprise and have been working closely with this community for the past 8-9 years, not just during the fireflies season, but throughout the year. We...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The experience was amazing... Were able to see lot of fireflies. Also enjoyed going in fields and taking dip in river... Saw lot things like weaver bird nest...Did village activities The people are simple and good natured. The guide named Sachin was really nice and helpful.. My 4 yr old son still remembers him as he took good care of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav K
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Thank you Gaurav for your encouraging feedback. We understand your concern about the home-stays. As you know that Purushwadi is a tribal hamlet and the houses there are very basic with big families living in each house. This is the reason most of the times, guests couldn't be accommodated along with the families but in the family's spare house/room.

Mussoorie, India
Reviewed 7 July 2016

It was a Family Adventure trip for the Fireflies Festival, with our TWO KIDS. Actual Experience was very nice, however, Grassrouts has charged Terribly with 10.5K for the same, which can be very well managed in 5k. As mentioned in the Itinerary, there were No Snacks with the evening tea. Even in the morning we had asked for the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YogiBhat
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the effort and are glad you shared your grievances. Your feedback helps us recognize the areas where we can improve. We are working to improve the infrastructure to make sure it withstands rain more efficiently. We are not a travel company. Grassroutes is a rural...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Took my 2 boys to Purushwadi for a experience of camping, trekking, seeing real village life up close and to see the much promoted visual treat of a million fireflies. First, the great stuff. The drive was a treat, especially the last 1 hour in the hills after crossing Ghoti & Rajur. The landscape of hills, valleys, famlands, waterfalls all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manique11
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Hi, We really appreciate the effort and are glad you shared your grievances. Your feedback helps us recognize the areas where we can improve. We understand that food makes every experience better and we would since like to apologize that your food preference wasn't conveyed to the host family. We are working to improve the infrastructure so that your stays...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Me and 3 of my freinds had heard a lot about grass routes through the website. Firstly they charge a rate of about 3750 per head for the experience which was actually worth 200 Rs . Their was another company which had cancelled the fireflies experience due to the monsoons . Grass routes on the other hand was promoting it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aman P
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your grievances with us. We do value your feedback and continuously strive to improve the experience for our customers. We have already been in direct touch with you when you called in and then via emails, even before noticing your post here. Kindly note, our charges for weekdays from Sun-Friday were 25% discounted and we do...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I was a last min entry to Fireflies event. The amenities were basic but no complaints as the villagers were warm and welcoming. We were mesmerized by the fireflies and the village guides helped us in reaching the place. I guess the villagers are new to this hosting concept and hence shy. Kudos to Grassroutes for co-ordinating this event and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meenalce
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your time and effort. Your suggestions helps us do better.

Reviewed 1 July 2016

It was a splendid Stay at the lakeside tent but the wind was really strong at the night because of which there was some inconvenience caused but my friends stayed in a room inside the hosts house. The activities were well planned and the hosts were very welcoming. Loved the simple food and thanks to our guide Akshara who showed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niharika B
GrassroutesJourneys, Manager at Grassroutes, responded to this review

Hi Niharika, We really appreciate the time and effort you have taken to review us. We are glad you enjoyed the stay. We are working to improve our infrastructure to ensure our guests don't face inconvenience in the future. Thank you.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
5.2 km away
The Resort
The Resort
#56 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
652 reviews
1.2 km away
Residency Sarovar Portico
Residency Sarovar Portico
#37 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
266 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hometel, Mumbai
Grand Hometel, Mumbai
#93 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Grand Sarovar Premiere Mumbai
Grand Sarovar Premiere Mumbai
#41 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
506 reviews
2.4 km away
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
#8 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,347 reviews
1.1 km away
Sai Palace Grand Malad
Sai Palace Grand Malad
#106 of 428 in Mumbai (Bombay)
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We facilitate authentic village stays and holidays. On a Grassroutes village holiday, one learns traditional farming, feasts on organic meals cooked on firewood, walks through breath taking environments and learns ancient art and dance forms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grassroutes

Address: Malad Mumbai | Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400064, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $25 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grassroutes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better to stay in canvas tents or camping tents. Avoid home stays”
 of 5 bubbles GauravKadam1212, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the tents facing the lake .... they're the best located ones.”
 of 5 bubbles Manique11, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“anvas is better when with kids, or when its raining.”
 of 5 bubbles SidSarkar, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There are tents, village houses and the common dormitories sort of places.”
 of 5 bubbles lostghost85, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The canvas tents are the most comfortable. Normal synthetic tents as well as homestay options are also available.”
  • Entrance of the canvas tent
  • Inside the canvas tent
  • View of the village and the river
 of 5 bubbles RoystonFernandes, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5