We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We booked the hotel online. We arrives Darjeeling on 26th January and left 30th january, 2016. Very good hospitality and quality of food is good. Service is also good. Location is also good, near to taxi stand and mall. It is just behind the Glenary's . If you want then they can arrange car for sightseeing. hotel manager including all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pde1979
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for all your appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Very good hospitality and good taste & quality of food. Manager& all staff r ready to help us anytime. Good cleanliness and provides services without telling anything. Best stay with family. Good services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PayalChokshi
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all your appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

yes service is good.Manager is very helpful and prompt.as I went in offseason they reduce price 60%.the cooking was good.location near to taxi stand.good for bangla speaking people.I wish to go and stay there again to visit beautiful darkeeling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manoz K
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Habra, India
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We arrived darjeeling on 3th dec and left on 6th dec. We booked the hotel on spot. Hotel manager including all the staff are very good and caring in nature. Manager helped me in doing the the tour planning and arranged the car for the tour. Car drivers were very good and co operative during all the visit. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Udayaditya C
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for such a wonderful review. We are glad that it turned out to be a perfect holiday for you. Though i was not personally there at the hotel during your stay but i am so glad that my team did there best to perfection. We look forward to having you again with us.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015

stairs very dirty, not cleaned in a long time. Blankets put on the beds without a clean sheet, which may have been used by other people,Kitchen not very clean. Very disappointing and not worth the price,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shakupai
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear sir, we are really sorry for the inconvenience caused. However me being the guest relations managers and being based in kolkata in our head office, i will have a talk with the hotel manager and get the necessary clarification for you.

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

We visited Darjeeling this month and had booked a super delux room at Sonar Bangla. At first we were little apprehensive about the hotel's location and the view from the room but it all was clear as a day light when we checked in. The room with its location and a clear view of the valley in front is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prodyumna M
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for such a wonderful , heartening reviews. We are glad that it turned out to be a perfect holiday for you. We look forward to having you again with us.

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here for 2 nights, it is one of the best hotels in Darjeeling. Worth for money. The highlights of this hotel are well maintained, very clean, very good staff , Good restaurant, locality. This is the only hotel I felt very good in my 6 day trip to gangtok and Darjeeling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharath S
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. Hope you had a pleasant stay and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 26 November 2015

I stayed at this hotel last week. It was pretty disappointing. The sheets were not clean, and the woolen blankets were stained, The service at the restaurant was poor. The servers were busy watching the TV instead of serving. And as for cleanliness, they are far from that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wagdevi T
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are really sorry for the inconvenience caused. However, me being the guest relations managers and being based in kolkata in our head office, i will have a talk with the hotel manager and get the necessary clarification for you. Thank you sir for choosing to stay with us. Hope you would give us a chance to serve...

Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Location was good and convenient. Approximately 4 minutes walking to Mall road main market. Four bedded room was good and economical due to off season.Staff was courteous.food was good. Car can drop and pick u at doorstep of hotel. Had nice stay and enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nita J
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir, for valuable feedback. Hope you had a pleasant stay with us and would give us a chance to serve you again

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We booked a super deluxe room in 1st week of November 2015.it was in 3rd floor. The hotel is just 3-4 minutes walking distance from Mall,2 minutes from Glenary's & 2 minutes from keventers.Very busy area & prime location.Staffs are very helpful with nice room service.Taste of Food is fair.View from room is also nice but bad luck we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pradipta K
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay with you and would give us a chance to serve you again.

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 93 in Darjeeling
618 reviews
0.2 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#11 of 93 in Darjeeling
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
1.1 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#26 of 93 in Darjeeling
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: $41 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Super Deluxe Rooms on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles CeruleanInn, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Awesome view of Kanchenjunga range from super Deluxe room and sun light is superb n these rooms..”
  • Super Deluxe room
  • Deluxe room
  • Super Deluxe room
  • early morning view from Super Deluxe room
  • early morning view from Super Deluxe room
  • Deluxe room
 of 5 bubbles Nehs, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High super deluxe with view.”
 of 5 bubbles 291genej, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose your own preference”
 of 5 bubbles sjit6921, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Super Deluxe - looks out to Kanchenjunga - can be seen at Sunrise”
 of 5 bubbles shubhomoym, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5