We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Residency

TravelocityUS$47*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$153*
US$47*
US$153*
US$47*
US$153*
US$47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Residency
The Residency
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 523: English reviews
Start your review of The Residency
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 5d4n with our baby. Requested for airport transfer, they picked us up on time but had to pay extra for that. The room was clean, staffs were very friendly and helpful. Mr Stephen helped us a lot during our stay. Definitely will come back again. Keep up with good work 👍🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aramena
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent locality. We had to wait for a while to get our room. The front office staff said that we may have to wait for a while to get the room with king size bed. Since we had some appointments in the city we went with the twin beds. It was a bad choice. The next day we got the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delphinevictoria
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Thank you for taking time to pen your feedback. We constantly look for opportunities to improve our services and your suggestions have been noted. At the outset, I do regret for the inconvenience you had undergone. I have made a note of the points that you have highlighted and I will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'd stayed at the Residency in Coimbatore where the bar was closed because of India's new stupid alcohol laws. Ironically I was staying at the Courtyard in Chennai where it's bar is closed for the same reason. I went to the Residency for a beer and stopped for a really good Mutton Rogan Josh. The hotel lobby was really impressive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Mr. pawl, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Superior room was well appointed and maintained. Work station and seating arrangement was good. Tea / coffee maker, safety locker and hair dryer were provided. Toiletries and cosmetics were placed in the bathroom; the shower had excellent and copious flow and efficient temperature control. All branded items were used ( electic kettle - Siemens; hair dryer - Panasonic; mugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepakbhatia57
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed during April for a business purpose,as it was my first visit I was little hesitant,however the service I experienced changed my thoughts completely. Clean room, polite staffs, great food and perfect location. Highly recommended for a business visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were freshly painted, the smell was very strong. One of the members of our family was ill. They went the extra mile to assist us by taking us to the hospital and arranging transport for the family. Much appreciated

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookie J
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful...

Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My second stay in The Residency. Must say that it was never how it used to be. Quite disappointed with the way my booking was handled. Nonetheless, settled in with the rooms offered as we were checking in quite late. Rooms were stuffy. Air condition was close to not functioning. Room 612 was practically smelling. Hotel needs refurbishment! Positive -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratna S
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Thank you for taking time to pen your feedback. We constantly look for opportunities to improve our services and your suggestions have been noted. At the outset, I do regret for the inconvenience you had undergone. I have made a note of the points that you have highlighted and I will...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Book early to experience good hospitality. Delicious food . Nice ambience. Courteous staff. Good infrastructure and closer to the commercial hub in walking distance, still away from the noises and pollution. Locational advantage through connectivity

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rathinavelus
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rathina Velu, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed this hotel last October and had fabulous experience .......with same expectation checked in again this April .... This hotel stands again with my level of expectation.... Check in was smooth.... I was offered fresh cold towel and refreshing watermelon.... Room was spacious and well made.... Enjoyed buffet breakfast with my favourite South Indian coffee...... Will stay again this year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca y
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Rebecca, Greetings from The Residency Chennai ! Your time is precious and feedback invaluable, I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments in detail and covering all aspects of your stay. We thank you for your valuable feedback that elucidates your Feel Well experience. With our commitment of offering only the best, we have thoughtfully designed...

Tiruchirappalli, India
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The few times I have been to Chennai, the only hotel i stayed is The Residency Towers and I love their superb rooms and hospitality. Unlike this time for a change, I tried the Residency Chennai at GN chetty road. I was not that happy with their service. Firstly, I booked an Executive Double and what they told me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KannanSantha
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Ms.Kannan Santha, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor about your experience during your stay with us. Sincere regret to learn your inconvenience faced by you during the stay. We have initiated necessary training to our talents and can assure you that we will be able to provide you with a positive impression...

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Executive Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
Superior Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#25 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
822 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
965 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#12 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
847 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
1,120 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#45 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Residency

Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#29 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#33 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Residency staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Residency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms are quiet”
delphinevictoria, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room for peace and quiet; room facing flyover for good view”
  • PAINTING OF FLOWERS MOUNTED ON TILES HUNG ON WALL
  • VIEW OF FLYOVER FROM ROOM
  • WORK STATION WITH ELECTRICAL AND INTERNET SOCKETS
  • PAINTING OF PLANT WITH FLOWERS MOUNTED ON TILES HUNG ON WALL
  • VASANTA BHAVAN RESTAURANT SEEN FROM ROOM
  • SEATING ARRANGEMENT IN ROOM
deepakbhatia57, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“One should not confuse the Residency Towers with the Residency. They are both very different hotel, which we discovered.”
63cookiej, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“If your purpose is shopping, it is a good location and a good place to stay.”
april2957, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are good”
vinoddeena, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$47* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$47
Expedia.comUS$47
TripAdvisorUS$47
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates