We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Elgin, Darjeeling

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Elgin, Darjeeling
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Elgin, Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Showing 487: English reviews
new delhi
Reviewed 11 August 2015

the decor is home like and nice . the food needs lots of improvement . understaffed in the restaurant . responsiveness needed . no basic amentities in room like shaving kit , comb . newspaper no variety . charges very expensive for the hotel can be much better . wifi works intermittently

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelexpert87
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Sir ! We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we do look forward to serving you again with the improvements you have suggested . We have spoken with the kitchen and restaurant staff who were on duty during your stay and appraised them of your feedback with regards to the food quality and service...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Subj. : Stayed in Hotel Elgin Darjeeling, from 6th to 9th October 2014 (3 Nights) , 3 Persons 1) One good Room was organized for us by the Wandervogel Adventures, Kolkata, But first we got the room no. 21 To our opinion this was only one Standard Double Bed Room and was not good enough for us. As we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sonai951
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Sonia ! We have been through your review very carefully and we thank you so much for bringing these issues to our attention and we are also at the same time very sorry to know that you were not happy with your stay with us . We have looked into the bathroom of this particular room and the same...

Ulhasnagar, India
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Didn't feel like hotel.... ambiance make you feel at heritage home...love the hotel decor the wooden flooring, library, antiques,paintings on the wall.food was homely, fresh. I booked room including meals. Though it was buffet but I got milk tea on demand without extra pay. Very nice staff. Location was excellent ...though 2min walking from market but maintain its privacy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DrSadhana
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Dr Sadhana! We thank you so much for appreciating the history and the ambiance of the Elgin Darjeeling , the property we built in 1887 by the Maharaja (King) of the princely state of Cooch Behar In India . We do look forward to serving a discerning traveller like you again.

india
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Its just a 2 minute walk to the mall road. The hotels lobby is very well furnished with a colonial touch to it. Huge restaurant by hill staion standards. Very cute rooms yet luxurious. One of the older but very well maintained hotels of darjeeling

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vivekindia
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Sir ! We thank you very much for your feedback ! We do look forward to see you again as our guest and to be given an opportunity to serve you .

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

We have stayed for 2nighs on 2nd and 3rd of July. Rooms which was alloted to us were very good. We stayed in 33 and 32no. Mr Badal who is the Manegar is very nice person. The staff of the hotel is very cooperative. The lawn is very well maintained. Service vise exellent. Food vise superb. Welcome drink of strawberry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rakesh K
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Rakesh! We thank you for your positive feedback! We have sent your compliments to our Hotel Manager Mr Badal Majumdar and we hope we will get an opportunity to serve you again.

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

No lift . Vary old fashioned . But well maintained . Bed in our is toooo smaalllll . Food is good . Staff is good . But it is very overpriced . The worst part is they charge for tea which i expect they should give complimentry because its famous in darjrling . We have a complimentry tea in our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abhinav A
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Abhinav! We thank you for your feedback about the lift . We have in the past tried working on the option of installing a lift but as the Elgin is a historical heritage property built in 1887 installing a lift would mean changing the entire interior of the hotel to the extent we would loose the charm and ambiance...

Bhopal, India
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I have made a booking for 3 rooms through goibibo for May 28-31. The booking was done on January 19th. When I contacted the hotel on 26th of May to re-confirm my booking, they informed us that there was no booking in my name. I had to contact their Kolkata office , who on the other hand confirmed the booking....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sanmarga
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Madame ! On behalf of the Elgin reservations and front desk team team we are very very sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in our property at check in . We had communicated to your travel agent well in advance that we would not be able to confirm your reservation request , however this was not communicated...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 June 2015

The Good: The hospitality. The service. The old world charm and elegance. We were tremendously impressed with the quality of the staff - and the genuine warmth in their service. This included going out of their way to make sure we had a full breakfast today at 6:30am even though they do not start serving breakfast until 7:30am. Huge umbrellas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Desirees
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame! We thank you so much for giving us such a detailed and helpful feedback ! While we are happy to know of all the positive points that you have taken time to write about in such depth and detail , your feedback about the points where we need to improve at the same will help us concentrate on...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We stayed at ELGIN last year june. Coming form mayfair gangtok we thought that Elgin would be an equally good property as told by our travel agent but when we reached all it went was worse than terrible experience. We have been given room on first floor where we could see nothing from the window as it was the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank knowarun
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Sir ! We thank you for taking the time to review our property ! We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room when you stayed with us last year in June 2014. We have investigated the matter as it took us some time to check on your stay history from last years records . As...

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

It is the most pathetic and hopeless hotel. We checked into the hotel on 15th June from pelling Elgin. We were asked to stay in no view rooms after doing a booking about 1and a half mth previously On checking the room they can't offer something like a attic room as a deluxe room ! The roof was such if...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anchal A
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear Sir ! First of all we thank you for having chosen Elgin Hotels & Resorts as your preferred hotel chain of stay in Darjeeling and Sikkim ., we are also happy to know that u were happy with your stay in our hotels in Gangtok and Pelling . We are very sorry to know that you were not satisfied...

455 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (435)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.5 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 94 in Darjeeling
604 reviews
1.2 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 94 in Darjeeling
404 reviews
0.1 km away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 94 in Darjeeling
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.2 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
269 reviews
1.2 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Elgin, Darjeeling

Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: $220 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin, Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Elgin, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Elgin, Darjeeling staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Elgin, Darjeeling staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel, if you don't have a choice then any room is okay”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a valley facing room!”
 of 5 bubbles 92eshanm, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the mountains have a lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles nestcottage, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try rooms 60 or 61, under the roof (if you can manage to climb the four floors)”
 of 5 bubbles XianPR, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room facing the mountain views beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles Treehaven2015, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5