We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peerless Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Peerless Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Peerless Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Auroville, India
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

For this cost, one would expect better service and better organization. Using wifi is an adventure at any time, access made unreasonably difficult. There is goodwill but no efficiency. Restaurants are expensive, cannot compete with similar establishments in the same area. Exaggerated formality to cover a certain inexperience. Rooms are very good, comfortable and well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bumshiva
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Stayed in this hotel for couple of nights on a business trip to Kolkata. The hotel has two wings ,one old and other new. Stayed in the new wing which is maintained nicely and has very quiet environment. The restaurants and banquet halls are located in the old wing. There is also a sky walk connecting two wings. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muraleedharan P
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights & had a wonderful time... Special mention is required here of people who were very helpful :Saurav Das, Asheem Da, Sabhyata Ji, Brujo ji & Mr. Dey (Manager). Our Functions in the Banquet was Fantastically managed... The food was Really Really Good... Room Service was prompt... The Lady in Housekeeping was a bit Rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dushyant J
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. Regarding Housekeeping, I agree that the situation could have been handled differently. However, she has been counseled so that it is not repeated in future. Please accept my apologies for the same. Warm Regards, Subhomoy De...

Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Checked in with Hubby and Son on 24.11.15 , a good check in Suite no 809 on 8th floor.. My 15th Stay in last 6 years , As always the Traditional Warmth, Nice Front desk , quality in room dining , Breakfast was attached to room on Request, Very nice Place to stay.. Good WI FI , but No Spa....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeeta G
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata Thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two days on a business trip. Helpful staff, found them to be accommodating and at service most of the time . The rooms are a bit worn off in the old wing. The bathrooms need refurbishment. Has a feeling of coldness. Good spread of breakfast. Although we found the room service menu very expensive and not of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ssft
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.We really appreciate your kind feedback on room and food. We would like to inform you that we are shortly going to take up the rooms in the heritage block for renovation. We look forward to welcoming...

Udaipur
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Stayed there for 2 days, hotel is located in heart of city maintaining heritage ambiance. there are 3 very good restaurants offering different test of food. with initial goof of key management rest of experience was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vishuq963
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding door lock and rectified the issue highlighted. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Regards, Subhomoy De General Manager

Manipal
Reviewed 13 December 2015

It was fantastic experience to be there for two nights with my family. We stayed there on 14 and 15 of Nov 2015. As per as location is concerned I don't think you can get a better place to be in kolkata. Breakfast was included but was so so. It is much better in hyderabad or chennai or bangalore sarovar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debmallyac
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure speaking to you. Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. We have noted your suggestion for including momo and more dishes of other states in the Oceanic buffet. As mentioned we serve momo and other State dishes on cyclic...

Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

Shabby is probably the word which best describes the place.. it really requires a lot of maintenance work. The walls are damp and peeling off.. sanitary wares are old and needs up gradation. . The service is just about fine.. should really be avoided..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saunak G
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Tried to contact you but could not get through your number. However, we appreciate your kind feedback on hotel maintenance and would like to inform you that we are shortly going for room renovation. In your next visit we would provide you our new...

Canberra
Reviewed 10 December 2015

This time around I stayed in the new section. The room was good - lots of space, nice and clean and relatively quiet. Generally however, the staff were rather surly and unhelpful. We made the mistake of taking dinner in the restaurant where the food was ordinary and the prices ridiculously high. The hotel's location is the best thing going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at The peerless Inn, Kolkata. We have taken note of your feedback regarding staff behaviour and food prices. This has been taken very seriously and all staffs have been briefed and counseled so that such incident is not repeated in future with any guests. Accept my...

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Hotel is located at the premeum locality of kolkata. Got a room at 2500 rs per night. Breakfast menu is exhaustive. Rooms were good with a Jacuzzi. Overall ambiance is good. Value for money: 10 out of 5

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doc_sameer
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay. We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
763 reviews
0.3 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#45 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
176 reviews
0.4 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,737 reviews
0.8 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#30 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
166 reviews
0.5 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#57 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $110 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peerless Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Raipur, India
over a year ago
Weehawken, New Jersey
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Peerless Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check which part of the hotel you have your room..old portion or new.... The new portion is better...the one which has a separate entrance”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“4200 /- through Make my Trip”
 of 5 bubbles rabin_bose, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you like faded elegance, you may wish to ask for the older wing. if you appreciate the contemporary, you may prefer the modern wing.”
 of 5 bubbles snowprincess1220, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there, not if you want service.”
 of 5 bubbles pook1963, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no difference”
 of 5 bubbles SanjeevG0yal, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5