We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

GLM Meridian

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
GLM Meridian
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With the shortage of decent open air bars in Chennai, GLM meridian comes as a welcome relief. With reasonably priced drinks, live matches being streamed (if any) and good starters, this is an ideal place to hangout with friends for drinking sessions...And it's not too pricey like 5 star hotels, an average 60 ml drink would set you back by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Akshay G
Bel Ombre
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is accessible and clean. The restaurant on the roof top give a pictoresque view day or night time. Food is all right. Nice bar with big screen TV to watch football, cricket or music clips. Overall a very good experience...

Helpful?
Thank Preetam M
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I visited Chennai-Pondicherry in August 2016 and stayed in GLM when i landed in Chennai. GLM is centrally located in South Boag road which is very very close to T-Nagar, the mecca of shopping in Chennai. If you want to buy sarees, Nalli & Pothys are 5-7 mins away. If you want to check out the beaches, Besant beach and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kanchan0819
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Kanchan0819, Thanks a lot for the detailed & good review. Your review clearly states what we are - "A Budget friendly Hotel" giving importance to cleanliness of hotel & quality of food & services offered to our customers. We are still working hard to fine tune our services offered to our customers. Please do refer our hotel to your... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We were looking for a hotel for our stay in Chennai and selected this hotel after checking reviews on Tripadvisor. The location of this hotel is great, centrally located, close to nearby T. Nagar Market, close to both US Consulate and VAC. Rooms were old but neat and clean. Clean linens and clean toilets with 24-hr hot water supply. Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rohit A
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Rohit, Thanks a lot for the nice review. Please do refer 'GLM" to your friends & relatives visiting Chennai. Do let us know if you are visiting chennai again. Regards Lakshman Muthiah lmuthiah@hotmail.com More 

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I had my doubts if this hotel could turn into disaster but was pleasantly surprised to see fairly descent staff, though not very professional. The room was clean and internet was working. My guests during my absence were taken care. I will rate it fairly good.

Helpful?
Thank Dharmakirti B
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Dharmakriti, Thanks for the nice & encouraging review. It is a big booster for GLM's entire team who are putting in their full effort to make the stay of the guests a pleasant one. Please do recommend GLM to your friends & family members travelling to chennai & do visit us again when travelling to chennai. Regards Lakshman Muthiah... More 

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Located about 60-70 mins from the airport. Rrather a few problems....being located by the lift in room 204 meant hearing the phone in reception every time it rang. It was like listening to an unanswered phone in the next room for 9 hours. Painful! My loo seat was half broken and I had a constant puddle under the sink which... More 

Helpful?
Thank dubaijournal
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. But, your review is really unclear as to what exactly was the problem you faced. Room No. 204 is near a service elevator but the service lift doesn't stop in the floor you had stayed (which is Room No. 204). Again, If the loo seat was broken & if there was a constant puddle under... More 

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very slow service..they donot care about what the customer is saying.the staff takes their own sweet tike to complete the request of the customers.the only good part of this hotel is the roof top resturant that they have..only the roof top is good,the food served is a big waste for money

Helpful?
Thank joji v
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Joji, Thanks for your valuable feedback. Would have appreciated if your feedback had been more detailed. We are in the process of putting in a lot of systems in place & a detailed feedback from you would have helped us to improve in a lot of ways. We also have put in a system for Room Service where in... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The hotel is not managed well. The overall quality of staff is not good. language is a big challenge. Was expecting a decent room quality. However the room allocated had cockroaches and the AC seemed to be moldy. Had a sore throat after one night stay in the damp room. Food quality was below average and the staff was clueless.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashp05
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Dear Ashp05, Thanks for posting your feedback late but not the least, We have already upgraded our services to better hospitality standards and we have re-positioned ourselves as a budgeted business & family class hotel to deliver value for money to our clients. This has resulted in better room occupancy rate with minimized complaints. The above mentioned deficiency as per... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

A good place to Crash in if you are in Chennai for a business TRIP. The hotel was undergoing renovation the room was freshly painted. The Linen was clean and gave me a sound sleep. The washroom had warm showers and they had new soft towel. ' US101 a great Bar to hang out beer is at throw away price,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vedaditi
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Vedaditi, Thanks for the nice review. The renovation is now completely over. To make the experience of stay of our guests a pleasant one, we are working hard to benchmark certain standards in terms of quality of service being offered. So in the process of trying to reinvent ourselves there might be some small hiccups in service offered by... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The Room was so bad I checked out in two hours after I checked in. Room was old and smelly, TV was as only about 15". Wifi did not work. Room service was hope less. I had to put food in the garbage. After all these issues I was carged full prize for the room for just two hours,

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Glmmeridian, Owner at GLM Meridian, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thanks for your valuable feedback. We checked our entire occupancy database for the month of January'2016 & didn't find any guest checked in the name of Paul. Although there were small issues related to guest complaints during Jan'16 which were sorted out immediately we didn't have any guest in the month of Jan'16 & never had any guests... More 

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Iris Hotel
#41 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
181 reviews
Malles Manotaa
#108 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
139 reviews
Mount Residency
#77 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#62 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
83 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#69 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
159 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Southern Crest
Southern Crest
#256 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GLM Meridian Chennai a premium budget class hotel is centrally located with many corporates, foreign embassies & famous shopping areas closeby. The hotel is 25 minutes from the airport and is also easily accessible from train and bus station as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about GLM Meridian

Address: 80a Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Salai South Boag Road | Near Nandanam Signal, T Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $38 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GLM Meridian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your GLM Meridian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glm Meridian Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from GLM Meridian staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from GLM Meridian staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room on third floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rohita986, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“as for the freshly painted rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Vedaditi, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lift facility unpredictable... Wash basin Not available in the roof top restaurant...(amazing thing in a so called *** hotel... )”
 of 5 bubbles 389sumc, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“oyo rooms are perfect to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles journey2016, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No idea about rooms, but go for a rooftop and candle light dinner.It was good experience & romantic too.”
 of 5 bubbles shankar2604, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay